Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Grange Park Il.

Very nice close to beach.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: It is situated on the beach.
Cons: The rooms could be better kept.
Location: Everything was within reach that was needed. We had our own transportation. Quite an experience staying on the left side!
Close to beach. Seaweed a problem but taken care of daily if not creates an odor. Few bugs taken care of by the exterminator. Roaches. Was told this condo had been closed up. S Overall the stay was nice.
4 out of 5
by Melissa

Large clean rooms with Wi-Fi, bring provisions

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
The room was open, airy, and had nice air conditioning. Very expansive porch with shutters, and two entrances- one from the living room and one from the master. The seaweed that comes to shore during this season was cleaned promptly every morning. The Front Desk was very nice and I enjoyed speaking with all of them. The pool was clean and always open. The only problem I had was that during half of my stay, I had no running water..and with no notice or advisement from the front desk. So, when I come in off the ocean, I cannot take a bath..or when I wake up, I cannot brush my teeth. HUGE PROBLEM. They could have also called the room- but wait- the room phone was disconnected. They also could have left a notice on the door, knocked and told me, something. That way I would have known to get cleaned up and cooked breakfast at 5AM before the workers came and turned off the water. I am not happy about that. Suggestions to other travelers- If your flight is coming in after 5PM, call or email the front desk and they will leave your keys and welcome packet with the security guard that works when they are closed. He is an employee and is very knowledgeable about the rooms and the area. If you can have dry groceries, toiletries, reef safe sunscreen and water shipped to STX before you get there and held at the post office DO IT. Bottled water is hard to find, and when you can find it, it is 2.00 for a 20 ounce bottle. Bring a underwater camera. They have snorkels in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IOWA

Walk right out to the beach!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Staff. Cleanliness. Beach Access.
Cons: Single person Kayaks available. Not a huge deal but the tandem kayaks are a little heavy.
Location: Breeze's Restaurant is walking distance at a nearby resort pretty decent. Snorkeling right off the beach is enjoyable with some nearby rock piles.
We were in town for a friends wedding this past weekend. I did alot of looking at hotels/condos to rent and decided on Sugar Beach. We could not be happier with the resort and the staff. Everyone was very friendly, informational and helpful. We were able to borrow kayak's and they allowed us to stay in a beachfront walkout (highly recommended). Also we spent time at a few other resorts and the beach at Sugar Beach is the nicest! If I ever return to St. Croix this is the only place I'd book!
3 out of 5
by Gary

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
It was a one night stay. Pleasant condo right on the beach. Condos are older and there is wear. The washera worked as opposed to last weekends one night stayover.
2 out of 5
by Gary

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
The office closed when we arrived at 5. They close at 6. Tried four times to call to say we would be running later than check in time. Left messages to call. When we arrived we walked around to the back of the office pool area and the person to check us in was on the phone with his girlfriend. Finally got his attn. he was short curt and not friendly at all. The condo had roaches. Couldn't pull drapes shut so bright lights came in while trying to sleep. SO HAPPY we only stayed that one night!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
TV and AC not working on arrival. Phone never worked, but internet connect was good so the non-working land line was not a major issue. Overall, the condo unit needed some updates but suited my needs for four days at a reasonable price.
3 out of 5
by carilyn

Good

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoy my stay staff very friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy beach access

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
We were able to open our door and walk out onto the beach. The view was amazing! Our condo needed some upgrades but it was comfortable. The pool was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Orbitz
the toilet chain was broken. but over all it was Ok. Breeze restaurant OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Posted Aug 2, 2016
I recommend sugar beach resort, great staff, right off the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us,