Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch New Zealand

Right on the outskirts of the city

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: Location , staff, facilities. Restaurant. Gym. Wi fi.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right in the edge of the city and parks
Very easy to book in. Car park very large. Types of rooms are ther to suit all. Very basic but very well maintained and used. Right next to the Botanical Gardens
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Quiet & close to central city

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Cons: Update bathrooms- they were very clean but dated.
Friendly staff, facilities clean & close to most tourist attractions and public transport. Great value. We are an older couple but felt completely at home. Kitchen facilities excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Close to hospital to see father easyto walk to thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Good location, serviced rooms, friendly staff, some of the shared bathrooms are brand new. Maybe slightly pricey for a private room as they're pretty simple/dated but overall quite happy with the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

centrally located with good facilities

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Pros: see above
Cons: Not much that I can think of
Location: See above
Easy to find, opposite beautiful botanic gardens. Staff very friendly; we were upgraded to a lovely suite with all amenities. Great cafe next door (accessed from YMCA lobby), taxis ordered by staff were at the door in minutes. Rooms very clean, beds very comfortable. Our first accommodation was at the side of the building and was very quiet,on our return stay the room faced the main road and was a bit noisier. A 10 - 15 minute walk brought us to restaurants and bars; we had a lovely meal and drink at The Old Government Building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good option

Posted Jan 27, 2018
The price was awesome and the best thing was that our dance camp was right in the same building, so we didn't have to travel anywhere. The only thing would be cool to change is to put the kitchen on every floor. 1 kitchen for the whole YMCA is not serious. People are gross and don't even do the dishes after themselves and it's totally crazy when dinner time. The good thing that really surprised us was showers. Most of them are new and very nice to use. Will stay again, good luck.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Nice, comfortable hostel in a good location.........................................................................................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Nice hostel next to a splendid botanical garden

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: It's good relative to the price I pay.
Cons: Free wifi
Location: It is a 15-min walk from the bus exchange, but next to a beautiful botanical garden.
My standard single room is spacious of its kind. It is clean and looks new. Once I get used to the sound of boisterous dorm guests in that quarter, everything feels OK. Shared bathrooms are plenty and kept clean. Although I don't cook, I've noticed three stoves and free stuff in the kitchen. The only negative is paid wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas USA

Excellent location.in the city.

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: Walking distance to all the sightseeing places.
Cons: Shower facilities needs to be monitored and drains unclogged.
The complain we have is the shower drains were stopped up. Had to shower in a pool of water.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noise a problem

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Good facilities, friendly staff.
Cons: Sound proofing???
Noise during the small hours was a problem. From other guests and cleaning operations. The site of the room - close to the kitchen and communal lounge was also an issue. Also a busy time of the year.