Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
8% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Basic, adequate for price charged
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

I Should Have Slept In The Car

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: TV and internet were adequate.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Close to th Airport
The office looked like a storage room of junk in disarray. Literary room filled with junk piled high with just enough space for a small desk. The clerk couldn't even find the basket of loose room keys that he had to dig through to find my key. The room had no heat and it was a very cold night. The bed had brown sheets that were several stained. It was so bad I didn't get in the bed, but slept with my clothes on. It was really nasty. The furnishings in the room looked like they had been pulled From a second hand store's dumpster. I should have just slept in the car.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Posted Feb 24, 2017
I'm covered in bug bites from the bedding! All my exposed skin has what appears to be bed bugs bites that are really itchy! The owners are very nice but it's run down, smells and..bugs in the bedding!! So, no.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BOP

No signage, no reception area, poorly kept.

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Wotif
the grounds are unkept, there is no reception, the managers use the shared kitchen for their own food preperarion the kitchen only seats 4 people squashed in. We will never go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Wotif
The rooms smelled awful, the shower was mouldy, and the toilets smelled strongly of urine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Free Wifi. The duty manager was kind enough to let us change to another room.
Cons: Heater that could be switched on and function the whole night in a cold winter.
Location: There are shops and supermarket not too far away.
The room had a bad smell and two of the beds did not look clean, but we were glad to be able to change to another room that was more comfortable, cleaner and less smelly. The kitchen looked messy and dirty and the fridge was worse, so we did not use it. The bathrooms were alright, and there were cats who was trying to enter our room all the time. Price was the reason we booked to stay here and the overall experience was alright but sub-par.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel - they're really stretching the definition

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Perhaps demolition.
Location: There is a Hotel nearby called the Racecourse Hotel, in fact my cab dropped me there from the airport. Maybe se if they have space?
This hotel was so awful that I really don't know where to start. Was it the cats prowling around the car park, was it the manager who checked me in at the reception/bedroom, was it the stained sheets or was it the main building that was literally condemned? I can't say I enjoyed this stay, the whole thing was off from start to finish. Never again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Not worth it. Avoid at all costs.

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: N/A
Cons: Almost everything
We were back packing through New Zealand staying at hostels around the South Island. This place was by far the dirtiest, most unsafe place we had booked. We had only booked for 1 night, and when we pulled in to the drive way we immediately regretted choosing this hostel (about 4pm). First impressions were bad - the place is old and has junk/boxes everywhere- even in the rooms. There was no one to greet us at reception, but we did notice a gentleman who had booked a night to stay. While speaking to him we knew we had to get out - He showed us his room and it was terrible. The place had a bad smell to it, and the rooms were full of boxes and junk. He mentioned to us that he was currently looking for somewhere else to stay because he didn't want to spend the night there either. The carpet is dirty and stained, the beds don't look clean. Even at under $70 for a room, we forfeited our booking and left straight away to stay somewhere else. Not recommended at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Excellent hostel and staff room and bedroom was clean close to shops.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Would recommend an inspection of the place

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: There was free WiFi and a full kitchen.
Cons: The sanitation of the room and bathing facilities.
First of all, the price being $70 dollars for two people and ONE bed with no proper bathing facilities was way too pricey. The sheets and duvet had certainly not been cleaned in a while, because they had a quite pungent scent to them that made sleeping very uncomfortable. There was a small wall heater provided, however, it was not enough to provide much warmth for the small, dorm-sized bedroom. The sanitary of the bathing facilities were questionable, as the water did not have a great draining system. Overall, it was just not a comfortable environment, especially for the price that was paid. Would not recommend staying here.