Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Lovely hotel overlooking park.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, nice outlook, great food and value for money.
Cons: ?
Location: Handy to park, hospital, shopping and food.
Enjoyed our stay in a very comfortable room with a lovely view of park. Great and handy to hospital and shopping mall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunedin NZ

Posted Sep 13, 2016
I Give This Hotel 11 out of 10 Couldnt find fault
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunedin N Z

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Everything including price
Cons: Position ànd size of the tv
Location: Lots of daffodils to look at
Warm quiet room Comfy bed Massive roadworks outside hotel but didn't affect us
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Convenient location. Clean, spacious room, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantasic experence

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Had the most amazing customer service while booking ur room (via phone) Room was lovely and clean and the heat pump was on ready for our late arrival on a cold winters night. Would highly recommend recommend Thankyou
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, AUS

Good location to the City, park and restaurants

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Room and staff are excellent.
Cons: Open the restaurant and bar as soon as possible!
Location: You can walk across the park to most of CHC's activities and restaurants, very pleasant.
The room I had was very big and fortunately at the rear of the hotel, which I will come to. Room facilities are very good and for the price, above average. No complaints at all. Now to my point about being at the rear... The hotel is at a reasonably major intersection which is currently a roundabout. It is being converted to traffic lights and the work is done at night. There was no mention of this on their website when doing the booking. To be frank the noise is pretty low so no issues and the intersection whilst busy isn't an issue either. I am guessing the work should be complete in a few weeks so for travellers I wouldn't be put off by this but maybe ask for a rear room if you're a light sleeper. One other thing is the restaurant/bar isn't open for some reason - that woudlhave been handy for my group but again apparently it will be back on line shortly. None of the above really affected a good stay and the staff couldn't do enough for us, I will be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A good sized clean room.

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Good location
Cons: View of car park
Location: Handy to Hagley Park sporting events
Very obliging staff, the view from my room was of the car park which was not flash. Considering I got the room on a Wotif special, I felt this probably determined the room I got.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

No Improvement

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Cons: Fix the heat pumps, everyone complains
Location: Hagley Park
Stayed here a couple of years ago and was attracted by the low super cheap rate, I should have known better. Paid & checked in then step in the lift where it says "Sorry road works will be taking place outside the hotel AT NIGHT for the next weeks" I find it appalling that no mention of this was taken through the booking process or checking in, not good enough. When in the room as noted in my previous review and by many others, the heat-pump wall mounted controls do not work and the fan has one speed, 737 on take off, even the on off switch doesn't work, I stood on a chair and switched the power off so I could sleep. I dont think I'll be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location!

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Lastminute
Location was perfect for us with an incredible view of the park lands in the early morning especially! out of their control was the roadworks directly out front which took place during the night, so probably would have been nice to have been told (we'd booked the day before and they were major ongoing roadworks!), however they did give us a free upgrade without our request so that was kind of them and they were indeed apologetic! The room and venue was very clean and comfortable and also had its own car park! Highly recommend. We would return.