Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hostel to live

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Everything is so new in the room. Make you feel comfy and warm. Heating mat and heater are provided. Security is ensured within hostel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from adl

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Lastminute
Absolutley clean! Loved that there were electric blankets on the beds and it was nice and quiet
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Hilde, Hotel Management
Hi Radhika, Thanks so much for your lovely review and 5 star rating, much appreciated. I will pass this on to the team who work extremely hard each day to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. Warm regards, Hilde Dorset House Backpackers
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Overall a nice place to stay. Nice that there was unlimited wifi access, though there was a period of time when the signal wasn't picked up at all and couldn't be used. The staff were friendly, the room was warm and comfortable. I think it was overall a good overnight stay. Unfortunately the luggage storage wasn't available after 6pm, so if we wanted to store our luggage after leaving, we had to make sure we came back to pick it up before 6pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Hi There, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed the free unlimited WiFi and found the room to be comfortable and staff to be friendly - we always try our utmost best! We're sorry to hear you found our closing time of our free luggage storage at 6pm inconvenient. We are always more than happy to leave your bags at reception from 6pm onwards, please feel free to ask next time. The only thing is that we would not be able to guarantee security when leaving your bags unsupervised. In our experience most backpackers prefer a shorter but free luggage storage rather than paid lockers, (which some other hostels offer) but we are always open to feedback! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! Warm regards Hilde Dorset House Backpackers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from District of Columbia, USA

Nice, near to green space and city attractions

Posted Apr 18, 2017
I had a lovely time during my stay here. There was great conversation and a convenient location. This was an ideal place to stay while in Christchurch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location and very friendly staff

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Central location, good amenities like free wifi, laundry service and the most helpful and nicest receptionists (all of them) that rivals 5 * hotels.
Cons: Better noise control at night (young guests not considerate), change bedsheets daily not 4 days for same guest and some toilets/sinks could be cleaner
Location: Hagley Park, museum, city centre
As the name suggested, it is for backpackers travelling in NZ. For that purpose it is very good in terms of amenities eg free car park, central location, aids in daily activities, laundry, call cards and complementary dvds. The reception staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. If you require a budget accommodation and willing to share a room with multiple occupants like 4-6 then this should be ok. I did it for the experience and happy that I had tried it once.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly atmosphere in a well-equipped kitchen

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly atmosphere, pretty garden. Free parking at the back and on the street overnight (before a certain time). They had recycling - great!
Stayed one night. Was a comfortable stay at the end of the corridor next to a shared bathroom. The other bathrooms on the same floor provided hot showers and had mixed taps. Kitchen was extremely well-equipped with salt/pepper, spices etc, and was pleasant (brightly lit). Facilities were clean. Accessed the front door with a code that was provided (easy to use).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Great location

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Very central location and friendly staff- so helpful with everything. Room had a tv too and the room was comfy with good facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Nice place close to centre of Christchurch

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The kitchen was well appointed to handle the number of guests
Cons: the heating of the facility could be updated
This hostel had nice friendly and knowledgeable staff that were helpful to tourists.