Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old and run down

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Hotel is old and outdated. Everything about the room was disappointing. Carpets, bath, shower, furniture everything is old. Very disappointed for the $$$ they charge for this place. Shame on Expedia and econolodge for now peddling such crap on unsuspecting tourists.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear guest(s), We are sincerely apology for your experience. We wish you would have raised the matter right at the arrival time so that we could have chance to remedy the experience to comfort your stay. We value your rest hence we ensure the units are always quiet and clean with comfy beds and functional equipment. Your feedback is valuable information for us to improve the service. We hope that our upcoming changes will result a happy experience in your next stay with us. Regards, GM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Retro but comfortable!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Ease of use, comfort and location.
Location: Handy for Horncastle Arena and getting to the city. Exactly what we needed.
Top marks for cleanliness and functionality. Not flashy, and a gentle reminder of yesteryear in the fixtures and fittings, but warm and comfortable and everything worked. Would go again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A tired looking unit, but very very comfortable

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Close to many shops, supermarket. About 15 minutes to Air port.
Convenient, comfortable, easy to use little kitchenette. Warm and cosy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Very dated, double bed uncomfortable when two people share it, adequate accommodation, could really use a face-lift to modernise. On the plus side the wifi is unlimited.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean and great location for AMI Stadium

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Was a little dated but very well presented. Only 8 minutes walk to the stadium for the Rugby!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Horsham Australia

Nice motel in convenient location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, good location, spacious unit
Cons: Perhaps leave the room windows open when not attended to allow fresh air in
Location: Location was convenient for my activities
The motel was spacious and clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. The room did smell a bit musty for the initial day but was ok after that. The toilet cistern leaked a little but was promptly attended to. Overall it was quite a good place to stay and I would stay there again
5 out of 5
by ROBIN from Lower Hutt

Handy & affordable

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
have stayed there before and the hosts are great, only dissapointment was noisy neighbours at night time - couldnt get to sleep
3 out of 5
by Carol from Te Awamutu

Pluses and minuses

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
We were disappointed. It was further from the Train station than anticipated so we had to use a taxi. No restaurants within in 10 minutes walking distance and when we wanted a cooked breakfast we were told they weren't doing them at all because owner was selling the business the following Monday. The motel was old but the manager was very pleasant and the accommodation was very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our motel. We belief you should not experience any difference in service regardless the transition of the motel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Jimmy Hua General Manager Econo Lodge Canterbury Court ++64 3 338 8351
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Otago

Nice Hotel close to Horncastle arena

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Nice clean hotel handy to food and bars
Location: Horncastle arena a short walk nice bars and food near by
Ideal if you are going to a show at the Horncastle arena
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Excellent price

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Wotif
The staff member , Tamara, was professional, kind, very friendly and genuinely lovely person to deal with. She is an excellent front of house staff member - thank you.