Ratings based on 563 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel, and generally friendly staff.

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Pros: really close to the beach. Great views.
Cons: Communication between staff members. For the price I paid, it should have been a stellar experience, but it was about average for a Holiday Inn.
We checked in a little early, and were given a room, but somehow the staff did not communicate to each other, so we were interrupted by a toilet repair within 20 minutes of arrival, then again by a cleaning staff who let herself into our room 15 minutes later. There was a lovely gift basket on the table, but unfortunately, it was addressed to some other party. When I called the front desk about it, I was told it was an error, and that they would come by to retrieve it. The whole stay, from that point on, just was "off." Breakfast the next morning included confusion by the waitress - apparently she did not realize that we were there for breakfast, so did not direct us to the buffet (!). We were seated and left alone for 15 minutes with no request as to what we wanted to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous grounds with views galore!

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Pros: Relaxing in style and views of Christensted at night, we swam daily and walked the beautiful landscapes.
Cons: Time for food service was slow enough to enjoy a beverage and relax before eating.
Location: Beautiful grounds with history and stunning views, we enjoyed seaplanes going by several times as well as schooner excusions sailing by.
We received an upgrade to a palatial marble bedroom with spa jet tub and glass shower, lovely marble porch near ocean waves lapping and entrance to beautiful beach with 5 star amenities. The main hotel uphill had live music every evening and a lovely soft breeze through the restaurant and bar area. Lots to do, shuttle to Christensted and Buccaneer had lovely meet at sugar mill with entertainment, nature walk of history and flora, as well as many other events and excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ky

Wonderful views, nice rooms and wonderful staff...

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Amazing experience. Staff and accomodatations are excellent. Free morning breakfast buffet was not expected as staff were very welcoming...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tenn.

Clean, close to the beach, pleasant/friendly staff

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Pros: Everything.
Cons: N/A
Location: Snorkeling, walking, downtown shopping with much local history. BUT, beware. The roads on St. Croix are horrible with HUGE POTHOLES EVERYWHERE.
The Buccaneer Resort is wonderful. Meals are great, but pricey, but you get what you pay for. Nightly entertainment was good, along with a personal welcoming tour by the owner, who is a very classy individual. Weather was great, snorkeling was 15 minutes away by taxi, Big Beards, who provided a great adventure. Grounds are spotless, and there are tennis courts and a golf course for those that use them. Nice walking trails, but like anywhere in the Caribbean, no see ums can be a problem, that's why insect repellent is supplied. Great pools and outdoor recreational facilities. Beautiful landscaping and plant material along with local wildlife. Just a great place to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
great people at reception, restaurants, concierge, drivers! amazing beaches, incredible colonial history -- very sad tale of sugar plantations and slavery on a paradisal island. local population is composed of wonderful people from all over -- like the beautiful flowers in the botanical garden. recovery from hurricane maria is ongoing... love st. croix.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Excellent views with great amenities

Posted Dec 23, 2017
The views from this hotel were breathtaking. Waking up in the morning with the ocean right in front of you was amazing. The amount of things to do while at the beach was perfect. The staff were all friendly and seemed like they really wanted you to enjoy your stay. The kids loved all the selections for breakfast too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel and Very Good Staff

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: The stunning view and beach as well as the rooms and staff.
Cons: Better training for a few of the breakfast waitresses.
Location: The hotel is located east of Christiansted. Scuba diving on Buck Island is great - Lots of water activities on the island as well as great golfing.
The Buccaneer is ideally located on a beautiful section of the island, east of Christiansted. The beach is stunningly blue and beautiful - The only other place where I have experienced such stunningly beautiful blue beach water is on Curacao. All around he hotel is very well kept and the staff is generally top-notch. In my experience, the only area for staff improvement is the breakfast waitresses, not all but a few. A few need to be re-trained in the area of pleasantness, courteousness, respectfulness and professionalism. For example, one morning the waitress wearing the turban asked me three times with an unpleasant attitude for my room number even though the breakfast room was not crowded and she didn't seem very busy. Either she has a bad memory (unprofessional) or was being disrespectful. Either way, it was not a "good look" for the restaurant. Overall, however, the experience at the Buccaneer is quite lovely and I would highly recommend the place to anyone who would like an idyllic vacation on St. Croix!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Feasterville, PA

Beautiful resort with lots to do!

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Orbitz
We stayed from Nov 8th-13th, after hurricane Maria. The island did sustain alot of damage, more so on the Frederiksted side. Some businesses in Christiansted are still working on repairs, but there are enough up and running to take a trip into town. The majority of people we came across around the island weren't tourists but were there to aid recovery efforts. The Buccaneer showed no signs of damage other than some tattered palm trees and from what I heard (taxi drivers), is the only resort fully up and running. The property is huge, 340 acres if I remember it right, and they have an equally huge staff working all day to maintain it. Everybody was friendly and helpful. Housekeeping came by at least 3 times a day. Every time we returned to the room we had more towels, ice and water, bed made or turned down every night. We had booked a room in the Great House, but we were upgraded to an Oceanfront room on arrival - nice surprise! We spent the majority of our time on the resort and it was great. Food and drinks are pricey but excellent (Cruzan rum beats Bacardi any day). There are great views from the jogging trail and walking trail by the golf course. Definitely see the concierge about scheduling a snorkel trip to Buck island - so many fish! If you don't like snorkeling, you can stay on the boat for that part, but just go see that water! It is beautiful and crystal clear!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Still under hurricane conditions

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Definitely disappointed and niot worth $400/night when the hotel is still under hurricane conditions. Room was musty, linen on beds were damp and obviously not fully dried before placing them on the bed. And even after requesting new linen - the linen was replaced with another set of damp sheets comforters, etc. There was a dead cockroach and barely any hot water. Good news is the grounds were beautiful, the staff was EXCELLENT and the food was great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing can't say enough about all of the staff as well as the room and amenities . They are so accommodating , never had an issue with anything