Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Cozy hotel within walking distance

Posted Aug 6, 2016
If your going to Christchurch, stay here. The rooms are spacious with updated bathrooms. It's within walking distance of good restaurants and great shopping. All of the tour bus stops are 1/2 a block away next to the Canterbury Museum and Botanical Gardens.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Nice colourful B&B

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, comfortable and well presented.
Cons: Breakfast time. Why do so many B&B's get this wrong? You are sat around a big table with the other guests in silence...Awkward.
Location: Christchurch is under re-construction after the tragic earthquake in 2011. Be prepared. Akaroa and Hamner Springs are nearby. Astro Bar is good.
My wife and I stayed at the Classic Villa after driving up from Queenstown in April 2016. Overall the place is nice, with clean, well presented rooms. The owners are very pleasant people and we were very comfortable. The only negative I would have to say, and this is an unfair one, is Christchurch itself. We completely forgot about the tragic earthquake in 2011, and in hindsight should not have booked to stay for 4 nights - not because of the B&B, but because of the lack of things to do or see around Christchurch. I really hope that the city bounces back from this terrible event, and I am sure that there will be plenty to see and do once this has been accomplished, but for now I would recommend visiting nearby Akaroa or Hamner Springs. Nothing against Christchurch, please go and see the City, but be aware that it is still very much under construction - we felt uncomfortable, and like we shouldn't be there :(
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Warm, Friendly & Welcoming

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Great location -walking distance to the city centre. Excellent buffet breakfast included. A very relaxing place to stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Classic Visit

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Spacious room, comfortable bed, plenty of light, off-street parking, nice assortment of options for included breakfast, convenient to much of downtown
Cons: More counter-space in bathroom for toiletries
Location: Easy walking distance to Botanical Garden, Avon River, museums, restaurants.
Management was very gracious and informative of local activities. Good suggestion for local restaurant and made reservations for us. A quite, relaxing place to stay, at least in summer. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

recommended

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: staff,breakfast, facilities, location
Cons: heater in room noisy
Location: cbd, fiddlesticks restaurant, musem
nice hotel close to town and restaurants. staff aim to please and are very helpful, amazing facilities and lounges
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Fantastic hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The location was superb and there were too many extras to list. I also got a discount in the taxi to the airport, which was part of the service.
Cons: Nothing that I noted.
Location: It is located across the from the art centre and museum. There are multiple restaurants and cafes near by and a place to hire canoes.
The hotel exceeded my expectations and I was so pleased with their friendliness and generosity. You could help yourself from the fridge at any time and to biscuits, coffee and fruit. There was big fireplace in the lounge going 24/7. The room was comfortable and clean and I had everything I could want.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Peter - Your Host, Hotel Management
Hi Gina, many thanks, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Brilliant location, and a wonderful stay

Posted Apr 9, 2015
This hotel has real character, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, breakfast was varied and of excellent quality and the staff were excellent. It's only a 15 minute walk from the Cathedral and there are great restaurants near by, An excellent spot to explore this ever-changing city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Peter - Your Host, Hotel Management
Hi Martin, many thanks, we look forward to welcoming you back again - real soon. Cheers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sonoma, ca

Great location

Posted Mar 6, 2015
This villa is a great stay. The central location of the city center is perfect. Even though Christchurch has undergone a terrible earthquake 4 years ago it's restart is amazing. The villa is located one block from the Botanical Gardens and a trolley that you can get on is across the street from the villa. This takes you on a 50 minute city center tour ($20 each and worth it) it's a hop on hop off trolley. Our room was excellent and Peter upgraded us to a one bedroom suite that overlooked the garden. A wonderful breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room. After we checked out we weren't leaving until 6:00pm and they kept our belongings for us for the day. A must stay place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 神奈川県

サービス

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: 特になし
Cons: 就寝用のうす暗いランプを用意する
Location: ロケーションは非常に良い
オーナーと思われる人物の接客性に欠ける。 フレンドリーに接して欲しい 。 駐車場が狭い。 洗面所が狭く、ものを置く台が狭すぎる。 セーフティの金庫が使いずらい。 一般に良くある金庫と使い勝手が異なる。 宿泊費の割に使い勝手が悪い。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

アクセス抜群、落ち着いた住宅街の中で豪華なひととき。

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: お部屋の雰囲気、設備、サービス。
Cons: 日本人にとっては、「好きに使っていい」と言われるより、「これが使えます、できます」と明確に書いてもらった方が使いやすいかもしれません。
Location: ハグレー公園、パンティング(ゴンドラのようなもの)、仮設大聖堂、ニュージーランド料理店や日本食店、カフェなどの飲食店、震災復興中の事業たち、教会、川、追憶の橋 などなど
市内中心部に位置しているので、観光要所(公園、アクティヴィティ、仮設教会、飲食店)は徒歩圏内にありました。 お散歩でまわることもおすすめです。 地震後に新しく建てられたお店などへは、少し歩くことを覚悟した方がいいかもしれません。 また、ホテル自体については、外観からかわいらしく、ロビーから内装から、細かいところまで豪華な造りで、貴族になった気分です(笑)。ベッドで寝てお部屋をぐるり見渡すと、寝るのがもったいないくらいの眺めです。 車はホテル目の前にすぐ停められ、荷物運びも簡単でした。 飲み物は、いつでも冷蔵庫から好きに出してよいというスタイルで、果物もフリー。廊下にはブランデーもフリーで置かれていました。 廊下には奥様の絵画が飾られ、ちょっとしたギャラリーになっていたので、鑑賞がお好きな方にはおすすめです。 朝食は、ミューズリーやパンが並び、チーズやハム、サーモンのほか、ジャムやはちみつ、バターなど塗るおともが充実していて、全部試してみたくなるくらい楽しめます。 パンの種類もいくつかあり、本格的でした。(お菓子系パンはスーパーのものだったのが少し残念ですが) お野菜、果物が試せるのも嬉しいです。 お宿のご主人と奥様もとっても素敵で気さくな方でした。 アメニティも素敵でしたし、お宿オリジナルのチョコレートが置かれているのも嬉しいサービスです。 オリジナルチョコレート&スリッパは、それぞれ購入も可能だそうです。 お値段は少し高めながら、それを楽しむつもりで、ぎりぎりまで滞在し、味わい尽くしていかれるとよいと思います。