Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, shame about the rave music until 00.15

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Hotel staff were great, very helpful. I was on a business trip and arrived late and had an important meeting the next day. Very unhappy about the music that literally shook the room until the early hours!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Near to wedding venue

Posted Jun 4, 2017
I stayed here to attend a wedding venue further up the road. They had put me in a room away from the main hotel and as a single woman, I asked to be accommodated inside the hotel, which they duly did. I was early than the check time, but they were really good and found me a room so I could get changed and go to the wedding after eating lunch there - thank you Jane for helping me with that!! Overall they were great, and very accommodating. The room could be a little fresher it looked a bit "tired", but as I was just staying over for one night it didn't matter!! Overall a good night's rest until the fire alarm went off at 8.07am!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Preston

Lovely staff. Overdue for a modernisation

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: Spa facilities, bathrooms need an deep clean and update.
Location: n/a
Stayed in a small twin double. Although room appeared clean, the furniture was chipped, the tiles in the bathroom were mouldy. We booked with friends who wanted to stay at a hotel with a spa. This was dire. Overuse of chlorine and the general dingy feel of the pools and Jacuzzi area was off putting. The staff and the food were top notch but hotel and amenities are well overdue for an update.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from whitley bay

Left to rot like the theme park next door!

Posted May 5, 2017
Upon arrival you pass an abandoned theme park then a lovley looking lake! Greeted at not so bad reception and giving an upgrade into the main hotel !!! Took the lift to floor one along the dated corridor to the end room! Excited about my upgrade I entered to a small old fashioned room with dated decor and a tiny bathroom. Although clean I was pretty shocked. Decided to leave the room and head to the gym. Followed the signs which guided me to the restaurant but not much else, so I spent 5 mins walking around trying to find the right out building. Gym dated Pool dated Changing dated The best thing was the steam and sauna were pretty hot due to being old and not monitored! The hotel was empty with no one in the bar or restaurant so didn't stay for evening meal, nor was I parting with any money in this tired place. Breakfasr included was pretty decent other than crappy cut of bacon I say it's as good as much hotel chains. Although I didn't enjoy my stay the place was clean enough and staff were pleasant. I think the place has perhaps been left to rot with the theme park next door, which Iam guessing provided it a lot of business. Good luck going forward
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nicely located with very nice grounds!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
No wifi in 'cabins'..no working telephone. Very clean. Bed not great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not worth it.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
My family including my 2 year old stayed one night. Room definitely​ not like how the pictures show. Limited hot water supply- no prior information. Had to have cold shower as no maintenance showed up despite being informed ' someone will come over right away'. Room phone not working. Had to call via mobile- no answer for 5 minutes. Although very helpful, obviously Understaffed. Poor WiFi Travelodge would have been better. Regret purchasing stay there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Random room

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Expected to stay in a hotel. Instead stayed in what felt like a 1980s styled 'villa' complex at the back of the site access via car park 6. The complex is very large so therefore harder to maintain. It felt very run down. Pictures didn't represent the feel of the place.
3 out of 5
by Miglena

Need improvement

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Overall a nice and quite place, nothing around, so can get really boring...The Hotel is clean and Love the Spa Area..The only down of it was the service..restaurant stop serving food at 21:30, so last order like 21:00, most of the menu was not available & service was really,really slow...Hope the management will change that..as the place otherwise is really nice :) All the Best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Hotel with great facilities and restaurant

Posted Mar 5, 2017
I stayed two nights at this hotel to attend my friends wedding. We enjoyed relaxing time in the swimming pool, steam room and sauna after a session in the well equipped gym. Our room was comfy, clean, and well maintained (room in main building). The food in the restaurant was delicious - not just bog standard dishes, but interesting ones with different flavours. Service at breakfast was also good. Found all the staff helpful and friendly and the wedding was organised really well. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
I was first checked in to the Village rooms which is external to the main hotel, this was a poor standard and I would rate it a 2 star the wifi was also extremely poor, so I requested an upgrade to the main hotel for an extra £10 which was worth it! trying to get into the bath was a bit of a challenge as the shower screen would not swing open and the toilet location was impeding on getting into the bath