Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Was a nice cheap clean room while exploring Christchurch, only down side was its a bit far away from the city centre and restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mi

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Not safe as rooms are not in secured I premises. Camera operating on the premises are dummy ones. Beds are spongy and couple sleeping on the bed slide off
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by City Central Motel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time reviewing our motel. We are currently updating our facilities. We will keep going to provide better service for all our customers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Nice and convenient for city centre

Posted Dec 20, 2016
situated conveniently on the corner of two main roads, although traffic noise was not obtrusive. Nearest supermarket was 1km away
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by City Central Motel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time reviewing our motel. We are currently updating our facilities. We will keep going to provide better service for all our customers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that central

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Not much
Cons: A good cleaning in the bathroom.
Location: There was not much around this hotel within a short walking distance except a drive thru.
The room lacked personal care and attention. The shower stall had not been properly cleaned. The room was sparse. The one entire wall was glass and that included the sliding door. When you entered or exited you had to slide the entire glass wall. The glass wall looked into the parking lot and parked cars within a few feet of the room. When the sun came around in the afternoon it was a boiler. It appeared the glass wall door had attempted to be cleaned however it was left very dirty as if the cleaning cloth to clean the floor had been used.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by City Central Motel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time reviewing our motel. We are currently updating our facilities. We will keep going to provide better service for all our customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coromandel

Close to town.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Centrally situated and clean.
Location: Walked to town,buses and Cardboard Cathedral. Christchurch is so flat you can walk anywhere really.
Clean motel,close to city and bus terminal. Staff were helpful . Beds comfortable. Spacious rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taoyuan Taiwan

Christchurch hotel Stay

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Cons: Wifi needs major improvement
Beds were very soft and the wifi was almost non existent. Hotel claimed to be close to city center which in reality it was several blocks away. There are very few eating establishments close by and it is not close to public transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Great location, large room.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Great location, walkable
Great location, walkable, large room with amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Happy with our one night stay

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Wotif
A "high 3" rating - it was good without having a wow factor, and price-wise it was probably fair enough but not a bargain. Location is fairly central - was happy to walk here from the central bus interchange. Seemed that most Sky TV channels were available - great. Bathroom OK, facecloth provided but no hand towel. No extractor fan from memory. Compact but good kitchenette (NB. no hotplates, but microwave/toaster/jug/fridge). Crockery/glasses fairly minimal but enough to get by on, e.g. 1 wine glass and 2 other glasses. Main room was a good size and included two seater sofa as well as another small table and a couple of chairs. Bed and bedding were OK, comfy enough without being amazing. Seemed to be pretty clean and well maintained. Checkout is a very strict 10am but the benefit is that people can check in from 1pm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Room floor dirty. It has a bathroom/shower combo and that makes the bathroom floor wet all the time. Bed is uncomfortable and has one pillow that is super high and hard. Cancelled my reservation for my return trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oamaru, N.Z.

Great central location, clean and comfortable unit

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: It was close to the venue I was studying at so was able to walk in 10 minutes. Traffic noise was less than I expected. I appreciated being able to leave car at the motel on my last day of study even though book out at 10am. Plenty of parking for the occupants as several free at all times. Spacious unit. Great information booklet on nearby and Christchurch restaurants. Great mini map of the area available at reception. Friendly helpful motel attendant at reception.
Cons: Milk and lemonade left in fridge from previous occupants. Soap holder in shower fell off when I went to put my soap on it. I prefer to use my own even though they do provide.
Location: Location was great close to Ara Polytechnic where my course was held. Close to restaurants and shopping although I did not have time to go shopping.