Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Hotel is in desperate need of a total renovation.

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The bedding and towels fresh and clean
Cons: As above. Total refurbishment needed and fire procedures put in place.
We stayed in room 28 which was clean. However, the radiator was on full heat and could not be switched off. The electrics were faulty as only one power switch worked. The shower was stuck on a heat setting that only my husband could change. Also the water came out in a large gush. Since January this year we also tried rooms 26 and 27 which have awful mattresses. We have always found the staff to be helpful and pleasant, however, on Sunday morning at 6.15am the fire alarm went off. No one evacuated and the alarm went off quickly then came back on again and went off again. My husband went to reception where the girl told him she switched the alarm off the first time and did nothing! My husband asked why and she said she was not allowed to leave the desk. She knew which area the activation came from and was quite sure it was someone smoking! My husband took her to the area and people were stood outside the rooms but they could not identify any smoke! Also all the fire doors at this time were open! It would appear that staff do not know what to do when fire alarm activates! Also my husband reported that during the evenings and throughout the night (he took our dogs out) that the fire doors were also open. We will not be staying in this hotel again until major renovations have been done and the fire procedures are sorted out and made safe. This hotel at the moment is a death trap.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Nice clean accommodation made our Cavalier King Charles very welcome . Will certainly use Days Inn again especially as they are pet friendly
2 out of 5
by graham

Poor days inn

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
The room smelt like a wet dog, hole in the bedroom wall, the halves of the came apart wind blowing through seals on the double glazing making room cold even though central heating on full, curtain rail dropping off, not up to usual Days inn standard
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silverston

Great staff let down by age of hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff and they accept dogs
Cons: rooms need a refurb, the mattresses are TERRIBLE especially room 26 to the point I was going to sleep on the floor restaurant plates need changing
Location: location is perfect on the services with easy access
Ok, firstly, the staff here are amazing and so friendly, they are a real credit to the company and the location is also ideal and they allow dogs to stay for £5/day/visit. But, the hotel does need some serious TLC and the beds in particular are really uncomfortable, to the point where we were in the Executive room 26 and I went to the reception to ask the lady there for a spare duvet so I could sleep on the floor. By this time it was 1am and so I was offered 2 other room keys to check out if either of those rooms were ok and I went for room 28, so while my wife relocated to the change in bed along with our 2 dogs, I did the change over and I could then sleep there for the next couple of nights. To be honest I think the company needs to spend some money on refurbishing especially the executive rooms and change the shower curtains so there isn't any black mould on the hems and change the dining plates which have seen better days with numerous scratches for use. But due to the location and the staff, we will be back. Thanks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should be last choice

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Worst stay ever, as I could not slept at all power outages for hours, too noisey as you can hear motorway traffic and flashing lights from windows, too pricey for that kinda room and conditions, staff was friendly though
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Give it a miss

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Checked in at 2am, was ok, staff were friendly. Room was tired and needs a lot of tlc, mould in places, smelt of bleach. Small single bed, suitable for a child, not a middle aged man. Shower didn't work, had to have a full wash in sink, told staff on leaving, they didn't seem to care, no mention of a refund or anything, had to leave promptly due to having to be at a meeting, so couldn't pursue the matter. Wont be staying again or recommending it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Damp and mould in room

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Following a confirmation email, and a 7 hour journey, our reservation was not on the hotel system. The room we were finally allocated had mould in corners. Room stunk of bleach. My companion has a heart cindition and the bleach & mould made her really ill.The problem with check in made us late for our event. The staff were as helpful as possible but I'm really disappointed with Expedia and won't use them again.I will be expecting a full refund.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hatton Derby

Due for refurbishment in my opinion.

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Not a lot, very few facilities, quite expensive for quality v price paid
Cons: Everything looking worn, not broken just worn out. Paper thin walls could hear conversation from adjacent rooms. No telephone in rooms. Wouldn't use again.
Location: On M6, can be awkward to get to as you have to right of motorway, sat nav with postcode for hotel to me to wrong side, access can be difficult
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but family room was inadequate

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
The room condition was OK but I had booked a family room for 4 people and this room was barely suitable if you have smaller children. My 14 year old had to sleep half on and half off a small mattress on the floor.