Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Preston

Lovely staff. Overdue for a modernisation

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Staff and food
Cons: Spa facilities, bathrooms need an deep clean and update.
Location: n/a
Stayed in a small twin double. Although room appeared clean, the furniture was chipped, the tiles in the bathroom were mouldy. We booked with friends who wanted to stay at a hotel with a spa. This was dire. Overuse of chlorine and the general dingy feel of the pools and Jacuzzi area was off putting. The staff and the food were top notch but hotel and amenities are well overdue for an update.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from whitley bay

Left to rot like the theme park next door!

Posted May 5, 2017
Upon arrival you pass an abandoned theme park then a lovley looking lake! Greeted at not so bad reception and giving an upgrade into the main hotel !!! Took the lift to floor one along the dated corridor to the end room! Excited about my upgrade I entered to a small old fashioned room with dated decor and a tiny bathroom. Although clean I was pretty shocked. Decided to leave the room and head to the gym. Followed the signs which guided me to the restaurant but not much else, so I spent 5 mins walking around trying to find the right out building. Gym dated Pool dated Changing dated The best thing was the steam and sauna were pretty hot due to being old and not monitored! The hotel was empty with no one in the bar or restaurant so didn't stay for evening meal, nor was I parting with any money in this tired place. Breakfasr included was pretty decent other than crappy cut of bacon I say it's as good as much hotel chains. Although I didn't enjoy my stay the place was clean enough and staff were pleasant. I think the place has perhaps been left to rot with the theme park next door, which Iam guessing provided it a lot of business. Good luck going forward
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nicely located with very nice grounds!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
No wifi in 'cabins'..no working telephone. Very clean. Bed not great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not worth it.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
My family including my 2 year old stayed one night. Room definitely​ not like how the pictures show. Limited hot water supply- no prior information. Had to have cold shower as no maintenance showed up despite being informed ' someone will come over right away'. Room phone not working. Had to call via mobile- no answer for 5 minutes. Although very helpful, obviously Understaffed. Poor WiFi Travelodge would have been better. Regret purchasing stay there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Random room

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Expected to stay in a hotel. Instead stayed in what felt like a 1980s styled 'villa' complex at the back of the site access via car park 6. The complex is very large so therefore harder to maintain. It felt very run down. Pictures didn't represent the feel of the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Hotel with great facilities and restaurant

Posted Mar 5, 2017
I stayed two nights at this hotel to attend my friends wedding. We enjoyed relaxing time in the swimming pool, steam room and sauna after a session in the well equipped gym. Our room was comfy, clean, and well maintained (room in main building). The food in the restaurant was delicious - not just bog standard dishes, but interesting ones with different flavours. Service at breakfast was also good. Found all the staff helpful and friendly and the wedding was organised really well. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Really great!

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
The village apartment was perfect for us, with 2 boys and a dog. The room itself has obviously been recently refurbished and was really nice, loved the layout, having a separate little room to store bags and clothes, and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The grounds were great, there are little grassy areas by each apartment and it was lovely with a dog. The pool is also a bonus.
4 out of 5
by Pushkar

Good Stay

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
It was located far away from the motorway. It was just a stop over for us and hence took quite long to reach the hotel. Room was quite well maintained. Breakfast was great.. overall service was more than satisfactory !!
5 out of 5
by Miss l v clarke

Hotel location

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Booked hotel as friend was getting married there. Staff all friendly and helpful
3 out of 5
by DARREN

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
breakfast not hot. bathroom modern in lodge but bedroom could be modernised, better heating and bigger tv