Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: very hand to get hot water
Cons: the room a little bit narrow
Location: very close to park
very nice experiment ,the room to narrow for three people. I feel the bedding not very clean, just personal feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melb

Good location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
It's a good hotel with average room facilities. Staff is very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin

Handy to Everything

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Reasonable price and clean facilities.
Location: Handy to Botanic Gardens, Arts Centre, Art Gallery and hospital.
YMCA is a comfortable place to stay in Central Christchurch, handy to Botanic Gardens, Arts Centre, Art Gallery and hospital. Helpful staff and good facilities made ours a pleasurable stay. Off street parking was a definite bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Late arrival. Room was perfectly adequate for my needs
Cons: Receptionist had to be asked for basic information
Arrived late and everything was OK. I don't need to say any more than that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M.

Great place to stop in overnight

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Needed somewhere to stay overnight while passing through Christchurch, and this place was perfect. The staff were super nice and the rooms were lovely and clean. Our room was on the third floor, so I appreciated that they had a lift. Keys were needed to get into the lift and the stairwell, so I felt very secure and safe. Will definitely stay there again if I'm in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Good stay

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The kitchen was good with complete kitchen utensils and clean. The room and toilet are moderate, good enough for a one night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at city centre

Posted Mar 24, 2017
It's located right in front of the museum and botenic garden. Within walking distance to city. The room is big and clean. The kitchen is small but well equipped. There is a restaurant beside the lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Good location

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Great location in Christchurch, near the botanical gardens and a short walk to the bus station and other amenities. I did find the kitchen area far to small for the needs of people staying. The cooker extractor hoods were disgustingly dirty and so was the inside roof of the microwave. The shower and toilets on the 1st floor had been refurbished to a good standard but sowers and loos on the other floors were again in need of modernisation. I stayed on the 3rd floor my room was basic but comfortable and the cleaning staff were really friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hostel

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Arrived late in the night after a flight and they had booked the wrong room for us. Took a while to sort out with no apology. Couldn't sleep as could hear people talking through our wall at 3am. Only stayed one night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Standard double room...?

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The location makes it easy to navigate around the city.
Cons: Free Wifi..?
Be wary of the bed. One side of the bed has a few busted springs. You will not have a good night sleep. The chair in room was covered in stains..? That should be replaced along with the mattress. The kitchen was filthy. The poor person who has to clean that deserves a pay rise. However, the location is handy and the shower/toilets were fine.