Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Real mixed bag

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Original room very dated and in poor condition no wifi as promised, staff great moved me to better suite. Good gym also
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small things all add up.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Had to move room as the back 'wing' of the hotel was unbearably cold. Rancid sewage smell emitting from a small cupboard by the lift for all 3 days i was there. Not all channels on the TV - no bbc1,2 etc. No food menu in the room so couldn't order room service on the phone. Little thing but they all add up. Staff were warm and very friendly. Particularly Demi at reception and the lady who works at the restaurant. Food was very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Had 2 rooms here in 'the village' one was ok but the other very poor. Absolutely freezing cold when we arrived, room smelt, hole in floor (see photo) the bathroom was quite nice but no hot water so couldn't use it properly ! No wifi in one of the rooms but other ok. breakfast was quite good but wouldn't rush back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
brilliant stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Great one night stopover

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Ample parking, lovely room with huge bathroom, lovely location.
Cons: The brown curtains !! Easier to lock door.
Location: Lovely landscaped area to front of hotel. Close to excellent pub / carvery for good quality and very reasonably priced evening meal.
We booked because of the excellent price for three people and as a necessary one night stopover on a journey of over 350 miles. However, having then read some of the reviews we were quite worried - we genuinely needn't have been. On arrival there was ample parking space, even though a saturday night and the hotel was fully booked. At reception there was a very slight delay in checking in as the receptionist was dealing with another customer, however she politely acknowledged us and apologised; a second receptionist then arrived within a couple of minutes. We hadn't realised when we booked the hotel that we were actually booking into the village complex - we were given the keys for chalet 91. This was very close to the hotel reception and very clearly signposted. The room itself was lovely - comfy beds, clean, TV was easy to use, teas and coffees; the bathroom was huge and again very clean and well stocked. If I was nit picking - there were a few scuffs to the walls; who likes brown curtains ?; the security light outside was quite bright and did throw some light into the room; the door was a bit difficult to lock (really minor issues). My husband and son used the swimming pool which was very good. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that. Lovely landscaped area to front of hotel. Certainly wouldn't mind staying in same room again next time we make the same trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great facilities

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Kids love the pool with spa. Tranquil environment with spacious ground. Convenient access from motorway but you wouldn't even notice from the hotel as well shielded away. Staff superb - very welcoming and friendly. Would definitely stay there again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, in need of a refurb and won't be going back

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed over in the Cadbury Suite! This rooms decor was awful! Decorated in the colours of Cadburys Chocolate. This was not what was advertised on the website and its certainly not what I paid for. The decor was dated, unclean with mould on the ceiling and windows. The bathroom as disgusting as the floor looked like it had been uranated on and left to rot. The curtains we salt and mould stained and the windows had no secure locks and were old wooden single paine frames. The TV was small and on a wall that did not allow comfortable viewing from the bed. All in all the room was in dire need of a refurb and for a price of £86 for a night excluding breakfast I was not impressed. A room service tray was outside the room when I arrived and it was still there when I left in the morning. When I complained in the morning to the receptionist she didn't seem surprised and was almost expecting a complaint from me. No form or apology was offered. The main building of the hotel is probably really well kept and maintained but "the village" out building rooms round the back of the hotel where I was housed reminds me of the 80s to 90s Butlins sheds with beds type accommodation that was demolished thankfully years ago. Not impressed and won't be going back!!!!! Best Western Premier Plus Hotel apparently!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

should have been good

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
was a bit of a shambles really...luckily we rang ahead on saturday morning just to enquire if we could have an early check-in but it was a good job we did..they hadn't got our booking : Apparentley, the hotel had some noisy events going on that night, parties and so on and there were no family rooms available..even though I had paid through hotels.com....they took our number and rang us back, they rang back with a lovely offer of an update to the bridal suite and would put in 2 single beds for the girls..we were assured that we would not hear the noise..but they were so wrong..we were right above it..luckily the girls were so tired they went straight to sleep..but this noise did effect our stay. also, the hotel was asking me for payment but i'd already paid but hotels.com hadn't sent me the comfirmation email but luckily I had photographed the invoice...we left the hotel and Laura. a lovely receptionist promised to deal with it and ring us back. She rang and told us that we were not to worry as we had already paid but for a while I was upset about all these blunders. I don't know who's to blame..the hotel or hotels.com but I was just glad that we rang first as usually i don't bother..or we wouldn't have had a room to stay in with 2 children The hotel is nice and the grounds are lovely..but it was just spoiled by the rowdy party and the management of our booking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels