Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Unique and personalised service

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Staff are very good
Hotel staff were amazing with a very hospitality minded vibe. Boutique style and comfortable. This hotel earns top marks for Christchurch city visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

lovely bespoke service

Posted Apr 28, 2017
a very personal and tailored hospitality provider. from check in to checkout all staff were lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

A Night in Christchurch

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Beautiful boutique hotel. From the moment you get out of the cab the staff is exceptional. The room was great breakfast was delicious and I can't recommend the hotel highly enough!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location,

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Wotif
Older hotel but comfortable. Rooms well appointed and I had lovely garden view on 3rd floor. Very quiet hotel with very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Julie

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great location across from the park and just a street away from the tram if interested in doing the tourist trip. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms well designed and modern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Perfect location and amazing staff

Posted Mar 27, 2017
This is a lovely property, hospitality as it is supposed to be. They even changed my room to one with a bath when I just commented that I was disappointed it didn't have one. Not cheap, but Christchurch accommodation is at a premium. The George is clearly run by experts at making their guests stay relaxing and enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Gary

Great Hotel for Christchurch

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very nice and our room was light and cheery with a nice view of trees
5 out of 5
by Christina y

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, California

Our stay at the George was a lovely oasis.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Possibly the sink which tended to overflow onto the floor. Also the coffee for the plunger maker could be a lot stronger. These are little things.
Location: the Curator's Garden for lunch and the on and off bus to see Christchurch.
When we arrived we were welcomed warmly and taken to a lovely room. The staff could not have been more helpful and after viewing the sad destruction of Christ Church it was a comforting place to retreat to. Thank you for treating us so well. Lynda and Pat Whaley
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff exceptional

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Staff, facilities, restaurant
Cons: Found it hard to fault
Location: Location is close to Botanical Gardens and Museum, both of which I thoroughly enjoyed a visit to. It was good to be out of CBD due to road works.
Chose this hotel as it is low rise and I felt more comfortable with this. Quality property with all the bells and whistles. Had a very nice dinner and restaurant used by locals which is always a good sign. Property very tastefully decorated and facilities in room are of a very high standard, but it was the friendly and professional staff that made the stay most enjoyable.