Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waldorf, MD

The first getaway I want to get away from

Posted Aug 26, 2017
From the time we arrived they tried to put us in a basic room when we had paid for Oceanfront, they told us Expedia does that all the time - "tell customers they purchased upgraded rooms, but actually you haven't". We use Expedia often and never had this problem. Breakfast is from 7-10:30, however if they run out of food by 8:00 they are not cooking anymore. There is no room service. The jacuzzi was dirty and not working the entire week we were there. There was no real entertainment. Ther beach was covered with sea moss and stuck horribly. Don't waste your money!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Unpleasant stay

Posted Aug 26, 2017
In my opinion, The hotel should have 2 stars. The floors and counters in the rooms need to be power washed, perhaps. At check in, my room smelled like urine and my phone didn't work for two days (causing great inconvenience). The elevator near the lobby was filthy and had an unpleasant smell. At some meal periods, the servers , who were vey nice, stated that they were out of certain foods such as steak and salad. The insect situation was horrible. I have Over 20 bites and had to go to urgent care and receive antibiotics for one of them. My father is senior and not well. This was an uncomfortable experience for him as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is okay.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Pool and food. Balcony view.
Cons: Cleanliness of room, seafood added to menu, clean up seaweed from beach for customers to enjoy.
Location: Remote location, casino across the road. nothing much else to do.
Hotel staff was very pleasant, accommodating and helpful. One male staff, van driver, stares at ALL the women, stared at my wife, all body parts, which made her very uncomfortable. Room cleanliness is need of improvement. Furniture, cabinets, bathroom tile was stained, floors should be swept and mopped on the regular, somewhat dirty stood out due to the color was all white. Food was very good, i would recommend offering more of a selection and added choices. Was surprise no seafood, shrimp, scallops, lobster, fish,etc.. disappointed. 1 pool for swimming, brochure said 2, still enjoyed. Beach was full of seaweed so could not enjoy. Need to hire more bar staff, only 1 bartender on duty to handle ALL bar guests and table guest drink orders. Waited 40 minutes one time for a drink! Overall, I give the total experience a grade C, for average. Don't think I will return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Steve

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Couldn't use the beach due to see grass and bad smell,very desapointed of the place in general the bar close at 9:00 pm ????nothing to do and little entertainment .had to cancel my vacation because of the beach condition !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for the seaweed issue that has been a problem over many parts of the island. Unfortunately it is beyond our control. We are sorry that we could not meet your vacation expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Not the all inclusive experience you would expect

Posted Jul 17, 2017
I've stayed at several all inclusive resorts but this was the worst. I had to sign for every meal, drinks, and even snacks. Very little variety for food and same choices for breakfast every day. The buffets were never hot...always cold or luke warm. There was only one bar open at any given time with one bartender. The service was horrendous with the exception of a few staff members that were helpful...Rachel the bartender for one was the BEST!!! Destini and Courtney at the front desk staff were nice too. There's not much to do on the island and after 10pm the resort shut downs...no drinks or food available unless you went to the casino. There's a small cafe in the casino and the service was extremely slow...waited over an hour for a burger and fries. The pizza place hours were posted as 5-10pm, however when we tried to get a pizza at 9:07pm we were rudely told that the kitchen shuts down at 9pm sharp and only the bar was open till 10! Unlike other resorts room service was not included in your package. Mini fridge was not stocked with drinks and snacks like other all inclusive resorts. The beach was covered with seaweed and totally not usable, I understand that's nature & do not blame the resort but let's face it one of the main reasons people go to the Virgin Islands is to experience the beautiful beach and water. The resort did not offer any refunds or anything because the beach was totally not usable. However everything else was just below average! Definitely 2 stars!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by guest relations, Hotel Management
Kim thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that the resort did not match up to your vacation expectations. We know the beaches all around the island are suddenly getting hit with this seaweed and we certainly do everything we can to battle mother nature right now. I will pass on all your remarks to the resorts management team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Divi Carna review

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Food was really good, lots of options for each meal. Closeness to the water was great, pool area was a nice place to lounge. Staff were all friendly.
Cons: Bathroom ventilation and evening meals. I have medication I take before meals. So delays with meals made things ackward.
Location: Location, lack of traffic made this hotel a great place to relax. Casino Beijing close by (walking distance).
Visit was nice, arranged transportation was always on time. Breakfast was always good. Lunch buffet was good, with alternative menu option. Dinner for us was on time when we ate indoors(6 pm), was late generally when we at dinner outside, also very windy at times, so food cooked quickly. Staff was always professional and eager to assist, staff made us feel at home. Rooms were clean, and cleaning staff did a good job. Bathrooms needs ventilation, stayed hot, no way to get fresh air into bath. Good visit wecwill return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of Carina Bay, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

decaying resort

Posted May 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff was friendly and views are gorgeous.
Cons: Everything.
Physical plant is in a state of decay. Rain storm caused a leak in the room and all across the outside walkway. Nothing in the room worked - hot water, deadbolt, phone, safe, sliding door. Room was not cleaned 2 days out of 5. Food was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear of these issues and will share them with our resort management team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
The staff was great and friendly. Bar and restaurant service was timely. Rooms where clean but need updates. It was a great trip and the resort was equal to cost of stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your vacation. We hope you will visit again next time you are on St. Croix.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Food left a little to be desired, drinks were great, staff was excellent!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by EC, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing a review of your stay. We hope that you return to have another fun-filled adventure with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017 on Orbitz
The employees were great! The room was nice And the food was amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by EC, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing a review of your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again on another vacation!