Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex

Nightmare Start Great finish

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Swimming Pool
Cons: booking. housekeeping maintenance
Location: Blackpool
ARRIVAL? When arriving the hotel was clean present very posh looking lobby. The staff were attentive. Great car parking and very nice entrance lake/pond ROOM? Placed in horrible suite in out houses i personally would not have housed anyone who has paid in these rooms. They smelt damp the decorating needed updating. Horrible pull down bed. IM NOT A SNOB BUT TO BE HONEST I WAS INSULTED! COMPLAINED? As i had booked this hotel through a third party after speaking to the manager prior to arrival i gave the outhouse a go but just simply couldn't accept this. My family went back to reception who in turn the staff done everything they could to sort this mess out. However one member told me they was fully booked and did i want to cancel the room. Lets face it i was in no position to say yes at that time giving i ran the risk of sleeping in the car so said no but then show en email i had with manager prior to arrival. Was asked to wait. As i waited i felt it was unfair this hotel got our money and found another hotel in Blackpool cheaper less nice looking but would have got what was promised. After i asked for my money back so i could go ahead and book somewhere else was i offered a room in the hotel. NEW ROOM? The room given by the hotel after this complaint was as what we thought we booked through the third party however felt we was made to feel like the hotel done us a favour however was not the case as the room finally given was the room we thought we booked. the new room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Visiting Chorely

Great Potential Wasted

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The hotel looks great, it's set in a lovely area, has the spa, conference rooms, hotel village complex, it could be a great 4 star. was surprisingly cheep, an indication that things could be better. The food was superb. However the staff training was mixed. The staff I encountered were mostly helpful, but some not so interested. There were too many mistakes and omissions in my 4 nights at the hotel. Room wasn't cleaned after first night, initial complaint was offered excuses and no recompense - spoke to manager who was much better. Staff in restaurant were friendly and helpful, but it sometimes felt as if they were a little unused to working as a team, and so were often rushing about or out of place. This meant sometimes little things got missed. The bar staff seemed more disorganised and slow, with the restaurant staff having to fetch their own drinks making it more difficult. The reception staff seemed more unsure of how to deal with out of the ordinary. The Room decor and hotel maintenance were lacking - suspended ceiling in rooms looks out of place, and with skylight behind let light in. The mattress was old and needed replacement, spa needied a bit of TLC - the sauna didn't seem to get above warm. Outside of buildings looked in need of a paint, and some of service areas needed care and attention. It could be a lot more than it currently is, and ask a lot more for the rooms than it does. Just needs More investment and a little help for the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Tired hotel. Glasses in room not cleaned. Mattress non existent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

It works ok for a day stay

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Good location the lobby match the pictures perfectly but the room didn't have nothing that I saw in the pictures. Having travelled with kids in the reservation was saying that the room would have a double bed and 2 singles but when we arrived we realised that they were in different rooms and in the end I had to sleep with one kid in the living room and my partner in the bedroom with another and what a surprise when we were bringing the beds together when it was full of dirt empty bags of crisps a lost shoe from a kid all sorts. We try to swap rooms but they said they didn't had any other but I was surprised because if they knew that we were travelling with kids they should have tough about that, because if we knew that it was in different rooms we wouldn't made a reservation there. I can only say the good thing there was the possibility of using their leisure centre at no extra cost so we could take them for a late swim in the pool .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from peak district derbyshire

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: breakfast was ok
Cons: all of what I have put above
Location: very isolated
did not know what I had booked on your site did not say what was included in the price and no nowhere to change rooms a long way from reception and my room had no phone incase of emergency if I had a heart attack what would I have done curtains hanging from rails and no wi fi which was on the details my room fire alarm went off on its own at 3am and spoilt my nights sleep could not ring reception no phone Getting to the rooms no signs how to get there had to get staff to show n me and was told he is doing that all the time aoaverall very poor experience I stay in hotels every week on business and the experience at this hotel very poor they charged me 10 pounds for breakfast could have booked hotels cheaper in the area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad start but better ending

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Rooms were nice, clean and tidy. Breakfast lovely.
Cons: Doors closing quieter on the hotel rooms.
When we arrived at the hotel reception, we were directed to what can only be described as 'chalets' away from the main hotel. This took us by surprise, as we were expecting to stay in the hotel. When we checked out the 'chalet' it wasn't very pleasant. It was scruffy, dirty and a double bed that folds down out of a cupboard, were not things we were expecting. We went back to the reception and voiced our displeasure at what we were given and what we booked, through pictures online. The reception girls were very helpful in finding us a room 'in' the hotel. The ratings I have left are for the hotel rooms not the chalets, which in fact I couldn't possibly rate anyway. We had a buffet breakfast the next morning which was also lovely. The one crib I would have is the hotel room doors bang very loudly when they close, especially when people are coming back to their rooms in the early hours.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Can't complain for the price

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Beautiful pool which the kids loved. Rooms where very clean and tidy. However, we ended up in a 'butlins' style chalet, which 1. We were not informed we were booking and 2. I never saw Advertised on the website. And I'm not surprised as the double bed pulled out from the wardrobe! Not comfortable at all and my husband woke up more tired than when he went to sleep! The rooms could do with updating, the sofas were ripped And the coffee table was tatty. The bathroom looked lovely and the room with the single beds looked very comfortable and the kids slept well. I don't feel we can complain too much as we had it quite cheep and the facilities were brill, just be careful when you book that you actually book a hotel room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England.

Break away for the weekend

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The location and setting .
Cons: Update the entire place. It is not just used for revellers..
Location: Wigan and St. Helens were great places for shopping etc.
Our first room was difficult to locate due to darkness, no street lighting. When we found it we were disgusted at the state of the room. We had payed a substantial amount of money and were given a very outdated and disabled room. We would have struggled to reach the sinkdue to the height. We were transferred to a room in the hotel. This was satisfactory and our stay was pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has a car park by hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Room not cleaned, wet towels re hung up rather than changed, bins left full- had to ask 3 times before room was cleaned. Hotel very tired, but staff were lovely and we're trying there best. Food in hotel restaurant is excellent and a good price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Horrible Dirty Hotel.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The rooms.
We were originally put in an annex room which was more like a holiday camp room but 10 times worse. This room was smelly, filthy, wallpaper hanging off the walls, dirty sheets on a pull down bed and much more to mention. We were moved at our request to a room in the hotel which was better but still dirty. The floor when you walked on it was gritty and the bin in the bathroom was still full, the sheets on our bed were ripped. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.