Ratings based on 571 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Close to airport

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Very clean hotel excellent value direct route to airport
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The hotel is just across from Hagley Park. It is very easy to get in and out by car. Plenty of parking. The room ( 252)we had had been refurbished in recent times. It was very quiet with a view of the gardens. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Lovely relaxing setting

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: location and the garden setting.
Location: Good restaurants nearby in Riccarton Road. Hagley park very close.
Nice and clean, great setting to relax. Ideal location for holiday or working. Plenty of parking space available free of charge. Internet can be slow but most likely due to the current rebuild of the city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Happy

Posted Jul 3, 2016
We had no problems. Staff very good. Excellent food
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Chad from Bend

Great grounds

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful gardens and helpful staff. Their shuttle service old use some upgrading however.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016 on Wotif
Lovely character hotel. The refurbishment that is currently going on did not interfere with our stay. The room smelled a little of paint, but was otherwise comfortable. We enjoyed the restaurant and the beautiful gardens.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Plymouth

Good quiet place

Posted May 23, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Almost everything except the temperature when going from one place to the other.
Cons: The gym was not available
Clean rooms, very pleasant personnel to deal with, very helpful; restaurant has good food although a bit lacking in variety for longer stays. Heating the corridors would be a good improvement.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geraldine NZ

Long overdue refurbishment is well under way

Posted May 22, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: new rooms
Cons: Had to phone housekeeping to come back and clean bathroom properly not very nice to check in and see that the toilet had not been cleaned!!!!!
Stayed in a modernised room and was very pleased, one of the best hotel showers I have ever had, very happy with the new look and feel of this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very handy to city centre

Posted May 16, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The location, the style of the hotel, it's not a big modern glass building and has a bit of character
Cons: At the moment just completing the renovations, but these were not an issue for us
Location: The location is fabulous for walking through the park and into the city centre.
Overall, the hotel was very nice. We knew that renovations were going on however when we entered our room the paint fumes were not pleasant. I think it had been very recently painted and not given time to air out. We slept with the windows open that night. Other than that, the room was comfortable, the bed was very comfortable and overall a pleasant experience. The hotel is in an excellent position for us, we like to walk to the city centre and to restaurants etc so an excellent location. The staff were wonderful, the meal at the restaurant was lovely. I would recommend the Chateau to friends and family.