Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Great experience staff was very friendly. Room described exactly how it was advertised online.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm pleased you enjoyed your accommodations and found our staff helpful. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
by Michael from Deming, NM

Mostly good, but.....

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Overall it was good, but the last night I was there was a Saturday night and there was a lot of coming and going of people and they were slamming doors. I was awakened just about every 15 to 20 minutes until around 2 in the morning. The doors need something to have them close more quietly, since people can't seem to manage that on their own.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the noise issues you experienced. In response to your feedback, I will be retraining our staff to make sure we are enforcing our quiet hours to ensure that each guest has a comfortable stay. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Save your money and book down the street !

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Fan on the room heater did not work, asked the front desk to look at it, nothing was done! Asked again, still nothing. Room was very old looking, carpet was dirty, did see one thousand legger in the room(a bug). Save your money and look elsewhere!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Great staff

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Front desk went out of their way to accommodate guests!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Diamondhead, MS

Located conveniently to my reunion location.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: I covered this above.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location was on Dixie Highway in Fairfield, Ohio and conveniently located near excellent restaurants, and entertainment.
The office staff were very friendly, helpful and concerned The bed was the most comfortable in decades! I was able to rest without overhead disturbance or hallway noise.
2 out of 5
by Lewis P from Columbus, OH

Disappointing

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was friendly enough. But I don't expect to find toenail clippings on the carpet. There are other (better) options in the same price range.
2 out of 5
by Gary from Ft. Wayne, In.

disappointed

Posted Jun 16, 2015 on Hotels
This place needs to be updated. We were disapointed in the condition of the bathroom. There was a big gap in flooring that had several layers of dirty looking caulking along the tub....Also the paint was peeling on the wall above the bed ......if you would like pictures we have several we could send you..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that the condition of your room was not to your satisfaction. I discussed your comments with the team, and we in process of updating our property. We will be sure that these concerns are addressed right away. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
2 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Chicago

Find a Better Option.

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately, when I checked in they only had smoking rooms available. It was 10:45pm and I did not want to hunt for another hotel, so I reluctantly accepted. Bad choice. The smoking floor reeked of smoke. The room was no different - poor ventilation, dingy furnishings, everything smelled of an ashtray. I assume the non-smoking rooms are better - but nevertheless, I would not stay in this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I wanted to thank you for the time you have taken to provide our hotel with your feedback. We understand the concerns you had regarding the room smelling of smoke, and would like to apologize for the inconvenience. We do have rooms at this location which are smoke free, and in the future, all rooms at this location will become a non-smoking property. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
2 out of 5
by Dale from Hamilton

Clean

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
The room was clean and fairly comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with cleanliness and comfort of our hotel. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OHIO

EXPEDIA SCREWUP

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: THE PRICE WAS GOOD, 44.99 A NIGHT
Cons: THE FACILTIES WERE OLD. FRIDGE HAD AN OLD CARTON OF MILK IN IT.
Location: GREAT RESTARAUTNS
EXPEDIA OVERBOOKED MY HOTEL, DIDNT TELL ME, SO WHEN I GOT THERE I WAS SHIPPED TO A SISTER HOTEL... I WAS EXTREMELY TIRED AFTER DRIVING 5 HOURS... THE HOTEL THEY SENT ME TO WAS A MESS... I WILL NEVER USE EXPEDIA AGAIN.