Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by John

Good location but exterior being renovated.

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Service was minimalistic but adequate. We struck 2 staff, the first spoke virtually no English, the other wasn't bad. A room door key was provided which was left at the desk upon going out. Entry to the external door & the internal one was by ringing the bell. Small fridge provided but no electric jug to make a cup of tea or coffee. Bed was comfortable. Very noisy outside so external & internal shutters had to be closed to obtain quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Happy times in Madrid's gay quarter.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The main attraction is the ideal location.
Cons: Rooms that come with a fridge should also have tea/coffee making facilities. There is a ceiling fan, but no way to turn it on.
Location: An easy walk, even with wheelie-luggage, from Gran Via or Tribunal Metro stations, and an enormous number of food and drink options within 5-10 mins.
Hostal Greco is in a great location, but hard to find while it's hidden behind scaffolding. It's close to everything, including a couple of Metro lines, and food and bars are on the doorstep. My wife and I were surprised to find it's in the heart of Madrid's gay quarter, but maybe that contributed to the friendlier attitudes, broader language skills and variety of shopping. The hotel room is fairly basic with a Spanish-only TV, excellent bathroom, refrigerator, desk, and a balcony that will be great when the scaffolding is removed. The daily cleaning is very thorough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Not bad but could be better
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable, clean, central location

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very affordable second story walk-up just a block away from Gran Via (Madrid's main shopping street); great base for sight-seeing as quite central, enabling walking and quick access to city's extensive Metro system. Staff quite friendly. Room spartan (single bed, night stand, desk, chair, refrigerator, small screen TV (BBC + CNBC in English; many more channels in Spanish, French, or German); quite adequate bathroom with shower. French doors opened onto a narrow atrium, but view of just other units. Housekeeping quite persistent. I normally decline (by use of door hanger so stating), but after first two days of phone calls, I relented. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to supermarket,shopping mall,restaurant

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Take note that they do not provide laundry service although it was stated in hotel information that they do. No electronic kettle inside the room but could ask hotel people for hot water. I like the fridge inside the room.
4 out of 5
by Yael from Tel Aviv

Good value for money. Best location

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location, the room was very basic but it was ok. Great stuff that helped with everything I needed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Gran Via, close to metro station

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Clean, friendly staff, close to metro station and a wide variety of shops at Gran Via
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well located...very pleasant,,,

Posted Dec 14, 2015
I recommend this place . It is very simple but very clean and very well located.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Portsmouth, UK

Traditional hotel.

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Very central but no English tv channels, they said that they were dealing with this. It didn't really matter to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Central, convenient, lively area

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Reasonable, convenient for the price and location.
Cons: No kettle for hot drinks.
Location: Near metro, shops and centre
6 nights. First visit to Madrid. Convenient for galleries and railway stations. All meals out.