Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
What a sensational hotel. We were warmly welcomed and superbly taken care of by the host, and enjoyed the lovely atmosphere of the rooms. The central location and proximity to the park are second to none.
5 out of 5
by avril

charming B&B

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
awesome breakfast - heated bathroom floor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect guest house

Posted Jan 15, 2017
This is beautifully maintained classic guest house in central Christchurch. Everything is within walking distance. The setting is quiet and there's a beautiful garden to enjoy too. The house and our room were very comfortable. You feel like you are in a beautiful historic Christchurch house but it's so well maintained you won't miss any modern comforts. We felt really at home here. It was almost like staying with family. Pete has lots of lovely personal touches up his sleeve, including a superb fresh breakfast in a setting that encourages interaction with other guests. I genuinely felt like I was on a family weekend while my uncle was making me breakfast. Thoroughly recommended if you're staying in Christchurch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Highly Recommended

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location, rooms, hosts, breakfast.
Cons: better pillows
Well appointed, well located, nice feel, very friendly hosts and a great breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Serenity amongst the rebuild

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, just minutes from the serenity of the botanic gardens. With the rebuilding of Christchurch all around the Classic Villa helped you forget about this and just relax in style. Breakfast covered a range of tastes... early morning Bloody Mary if you so wish. Friendly staff and spacious rooms. Great place to stay in Central Christchurch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Cozy hotel within walking distance

Posted Aug 6, 2016
If your going to Christchurch, stay here. The rooms are spacious with updated bathrooms. It's within walking distance of good restaurants and great shopping. All of the tour bus stops are 1/2 a block away next to the Canterbury Museum and Botanical Gardens.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Wotif
A lovely room in a lovely part if the city. I'd definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Nice colourful B&B

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, comfortable and well presented.
Cons: Breakfast time. Why do so many B&B's get this wrong? You are sat around a big table with the other guests in silence...Awkward.
Location: Christchurch is under re-construction after the tragic earthquake in 2011. Be prepared. Akaroa and Hamner Springs are nearby. Astro Bar is good.
My wife and I stayed at the Classic Villa after driving up from Queenstown in April 2016. Overall the place is nice, with clean, well presented rooms. The owners are very pleasant people and we were very comfortable. The only negative I would have to say, and this is an unfair one, is Christchurch itself. We completely forgot about the tragic earthquake in 2011, and in hindsight should not have booked to stay for 4 nights - not because of the B&B, but because of the lack of things to do or see around Christchurch. I really hope that the city bounces back from this terrible event, and I am sure that there will be plenty to see and do once this has been accomplished, but for now I would recommend visiting nearby Akaroa or Hamner Springs. Nothing against Christchurch, please go and see the City, but be aware that it is still very much under construction - we felt uncomfortable, and like we shouldn't be there :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Warm, Friendly & Welcoming

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Great location -walking distance to the city centre. Excellent buffet breakfast included. A very relaxing place to stay