Ratings based on 1,251 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Grand Hotel in the Heart of Downtown

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The lovely old features with the modern comforts. The employees were so accommodating and friendly.
Cons: Why, in a mid-western city, are they charging $35 per day to park? Be aware that there is an abundance of (homeless?) people asking for money.
Location: The location is in the center of downtown Cincinnati. There are a variety of restaurants and cultural opportunities nearby. You can walk everywhere.
I had never been to Cincinnati before this recent trip for business. I chose this hotel because I wanted to be downtown to see the city and also because it wasn't a chain hotel so I thought it would be more interesting. It is an old Victorian era hotel that was refurbished sometime in the late 80's. It is modern inside while maintaining some of the older features. I did not go to the bar or restaurant. I did venture out of the hotel to get meals. There are a number of chain restaurants and other restaurants in the area walking distance from the hotel. I did use the hotel gym/fitness facility. The facility is just ok. The equipment was not great but did the trick. The employees were lovely. Very graciously accommodated my early arrival. If you like a window in your room (in other words, sunlight), you may want to upgrade. Since I booked on Expedia and did not upgrade (due to it being paid through my client), my room was on the interior. These rooms are fine because you do get a "balcony" opening to the sunlit interior; just a little strange. Valet parking is very expensive at $35/day. But the valet service is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: It's beauty and warmth of the live plants throughout.
Location: Walking distance to the Freedom Center
Quiet, nice environment, well kept for a Historic hotel, romantic, excellent fitness center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to OTR.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
We went out in OTR for my birthday. Originally only needed one bed but a friend needed to stay so they quickly accommodated us with a bigger room with no extra cost. I was surprised and glad they could help us without any problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hershey, Pa

Beautiful hotel in heart of city

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Able to walk to food and easily get transportation. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful large room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Cincinnatian is a lovely and historic hotel.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Exceptional services -- check in, valet parking and room service were all top notch.
Cons: Parking is a little overpriced.
Location: Many very good to excellent restaurants, the Taft and Aronoff theaters.
We stayed at the Cincinnatian since we were downtown on a Friday night for dinner before heading to the theater by concert. We checked in the afternoon, had our evening to make merry and didn't have to worry about drive home (highly recommended -- it made it feel like a mini-vacation). Our room was beautifully appointed with a nice view. Room service the next morning was great and we headed back to "real life".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Old fashioned but newly remodeled. Be

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Beautiful. Everyone was friendly. Nice accommodations, and we loved the double headed showers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Pictures online were definitely misleading

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: staff and food
despite their efforts to modernize this 100+ year-old hotel, its age shows - and not in an "elegant, vintage" way. Creaky floors, thin walls, and a tiny room (I got Queen-size bedroom) were a testament to that. The room in general did not feel very comforting and was quite spartan. Not what I was expecting for the $200+ per night. Amenities were blah- wifi was slow, cable was grainy. Hotel staff and food was just fine - I think they did a great job there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Historic but modern amenities in great location

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Celebrated our anniversary with a weekend getaway. The staff was courteous and prompt, and they recognized our anniversary. The room was nicely decorated, and the bathroom had luxurious touches like a soaking tub and separate vanity. The location is great. We walked to restaurants, and we took the street car to the OTR area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Her special day

Posted Jan 22, 2017
The hotel was painting walls during our stay and the staff spoiled my surprises. Overall the hotel was beautiful and their restaurant, The Palace was very nice. Breakfast would definitely be something you should do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great old hotel, in downtown

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Staff were excellent- friendly and efficient. Room was fine, some of the public areas could use some freshening.