Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Plymouth, NZ

Posted Apr 25, 2017
A quick visit to see the damage and rebuild happening in Christchurch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Ricken, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing our motel.We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay here. We will keep going to provide better services for all the customers. Yours sincerely, City Central Motel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing our motel.We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay here. We will keep going to provide better services for all the customers. Yours sincerely, City Central Motel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't be fooled by photos

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: not much to like about the place
We booked apartments looking at the photos which looked like a decent place to stay. On arrival, it was totally the opposite, the place looked more like a shop-front rather than a hotel. The rooms smelled due to lack of ventilation, beds and bedding was substandard though clean. Facilities including bathrooms were quite basic where you could just get by if you don't have anywhere else to go but not my idea of a holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Ricken, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for the problem. We will solve this problem as soon as possible. Yours sincerely, City Central Motel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kapiti Coast

Good night Stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017
hotel staff so helpful , big n nice rooms next to subway , walk distance to food shops
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Ricken, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing our motel.We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay here. We will keep going to provide better services for all the customers. Yours sincerely, City Central Motel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson, NZ

Close to town and quiet at night

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Wotif
Rooms need a bit of an update, new carpet would help, but comfortable enough for the price and location is great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Dirty and overpriced

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Wotif
The central motel apartments in chch are not a pleasant place to stay. It was advertised as king beds only to find very soft queen bed. When questioned the owners said no king beds in any appartments. There was enough towels, no plates, only two cups. Very dirty, thick dust. Lights needed new bulbs. Was very expensive for what we got. Lounge suit was broken and tv remote all in Chinese
3 out of 5
by Meredith

Quick stop in christchurch

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Basic but clean comfortable and affordable. Staff helpful with direction for dinner and booked taxi to train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Good location & reasonable price! The room have enough space for our five people. Our room at the upper floor, a bit unconvenience to bring the luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Ricken, Hotel Management
Thank you to stay our motel ,wish you come again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Handy location

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Handy location, spacious and comfortable.
Cons: Brighter light bulbs in ceiling.
Location: Location was just what we wanted - within walking distance of many attractions.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and found it within walking distance of a lot of places we wanted to visit. Unlit was spacious and comfortable. Manager was friendly and helpful. Would recommend it to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Ricken, Hotel Management
Thank you to stay our motel ,wish you come again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Close to CBD. Good size room,clean and comfortable. Excellent parking