Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Getaway

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Quite
Location: Christiansted was close and lots of shopping and places to eat. Buck Island and snorkeling are a MUST!
Hotel and staff were nice but if you want a swimming beach this is not the place to stay. Views were awesome. A bit expensive to eat on the resort so rent a car so you can find off the path places to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. With regards to your beach experience, we are sorry you did not enjoy the beach. We hope that you come back and visit us to have the opportunity to explore the barrier reefs that surround the property where there is great snorkeling, kayaking and paddle surfing. The rental equipment for those beach activities are at no charge to our guest. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco, TX

Nice Quiet Hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Free rental equipment, size of the rooms, food at the restaurant, friendly staff, location near Christiansted but not too near, quiet surroundings.
Cons: I can't think of anything that could be improved.
Tamarind Reef is a great hotel with lots of amenities. Free snorkel equipment, kayak rental, tiki huts, good reef for snorkeling, nice cool pool. Food at the open air bar and restaurant is excellent for any meal. Staff is quite friendly in all areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Hello Rich, Thank you so much for your great review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback and we are extremely happy you had a wonderful time during your stay at our Resort. Hope that your next stay when visiting St. Croix is with us. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel tucked away on an excellent reef.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: It quiet, clean, and comfortable. The use of the snorkel gear. The iguanas were awesome and so was the reef. The staff was very nice. Huge safe!
Cons: Make the bathrooms bigger with a bigger shower. The furniture could use updating.
Location: The hotel sits on the east end so you have to drive most everywhere. The reef had awesome snorkeling opportunities and the deep end bar was good.
This hotel is in a nice location on the east end of the island. You are 10 minutes from the closest local coffee shop and 15 minutes from downtown Christensted. If you like to snorkel then this is the place for you. There is plenty of aquatic life on the reef and if you are lucky like I was, you will get to swim with a turtle. Make sure that you know that this is a no swim beach because of the reef but as with most of the island, you can visit other hotels such as Cheney Bay with better swim beaches. This is not a 5 star hotel so if that is what you want stay somewhere else. The bathroom is a bit on the small side and the shower is not made for plus size people. The water pressure is very good and can get hot if you are not careful. The beds are comfortable and the A/C will chill you to the bone. The view is spectacular if you are lucky enough to not have trees blocking your view. You are within walking distance of the Deep End bar and grill. We found the food to be good and ended up eating there the first two days while we got the lay of the land. We didn't have noisy neighbors which was good and quiet. We didn't swim in the pool but saw others doing so. You have use of paddle boards, kayaks, and snorkel gear as part of your stay so take advantage of these. The laundry facility was located at the marina and was very nice. Buy your washer tokens at the front desk. Overall, I would stay here again and enjoyed the time on the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Bonnie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a thorough review; we really do appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed our wonderful marine life right outside your doorstep! We can appreciate your comments about our furniture needing updating and are working on that during our upcoming slow season. Thank you again and we would love to welcome you back anytime!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus Phoo

Amazing views

Posted May 30, 2017
Amazing views, excellent hotel staff! Bartenders need a course in guest relations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Great view, great hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
I can't say enough about the scenery and staff. The lobby staff were friendly and efficient. The view from the room patio can't be beat. The servers at the bar/restaurant were courteous and on top of things, never letting our Cruzan Confusions go empty without a replacement. Food was good and reasonably priced, especially for being on an island. The only "gripe" really was the people upstairs running a half marathon at 3 am one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Small quiet resort on beach

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Small and quiet. Very close to shoreline. Housekeeping staff did awesome job!
Cons: The pool should be cleaned more frequently. Deep End staff could do a better job informing customers of items not available.
Location: As with everywhere on the island, you need to drive to go anywhere; Tamarind Reef Resort is a short 8-10 min drive from Christiansted.
Tamarind Reef Resort is a nice, quiet, small resort which was why we selected it. If you like crowds and lots of late night activities this is NOT the place for you; the bar/grill closes fairly early (10 - 11 pm) and mostly is just a food destination EXCEPT, for Thursday night Disco bingo! This activity is hilarious and draws a very large crowd from the surrounding area. Attend if you can! Our "deluxe" room was spacious, nicely decorated & clean. All rooms face the ocean (which is very close); upper rooms have a HUGE covered deck. Lower rooms have a nice patio. Housekeeping was awesome! The pool area was adequate; pool could have been a little cleaner . . . tree debris (seeds) and dead bees were numerous. There's a very large beach plus a grassy area with lots of trees perfect picnics; also several tiki huts. THIS IS NOT A SWIMMING BEACH! Very rocky, but the beach next door at the Buccaneer is awesome for swimming. The Deep End Bar & Grill is ok; main complaint is that they were always out of something and our order was usually not quite right. We had to send our prime rib back because the entire plate was cold. Service was good though. NOTE: this resort is not HC accessible; there is no elevator and no bell service. If you are on upper level, be prepared to schlep your bags up the stairs yourself. Maybe they would do it for you? We didn't ask. All in all, I would recommend this resort to others and would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Great water front resort with its own beach, marina, volley ball field, tennis courts, bar and restaurant all on the water. Spacious room with balcony and gorgeous view of the ocean. Friendly staff too.
3 out of 5
by Tamarind Reef Resort from St Croix USVI

Not enthused

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
For the price, I'm disappointed. 3 stars is being kind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Palestine IN

Don't plan on swimming here

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: All of the rooms are facing the ocean, and the waves breaking on the reef all day, and night, were relaxing, and calming. Best nights sleep in years.
Cons: The twice reported, broken sliding closet door in our room was never fixed in the 6 days we were there. Forget breakfast at the restaurant.
Tamarind Reef is a nice little, non-commercial hotel. To call it a resort, is a bit of a stretch. 1st, the beach is right on a reef, so swimming is out. 2nd the waves, while calming, made it virtually impossible to snorkel while we were there. (Maybe we just had a rough ocean week.) You could take a kayak out to Green Kay, where it appeared to be calmer, but it would have been a hard paddle out there. I was surprised you had to drive into Christiansted to get on a charter to take you to Buck Island. A 30 minute ride from Christiansted, but 5 minutes from the marina at the hotel, and no one was advertising charters that we saw. All of the rooms are facing the ocean, and the waves breaking on the reef all day, and night, were relaxing, and calming. Never heard loud partying. however, the twice reported, broken sliding closet door in our room was never fixed in the 6 days we were there. Forget breakfast at the restaurant. 10 tables occupied, 2 waitresses on duty, and 20 minutes later, we still hadn't been waited on. It would have been quicker to drive into town, which we did. The Galleon, the restaurant at the marina, was fast service, with a friendly waiter. Food was good, and came to the table quickly. My only complaint was, the man playing guitar, though an incredible musician, thought he Spinal Tap, and had his amp turned up to 11. Just too loud for conversation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Orbitz
The resort wasn't what we expected at all. It was very small, especially the room, and the bathroom was tiny. The beach area was entirely too small with little access to the water. Also, there was no store anywhere nearby to purchase any amenities, such as water or mosquito spray, which turned out to be a necessity especially at the Deep End bar near sunset. Cleanliness was also an issue in the rooms and at the Deep End. Overall we were very disappointed.