Ratings based on 1,032 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Very clean, friendly staff.
Cons: Small bottles of water in the room were over $5, too high.
Location: Casino nearby
Great place to stay. Staff was very friendly, Valet guy was extremely helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Fantastic elegance in downtown Cincinnati

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Loved the size of the room, the comfort of the bed, the fabulous whirlpool tub,and the incredibly kind staff! The room had a foyer. A FOYER, for heaven's sake. It was a wonderful week and will be my go-to in Cincinnati from now on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Upon arrival I was treated "less than" by the valet probably because of the car and color of my skin. I was treated worse when they realized I didn't need them to valet my car. The woman at the front desk were more than helpful and made sure we were comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

Historic stay!

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: The staff was very pleasant, courteous, and helpful. The room was very elegant and appointed.
Location: The hotel is located next to Fountain Square and numerous restaurants and activities.
From the time we pulled up to the door until the time we departed, the staff, service and faculty was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown activities

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Hall carpet should replaced along with the mattress
Location: Theater, restaurants and sporting events
The hotel was close to the Arnoff theater which was our purpose for visiting Cincinnati. Registering was fast and easy. The room was satisfactory however, the mattress was ready to be replaced. We seemed to keep rolling towards its center and we are not big people. The bathroom had nice amenities and actually out shown the room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

sadly dissappointed

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: The free water in the gym.
Cons: Maintenance, updates, friendliness of staff, bed, pillows.....
Room was very small. I saw the rooms around me the next day since the doors were open with housekeeping and they were much larger and looked so much more comfortable. I had no lush curtains or bedding as described in the room detail. The mattress was terrible as were the pillows. The heater/vent made noises regardless of them trying to fix it (which took a good hour of our evening). The remote for the TV had gross dirt on it. Wood floors were nice but a rug by the bed would have been comfortable. I had one chair and there were 2 of us. All the pictures showed at least 2 comfortable chairs or a couch. I was really surprised they called this a four star hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus ohio

Charming old school elegance,

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: I especially enjoyed the lovely decorations for Christmas. The fireplace in room was a lovely surprise
Cons: It would be helpful if one outlet in room had an adapter for cell phone charging and ability to have coffee would be lovely
Location: Fountain square, Carew tower, easy walking to riverfront. Quick car trip to over the rhine
Wonderful staff we enjoyed our trip thoroughly. Came in from Columbus for a basketball game at UC was able to check in early around 2. Visited fountain square and Carew tower. Got car went to over the Rhine district before game. Enjoyed dinner at morleins on the riverfront after game.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Nice hotel for downtown activities.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: location, old structure
Cons: update furniture, keep the entry from the street cleaner
Location: great location for downtown shopping
Valet and front desk were very welcoming. The interior rooms are not appealing because they look onto the lobby which is dark. The outward facing rooms get good light. The fitness center was nice, and location was great. We always stay at The Cincinnatian despite it needing updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kentucky

Great trendy historic hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2015
I loved staying at this hotel. Our room felt more like a condo room, personally decorated, than a generic cheap decorated hotel room. It wasinan awesome location with walking distance to the Shakespeare and company for a play we were watching. The gym was ok, but the thermostat was set to 80 degrees in there which was insane. Felt like a sauna. Someone was supposed to fix it but I don't think they did. I'm sure it was just a mistake.Other than a bit of dust in our room, specifically on the bathroom door slits, the room was clean. I loved the hardwood floor in the room as well. Just didn't feel like a hotel in the best way possible. Giant shower was awesome and very comfy bed. I definitely plan to be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Christmas Eve

Posted Dec 30, 2015
We stayed Christmas, after a family get-together. Despite the holiday, and only a few guests, we were treated like Royalty. Absolutely no one was grumpy about working on Christmas morning. The room was fabulous, out needs were attended to promptly. Very Happy.