Ratings based on 1,265 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

The Cinicnnatian Hotel was a pleasant surprise!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Class and comfort!
Cons: Nothing to report
Location: The night club Jekyll is really close and had a happening night life... even on a Sunday. Taylor was my exceptional server.
The hotel was elegant, well proved, and SUPER comfortable! Ever aspect was 5 star. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First impressions are the lasting ones

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Already said
Cons: See above - there must be historic stories about this old landmark hotel. I would feature that. It is why I chose it, I did not get any sense of it.
Location: Good location
The first thing I saw as I walked into my room was a tattered frayed rug. I couldn't get passed it. As it was the first impression - a worn rug. That stayed with me. Tired, worn. I meant to say something to the person at the desk - but I was far too busy. I did like the bed very comfy and the fresh linens - the staff was very friendly. They guys on staff I noticed were dressed sloppily - and not snappy - seemed to be sort of hanging out. The women on staff were far more professional. That was my impression. Also - it's an historic hotel and land marked, I did not get any sense of the history of the place - I would emphasize that more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Excellent hotel but beware of address and entrance

Posted Apr 20, 2017
This hotel was beautiful, clean and comfortable. We stayed in a room with double queen beds. The bedroom was very clean, the beds extremely comfortable and the bathroom spacious with a large bathtub and nice water pressure for the shower. Many area attractions are within walking distance or a short drive. Our only disappointment was that a piano player for the lounge is only there on Fri. and Sat. evenings and we were there on a Tues.! Otherwise just be aware that the address states VIne St. but the hotel entrance was on 6th. Not realizing that caused us to drive around the block a few times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Convenient, but outdated

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Location of the hotel was very convenient and in walking distance to everything downtown. I found the room accommodations somewhat outdated. Bathroom was updated but bedroom furniture and bedding was not. The mattress and pillows were not comfortable for a 4 star hotel. Rooms and other grounds were clean and well kept. The staff were friendly and helpful. Beware of the $35 a night valet parking fee! Outrageous and the only option other than parking in a public parking garage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Great downtown location, walking distance to many restuarants, bars and stadiums...
Cons: Guests should leave when they are scheduled...
Location: Great downtown location, walking distance to many restuarants, bars and stadiums...
Room we reserved was not available due to guests not checking out on MLB Opening Day Eve. Staff did everything in their power to get us a room that was suitable for our stay, just no balcony. Reds Opening Day is a Holiday in Cincinnati....wish other guests were more considerate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Very comfortable hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Enjoyed my short stay there. No complaints at all. Would definitely return. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Grand Hotel in the Heart of Downtown

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The lovely old features with the modern comforts. The employees were so accommodating and friendly.
Cons: Why, in a mid-western city, are they charging $35 per day to park? Be aware that there is an abundance of (homeless?) people asking for money.
Location: The location is in the center of downtown Cincinnati. There are a variety of restaurants and cultural opportunities nearby. You can walk everywhere.
I had never been to Cincinnati before this recent trip for business. I chose this hotel because I wanted to be downtown to see the city and also because it wasn't a chain hotel so I thought it would be more interesting. It is an old Victorian era hotel that was refurbished sometime in the late 80's. It is modern inside while maintaining some of the older features. I did not go to the bar or restaurant. I did venture out of the hotel to get meals. There are a number of chain restaurants and other restaurants in the area walking distance from the hotel. I did use the hotel gym/fitness facility. The facility is just ok. The equipment was not great but did the trick. The employees were lovely. Very graciously accommodated my early arrival. If you like a window in your room (in other words, sunlight), you may want to upgrade. Since I booked on Expedia and did not upgrade (due to it being paid through my client), my room was on the interior. These rooms are fine because you do get a "balcony" opening to the sunlit interior; just a little strange. Valet parking is very expensive at $35/day. But the valet service is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: It's beauty and warmth of the live plants throughout.
Location: Walking distance to the Freedom Center
Quiet, nice environment, well kept for a Historic hotel, romantic, excellent fitness center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to OTR.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
We went out in OTR for my birthday. Originally only needed one bed but a friend needed to stay so they quickly accommodated us with a bigger room with no extra cost. I was surprised and glad they could help us without any problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hershey, Pa

Beautiful hotel in heart of city

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Able to walk to food and easily get transportation. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful large room