Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Limited Wi Fi

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Good hotel but we were surprised that a hotel of this standard would have limited free WiFi access!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were very happy. Definitely great value for $

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Very good hotel. Great facilities, even has a long pool. We were very happy with the staff Great Value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Aus

A nice heritage hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff were very helpful. Central location to Christchurch's CBD facilities and landmarks.
Cons: Get into the 21st Century, by: 1. Install air conditioning to the rooms. 2. Not restricting the guests Wi-Fi access - need to input "code" frequently.
Location: Great location to City's trams route. Walking distance to CBD shops, City's Tourist Info Centre i-Site, Museum, Art Gallery, Casino, Botanic Garden.
Pleasant rooms with its great in-house bar/restaurant. The staff at all levels were helpful and polite. Close to everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, but....

Posted Dec 26, 2016
We wanted a nice place to stay in Christchurch while catching up with family. Noticed the this one had a VIP addition from Expedia but weren't VIP. Room was above Bar - very noisy and bed had serious roll together. End of first of two nights, room service left all the clean product throughout room. And you paid for parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blue Mountains

Great Staff

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The hotel staff could not have been better. I came down with a migraine and Jeanette drove my husband & I to the 24 hour medical centre. Thank you very much. You were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Amazing value

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Older hotel full of grandeur. Our suite had 2 levels to it with a kitchen and washing machine/ tumble dryer. Christchurch is a very safe feeling city and everything is in walkable distance. Only issue was the safe didn't work but we felt so safe it wasn't an issue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

City Central

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Loved every minute.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: In the centre of the city, walking distance to restaurants, shops and the arts.
The hotel is well appointed in the centre of the city. The ambience of the hotel is of yesteryear, keeping all the features of the original government building which have been repurposed. The suites are generous and have everything you need during your stay. The staff a friendly, knowledgeable and nothing is ever too much trouble. It has a fabulous bar at the entrance for a cocktails or a night cap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby UK

Fabulous stsy

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Spacious rooms that are very clean and comfortable. Perfect location and great bar! Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great staff, comfortable room

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The room was really large and comfortable, great bedding, very clean.
Location: Close to the new regent street and the first tram stop, as well as some great cafe's and bars
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and always available. The room was amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic period building

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Staircase. bathtub, manuka toiletries
Cons: Have to pay for parking.
Location: The city centre is pretty much destroyed with little done since the quake. The few restaurant offerings are over priced. Deralict buildings all around
Great Building with incredible stair case kept to its original grandeur. Large and comfortable rooms- although the bed very soft for our liking. Good kitchen, well stocked with glass and cook ware. Original 5 meter ceiling height rooms have been converted to 2 levels with bedrooms on top, a kind of mezzanine arrangement where window shutters in the bedroom looked down into the lounge area.The bedrooms did get uncomfortably hot from the heat below.