Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small things all add up.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Had to move room as the back 'wing' of the hotel was unbearably cold. Rancid sewage smell emitting from a small cupboard by the lift for all 3 days i was there. Not all channels on the TV - no bbc1,2 etc. No food menu in the room so couldn't order room service on the phone. Little thing but they all add up. Staff were warm and very friendly. Particularly Demi at reception and the lady who works at the restaurant. Food was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Great one night stopover

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Ample parking, lovely room with huge bathroom, lovely location.
Cons: The brown curtains !! Easier to lock door.
Location: Lovely landscaped area to front of hotel. Close to excellent pub / carvery for good quality and very reasonably priced evening meal.
We booked because of the excellent price for three people and as a necessary one night stopover on a journey of over 350 miles. However, having then read some of the reviews we were quite worried - we genuinely needn't have been. On arrival there was ample parking space, even though a saturday night and the hotel was fully booked. At reception there was a very slight delay in checking in as the receptionist was dealing with another customer, however she politely acknowledged us and apologised; a second receptionist then arrived within a couple of minutes. We hadn't realised when we booked the hotel that we were actually booking into the village complex - we were given the keys for chalet 91. This was very close to the hotel reception and very clearly signposted. The room itself was lovely - comfy beds, clean, TV was easy to use, teas and coffees; the bathroom was huge and again very clean and well stocked. If I was nit picking - there were a few scuffs to the walls; who likes brown curtains ?; the security light outside was quite bright and did throw some light into the room; the door was a bit difficult to lock (really minor issues). My husband and son used the swimming pool which was very good. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that. Lovely landscaped area to front of hotel. Certainly wouldn't mind staying in same room again next time we make the same trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great facilities

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Kids love the pool with spa. Tranquil environment with spacious ground. Convenient access from motorway but you wouldn't even notice from the hotel as well shielded away. Staff superb - very welcoming and friendly. Would definitely stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex

Nightmare Start Great finish

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Swimming Pool
Cons: booking. housekeeping maintenance
Location: Blackpool
ARRIVAL? When arriving the hotel was clean present very posh looking lobby. The staff were attentive. Great car parking and very nice entrance lake/pond ROOM? Placed in horrible suite in out houses i personally would not have housed anyone who has paid in these rooms. They smelt damp the decorating needed updating. Horrible pull down bed. IM NOT A SNOB BUT TO BE HONEST I WAS INSULTED! COMPLAINED? As i had booked this hotel through a third party after speaking to the manager prior to arrival i gave the outhouse a go but just simply couldn't accept this. My family went back to reception who in turn the staff done everything they could to sort this mess out. However one member told me they was fully booked and did i want to cancel the room. Lets face it i was in no position to say yes at that time giving i ran the risk of sleeping in the car so said no but then show en email i had with manager prior to arrival. Was asked to wait. As i waited i felt it was unfair this hotel got our money and found another hotel in Blackpool cheaper less nice looking but would have got what was promised. After i asked for my money back so i could go ahead and book somewhere else was i offered a room in the hotel. NEW ROOM? The room given by the hotel after this complaint was as what we thought we booked through the third party however felt we was made to feel like the hotel done us a favour however was not the case as the room finally given was the room we thought we booked. the new room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Visiting Chorely

Great Potential Wasted

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The hotel looks great, it's set in a lovely area, has the spa, conference rooms, hotel village complex, it could be a great 4 star. was surprisingly cheep, an indication that things could be better. The food was superb. However the staff training was mixed. The staff I encountered were mostly helpful, but some not so interested. There were too many mistakes and omissions in my 4 nights at the hotel. Room wasn't cleaned after first night, initial complaint was offered excuses and no recompense - spoke to manager who was much better. Staff in restaurant were friendly and helpful, but it sometimes felt as if they were a little unused to working as a team, and so were often rushing about or out of place. This meant sometimes little things got missed. The bar staff seemed more disorganised and slow, with the restaurant staff having to fetch their own drinks making it more difficult. The reception staff seemed more unsure of how to deal with out of the ordinary. The Room decor and hotel maintenance were lacking - suspended ceiling in rooms looks out of place, and with skylight behind let light in. The mattress was old and needed replacement, spa needied a bit of TLC - the sauna didn't seem to get above warm. Outside of buildings looked in need of a paint, and some of service areas needed care and attention. It could be a lot more than it currently is, and ask a lot more for the rooms than it does. Just needs More investment and a little help for the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Tired hotel. Glasses in room not cleaned. Mattress non existent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

It works ok for a day stay

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Good location the lobby match the pictures perfectly but the room didn't have nothing that I saw in the pictures. Having travelled with kids in the reservation was saying that the room would have a double bed and 2 singles but when we arrived we realised that they were in different rooms and in the end I had to sleep with one kid in the living room and my partner in the bedroom with another and what a surprise when we were bringing the beds together when it was full of dirt empty bags of crisps a lost shoe from a kid all sorts. We try to swap rooms but they said they didn't had any other but I was surprised because if they knew that we were travelling with kids they should have tough about that, because if we knew that it was in different rooms we wouldn't made a reservation there. I can only say the good thing there was the possibility of using their leisure centre at no extra cost so we could take them for a late swim in the pool .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from peak district derbyshire

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: breakfast was ok
Cons: all of what I have put above
Location: very isolated
did not know what I had booked on your site did not say what was included in the price and no nowhere to change rooms a long way from reception and my room had no phone incase of emergency if I had a heart attack what would I have done curtains hanging from rails and no wi fi which was on the details my room fire alarm went off on its own at 3am and spoilt my nights sleep could not ring reception no phone Getting to the rooms no signs how to get there had to get staff to show n me and was told he is doing that all the time aoaverall very poor experience I stay in hotels every week on business and the experience at this hotel very poor they charged me 10 pounds for breakfast could have booked hotels cheaper in the area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from County Durham

Perfect stay

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for 1 night on the way to Knowsley safari park, I think it was a good choice, staff were friendly & polite, but stretched in bar area but there were 2 weddings going on. Our room was part of a block of 4 (like a little bungalow) the room was a decent size, with a nice big bathroom with a bath & shower cubicle. The beds were very comfy pillows could do with being softer. Great area with a good sized mirror for doing hair & makeup with an electric socket near the area too. We had a meal in the Resteraunt, staff young but helpful we had a 3 course meal & it was very tasty & the flavours were tongue watering. The leisure club pool was lively 2 pools 1 for doing lengths & a more shallow pool for families with small children. 2 jacuzzis 1 for adults & 1 family friendly. Didn't use the sauna or gym so cannot comment on these. Can't fault our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels