Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greymouth

Friendly and handy

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: Neighbourhood takeaway and dairy, mall.
We had a very comfortable stay after along drive. The owner directed us to a nearby takeaway and checked that we got there and back again. A very clean and friendly oasis!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time in leaving us a perfect review! We're thrilled you enjoyed our prime location to the mall and restaurants. We appreciate your comments toward our friendly staff and our clean and comfortable rooms. Thank you Thank you once again for your review we, look forward to seeing you next time you're in Christchurch.
4 out of 5
by Mark

Nice apartment

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
stayed with another couple, plenty of room, former apartment/house for previous owner. Requires a little updating... but otherwise clean and fresh
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
,Thank you so much for your time in leaving us such a great review, your feedback is important to us and has been passed on. It was great to have you stay with us and hope to welcome you back next time you are in Christchurch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Wotif
Very comfortable hotel and the owners are super friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Bob, Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time in leaving us a great review! We're excited to hear that you found our staff very helpful, with in our clean and tidy rooms as well as our excellent service. We're delighted to hear about your enjoyable experience during your stay, thank you again for leaving your feedback. We hope to have you stay with us again next time you're visiting Christchurch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Wotif
Great location, friendly staff and very clean. Would highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Manger, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time in leaving us a great review! We're excited to hear that you found our staff very helpful, with in our clean and tidy rooms as well as our excellent service. We're delighted to hear about your enjoyable experience during your stay, thank you again for leaving your feedback. We hope to have you stay with us again next time you're visiting Christchurch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taupo, New Zealand

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Friendly staff who provided a car seat when we realized we'd left ours behind. They had upgraded our room and moved all the minibar items up high and out of sight because they knew we had our kids with us. We were not disturbed by staff at any time, and their cleaners did a great job. An an enjoyable week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by welcome@clydemotel.co.nz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time in leaving us a great review! We're excited to hear that you found our staff very helpful, with in our clean and tidy rooms as well as our excellent service. we go out of our way to assist guest. We're delighted to hear about your enjoyable experience during your stay, thank you again for leaving your feedback. We hope to have you stay with us again next time you're visiting Christchurch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Excellent comfy stay. Very nice and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the comprehensive review of our Motel and your travels throughout New Zealand. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you found our location convenient. We agree that our rooms are generous in size and offer great all-round value. Many of our regular guests also appreciate our fast, free WiFi and kitchenette facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of our Motel We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you found our location convenient. We agree that our rooms are generous in size and offer great all-round value. Many of our regular guests also appreciate our fast, free WiFi and kitchenette facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Great value for money and close to Uni

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Wotif
Friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, good heating. Short walk to University. Great value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Bob, Hotel Management
Dear Matt, thanks so much for taking some time out to post a review and to award us full marks! It's wonderful to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the service received from the team. We are very fortunate to have great staff with us who love what they do and they gain great satisfaction out of reading that they have had a positive impact upon your stay. We hope to see you next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Very nice hotel with friendly a management team

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: Everything, but mostly the very friendly management team
The hotel is very comfortable and cozy and the management team is outstanding! Although we arrived past midnight our rooms were waiting for us with coffee, tea, milk and cookies
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: as above
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: Westfield Riccarton is a short drive down the road. There are plenty of eateries all around the area within a short walk.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They had plenty of knowledge about the whole of New Zealand, from places to go and check-out/explore/experience for the day, to other places with great accommodation around the country. The room was spacious, neat, tidy and very clean. The unlimited use of free wifi was definitely appreciated. Most places in NZ will only give you 100Mb for your stay, or charge you upwards of $10 for just 10 minutes use. So this was a bonus. It's close to plenty of shops and is in a beautiful part of the city. It is easy access by car, and you will be able to park your car securely on the premises. I was there during the 5.7 earthquake and the building held up really well. Nothing was damaged. It's a safe place to stay.