Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Big and comfortable room

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Roomy and comfortable
Cons: The room lights needs to be reviewed and more lights are needed, the writing table should be re-located. Get a more comfortable & ergonomic chair
Location: Its close to town centre and some malls.
The room was large and comfortable with lots of room for everything. The restaurant has a wonderful menu and very helpful staff although the prices are a little on the higher side.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Don't stay if You have young children.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We stayed in a family room on the 4th floor. The windows open so far ou, an adult could fall out let alone a young child. And the hotel put a chair next to the window just to make it easier for a child to fall out... the hotel think this is fine and we're not bothered. A serious safety issue, that the hotel dont care about... beware parents ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne australia

Comfortable 1 night stay

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Needed a room for one night. Heaps of off street parking and lots of restaurants in walking distance. Also shopping centre not too far away so was able to buy milk and bread. Staff very attentive. Rooms are comfortable and excellent free wi fi. Not too far from city and airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good City Hotel, reasonably priced

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Hotel is close to the Victoria Street Clock Tower. There are a few restaurants and fast food chain within 3-4km. We always ask for quiet rooms when travelling so we can have good rests and be well prepared for the road the following day. We had a room facing the side street, which I believe normally quiet. However, this hotel does cater for tourist groups and during our stay, there were multiple buses that were parked at the back and also on the side street. The buses were a bit noisy. Otherwise, very little traffic noise was heard. The décor of the room is fairly modern. Attempts were also made to modernize the bathroom. However, old traces remain on the bath tub and the tiles. The shower is over the bath, which is a low one and easy to step in/out. Perhaps due to the age of the building, it is extremely noisy when the water tabs are turned on. You can hear your next door neighbours taps and obviously your own making loud noises. The room is clean and the beds comfortable. There is no electric blanket but a wonderful air-conditioning unit which doesn’t make any noise but kept the room warm. Staff is very nice, as in all the hotels/motels that we have stayed in New Zealand. This is one of the rare hotels that provides free unlimited Wi-fi.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Good stay. Restaurant means breakfast and dinner available. Great bed to sleep in. Was close to airport via car. Straight forward check in with wake up call. Overall clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay!

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic place to stay, very hospitable staff who are fantastic to deal with. I would definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Cons: Struggled to find a park. There was a wedding so the restaurant and bar were closed. There were no signs to indicate this.
Location: Good location for what we were doing.
Room was clean and adequate for our short stay. The reason I booked was it had a restaurant and we would not have to look elsewhere for food as we were there for a short time. There was a wedding and the we could not eat in the restaurant or even get a drink at the bar. We therefore had to go elsewhere which took time and was not really part of the plan. Disappointed really.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

great papanui location

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
had a room with 2 queen beds. comfortable but plumbing was noisy between neighbouring rooms. reception staff were helpful giving us umbrellas to use in the rain. ate at chillikiwi Thai takeaway across the road which was good. great location near papanui mall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

We found this hotel very comfortable.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Everything was great.
Cons: Noisy tourists loading a bus outside the window in the early hours of the morning.
Location: Easy to find from the airport. Close to shopping centre and large amount of restaurants available.
This was an excellent place to stay. Easy to get to from the airport. Very friendly staff. Excellent restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels