Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, New Zealand

Friendly and comfortable B & B

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: My very helpful and friendly host Steve, the comfortable room and the excellent shower.
Cons: Comfortable and pleasant as it is.
Location: Located on quiet street but only a block from Colombo Street, Christchurch's major street, with ready bus and car access to all parts of the city.
Designer Cottage is a friendly, comfortable and well located B & B on a quiet street. The bedroom was roomy and pleasant with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was small but functioned well and had an excellent shower. I left behind the charger for my laptop and Steve, my friendly and very helpful host, arranged to courier it to my home address by the next day. I was very grateful!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Da wir ein Kind haben wollte uns die Unterkunft nicht aufnehmen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan, USA

Great location Convenient

Posted Apr 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at this B&B. The hosts, Chet and Steve, are warm, friendly, kind, helpful. The room was clean and cozy - fresh linens and full clean-up daily. Location is halfway between Christchurch and Cashmere. Breakfasts were nicely prepared and ample.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami beach

You'll feel cherished at this B&b!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Location: walking distance of downtown. The Botanic Gardens are great, but see the quake stuff, especially Quake City and Cardboard Cathedral.
Review designer cottage What stood out the most for us in this stylish, low-key, well-located b&b was the personal knowledge of Christchurch that the owner, Chet, took pleasure in conveying to his guests. Shortly after arrival, he sat us down in the lovely separate breakfast building and gave us a copy of a map on which he had drawn up numerous recommendations for eating and shopping all the way from the b&b into downtown. He described each one, noting any tricky things about finding it or about hours. He asked what we were interested in seeing and made suggestions on the best ways to go about It, and added suggestions of his own. The city had been devastated by two earthquakes in 2010 and 2011 and he gave us a chance to get some questions answered about that. It was the single best "routine" service we have ever received from anyone running a guest accommodation. The accommodation itself is interesting; it's made up of several small cottages around basically a central courtyard. Chet, if I'm not mistaken, is from Malaysia tho he has been in Christchurch for 20 years, and he is a landscape designer. The whole property reflects a simple, serene, Asian-influenced sense of style that we loved, from the furnishings to the fruit trees (we ate sweet pears from his trees; we also met the urban chickens). We had a lovely studio unit with a tiny bathroom and great water pressure. Breakfast is served with guests coming and going from a table laden with fruit and other continental break
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schweiz

Freundliches B&B in Stadtnähe

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Frühstück
Wir wurden freundlich empfangen und es wurde gleich ein Getränk offeriert. Das Zimmer war gepflegt. Am besten hat uns das Frühstück im umgebauten Gartenhaus gefallen. Eine gute Gelegenheit um sich mit anderen Reisenden auszutauschen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wellington, new zealand

Lovely cottage, lovely Hosts

Posted Mar 30, 2015
We had a warm welcome and spent a weekend in Chch. Breakfeast was deliscious and more than I expected. Would recommend it and go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice B&B with excellent service from staff.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Great and excellent service from staff. Good rate and not too far from city (there are buses to get there in less than 10 minutes)
Location: Location is about 2 KM from city center. It will take around 30 minutes to walk there. You can take local buses to get there.
Excellent staff providing good service. Good continental breakfast. A little far from city center but there are buses to get there. Quiet neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by WAI FUNG

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Something out of the ordinary

Posted Mar 19, 2015
If your want something other than the bland motel room. A place with character and a host who goes out of his way to give personal service. Great conversation with him and the other guests over a super continental breakfast. At the same time you will be doing your part in helping to maintain some of the older properties in Christchurch. Then this is the type of property for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pablo from Stockholm

We'll be back.

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
We truly had a great stay, so friendly and helpful staff. Wish would have stayed longer. Highly recommended.