Primary image

Reviews of Athena Motel & Apartments

4.5 out of 5
Athena Motel & Apartments
160 Riccarton Road, Christchurch

Overall score and ratings

4.5

Wonderful

Rating 5 - Excellent. 85 out of 140 reviews
5 - Excellent 61%
Rating 4 - Good. 40 out of 140 reviews
4 - Good 29%
Rating 3 - Okay. 11 out of 140 reviews
3 - Okay 8%
Rating 2 - Poor. 2 out of 140 reviews
2 - Poor 1%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 2 out of 140 reviews
1 - Terrible 1%

4.6/5

Cleanliness

4.5/5

Staff & service

5.0/5

Amenities

4.3/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2020

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great room and value
Great welcome and excellent room for the money, I will use again for sure
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Location and cleanliness plus the owners were so helpful and friendly
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2019

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good location, friendly owners, nice room. Shower was amazing
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great proximity to Riccarton Mall, very comfortable and great facilities. Very friendly hosts.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
An old favourite.. love the location.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
great location(central to everything) Warm,friendly welcome. Room perfect(private). Downstairs with small courtyard excellent for us.Would book here again. Generally a great experience. Thank-you
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very good room serviced every day clean towels handy to riccarton mall and eating places would come here again
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
It would have been really good if the fire alarm did not go off twice in a row and we had to evacuate twice, which was unfortunate and out of the control of the owners - but it did not make for a very good nights sleep!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Very quiet but parking difficult for large cars. Orherwise a lovely complex with very obliging owners.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel, rooms are fantastic Very comfortable and well equip with everything you could need spa is great way to relax the hotel owners/managers are very friendly and helpful and go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasurable and stress free a possible. I will now be staying here when I travel to chch
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good Location
Owner very helpful, flexible and friendly. Location is near airport, shopping mall and bus transport. Lots of food options nearby
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great location and comfortable room
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2018

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Cold, strange layout, heat pumps and heaters don’t work, bathroom heater doesn’t work. Staff rude and unhelpful. I had got a spray tan while in town and had brought my own sheets and pillows to avoid ruining theirs and my pillow was taken, then they lied about having it and then phoned me up after both myself and my partner having asked for my belongings back, they told me I had in fact not brought my pillow and it was already at my house. Then they called to tell me they miraculously found it in my room when they stripped the bed on the bed even though I had left the bed already stripped from the process of looking for my stuff. Following this, I asked to be sent my things and they refused as I had “forgotten” it and it was not their responsibility. Absolutely terrible.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good walking distance too the mall
I enjoyed being at the motel much appreciation ..very cheap .. good friendly staff...
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very Comfortable Stay
We stayed 1 night and were upgrade to room with Spa bath, which was very nice, room well equipped, we were upstairs and our room over looked the grounds behind, it was very quiet, and comfortable. Bed very comfortable as well. We will stay here again.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great 2 bedrom apartment close to everything
Great location, opposite Westfield Shopping Centre, plenty of restaurants and cafes close by. Very convenient to CBD, airport, tourist attactions etc
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
a very well run family motel even though on a main road the units are set back and are very quiet. Nice to be over the road from the mall
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
close to mall & bus stops, good parking
4 night stay, very friendly & helpful staff, quiet room, more than adequate
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2017

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Room comfort
Was expecting to get the two bedroom motel room as booked but ended up getting a three bedroom house which was down the road. House was old but clean and tidy, however not what we expected and would have preferred the motel complex as booked.(as house in the front and road traffic noisy from Riccarton Rd.)
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2017

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Close to Riccarton Mall & Restaurants.
Very friendly staff, warm comfortable clean & tidy. Close to Riccarton Mall also Horncastle Arena.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice motel close to mall
Across the road from mall and far enough away from the road so no traffic noise.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
amazing
The family that run this motel are delightful and nothing was a bother. Rooms are renovated and basically brand new. Close to restaurants, pubs and Westfield shops. Couldn't really fault this motel

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Clean hotel. Close to the mall
We booked here as a last minute hotel and it was perfect. Comfy clean and close to the mall and eateries. Staff friendly and helpfull. Would stay again and recommend.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel, close to shopping district.
Hotel has good location for getting to and from other attractions.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
close to the mall and hospital
Lovely friendly hosts and nice place to stay, close to the hospital and the mall.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Convenient clean motel
pretty much perfect

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Family break in Christchurch Motel extremely handy to Mall, Restaurants and shops making it easy to get around. Staff was very friendly and helpful Overall an enjoyable stay at Athena

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
A bit small but comfortable and excellent staff
Great way to kick off a South Island adventure. Clean room, friendly staff who couldn't do enough to ensure an enjoyable experience.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Nearly nice and peaceful...
Great location, great rooms, but... the walls are paper thin. Unfortunately we could hear the TV, the kettle, the drawers etc from the unit next door. Other than that, a great stay

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very nice helpful couple.
As I had been there before I knew what to expect and once again they were very very helpful as they knew the rooms I had booked were not convenient for my family situation they had another room set aside for us. The only time I don't stay there is when they are already booked out, 5 stars.

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Room comfort
Close to the University of Canterbury
Business trip to the University of Canterbury, a one night stay. It was a very odd configuration to the room with a single bed and large screen TV downstairs alongside kitchenette/bathroom facilities with a double bed & small TV upstairs however the only decent heating was upstairs in the small bedroom area - which had a heat pump. Heat pump was great but loud, couldn't spend time downstairs in the 'living room' area as it was too cold.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great hotel, close to everything
Great quiet place. Cleaned every day. Central to everything in Christchurch

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Welcoming and comfortable
On a very busy street but quiet inside. Comfortable and pleasant. Very pleased with our choice.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Hotel looks so much more modern than its website!
Was a little unnerving as staff were not expecting me, but once booking was confirmed, lovely help.
Response from Duty Manager on Jul 8, 2016
Glad you have enjoy staying at Athena Motel

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Inviting and very helpful. Good location close to the mall
Response from William -Reservation on Jun 23, 2016
Thank you for your vote of confidence .Location Location

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very clean and tody
Lovely quiet room even thought I was on Riccarton Road. Nice simple stay. Great value for money.
Response from Night Duty on Apr 25, 2016
Location Location

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful Motel
This is a great wee motel complex which is one of the best I have ever stayed in. It is compact but has everything you need and more - spa bath, TV in the lounge as well as the bed room, very clean and tidy. Very well positioned across the road from Riccarton Mall. The staff couldn't be more helpful, they even had a place for me to park my 18 foot boat and ute.
Response from Night Duty on Apr 25, 2016
Location Location

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice central location
Opposite Riccarton mall. Clean room, shower and kitchenette in excellent condition. Comfortable bed. Free fast wifi. It's the best motel I've stayed in Christchurch
Response from Night Duty on Apr 25, 2016
Location Location

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great stay
Very close to mall, restaurants and café. Room was clean and comfortable. Will be parfect if the room had decent amount of milk instead of portions. I will definitely stay here again.
Response from Night Duty on Jun 25, 2016
Location Location

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel, spacious spa bath, lovely quiet room
We enjoyed s quiet upstairs room at the back of the motel which was nice and quiet, with a balcony looking out into trees
Response from Night Duty on Apr 25, 2016
Location Location

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Clean and spacious for price
This motel exceeded our expectations, as we have stayed on Riccarton road many times. This was the first time we have stayed at Athena. The price was better, facilities great and William and his wife really friendly. Thanks guys we will be back.
Response from Night Duty on Apr 25, 2016
Location Location

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good location close to restaurants
Very nice room with good amenities. Thoughtful cleaners left a note when some food in the fridge was spoiled because the door wasn't shut properly so they disposed of it.
Response from Night Duty on Apr 25, 2016
Location Location

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Well situated but not really an apartment
The layout is not right. Walk through the bathroom to the lounge? Microwave and no other cooking option?
Response from Night Duty on Apr 25, 2016
Location Location - check your booking details before confirming booking .

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
McWilliams Apartment-nothing like an apartment!!
On arrival shown to our unit - #3 next door to Athena Motel but going under the name of McWilliams Apartment (run by same people). Front door area had not been swept, net curtain at front door creased, grey in colour and a thumb nail size hole at eye level. Drape on one side of front door not completely hung, smoke alarm hung to end of curtain track via a twist tie, no alarm clock, no telephone. Basin in bathroom was not fully secured to wall (nor sealed), shower lining bowed, shower rose and track wobbly. On approaching the managers and discussing the above issues they became extremely defensive, but on returning to unit later in day we found that the front door area had been swept and drape hung correctly on track. A phone had been placed on 2nd bedroom for our use. The word apartment conjures up certain expectations and this certain did not live up to what we had expected. It was an old house that had been divided up into several rooms suitable to use as motel units. This is the most basic of accommodation - do not use even if you are on an extremely tight budget - a backpackers offers far more!
Response from William -Reservation on Apr 25, 2016
We have checked you in correctly in what you have booked - at McWilliam Apartment at lower rate than the motel units. If you did not book the Motel unit ( at higher rates) , don't expect to be checked in there. The rest is history.

3/5 Okay

A quiet stay
We were in the McWilliamson apartments next door which was very quiet despite the busy road outside. Close to shops and bus transport to city.
Response from Night Duty on Jun 25, 2016
Location Location

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Affordable motel close to the mall
Had a free upgrade, set back from the road so quiet, had kitchenette, polite and friendly staff
Response from William- Reservation on Apr 24, 2016
To access SKY , use remote control to switch between Freeview and SKY channel - simple.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Not what we booked
We were advised we had accommodation nextdoor to the place we had booked! Unfortunately it was nothing like the info that lead us to book the Athena in the first place. As we had paid in advance there was little we could do. Not sure how to describe the ammenities as it had everything they said it did but did not work for us. There was the laundry tub doubling as a kitchen sink, the microwave was down low so had to kneel on the floor to operate it, the kitchen table was impossible to sit at, the TV in the main bedroom was set up for satelite with a large chair and footrest infront of it so one of us had to squeeze past it to get into bed. The other room had a single bed, two lounge chairs and freeview TV. Location was good, public transport was excellent. Unfortunately I think the info on the Athena was misleading as I expect something of equal quality if it is being replace. We would not have booked this place.
Response from William- Reservation on Apr 25, 2016
Your confirmation from Expedia clearly say McWilliam Apartment - we have checked you in correctly according to what you have booked , you did not booked the motel units which is at higher rates .