Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Amazing view!

Posted Jan 19, 2016
We were welcomed to the accommodation and shown to our room. This room had a private terrace with an amazing, full view of the ocean and town. The room was equipped with the essentials, and a fridge, and was clean and tidy. I would definitely recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donna J from Ellsworth, Maine

Lovely memories made

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I recently spent two nights at Camere La Torre in Vernazza and had a wonderful time. We were greeted by a very friendly and kind young man, Andre. He and his extended family own the building and run the restaurant a short distance up the stairs (plenty of stairs in Vernazza!) from the rooms. Andre walked us up (carrying my bag) and made sure we had everything we needed. We were awestruck by the beauty of being up so high above the Mediterranean Sea. We slept with the door open to the terrace so we could hear the surf crashing below. Bliss! The apartment was clean and organized, meeting our needs just fine. We would go back in a heartbeat....love Camere la Torre!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

To feel on top of the world, you'll have to climb.

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Rooftop patio, proximity of room to the trail head, and staff was very helpful upon check in to carry our bags up the stairs/trail to the room.
Cons: New bedding, mirror in the room. New screens on the windows so you can sleep with the windows open.
Location: Immediate access onto the coastal trail from Vernazza to Corneglia. Fantastic private rooftop terrace to watch the sunset.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Rustico Piccolo at Camere La Torre. We're balcony/sunset/and trail people, and this particular location maximizes on a huge private balcony/terrace that has some of the greatest views over all of Vernazza and almost instantaneous access onto the trailhead to Corneglia. The room itself was quite compact but tidy. Did have a minifridge and a standing dresser in the room, along with the bed - and that took up about 90% of the available space. Clean and tidy, but dated- could use newer bedding, fixed screens on the windows and a mirror. It is a hike to the room, and as the key called it "Rustico"-- but if you go for the patio, the views and the sunset (and the hiking), it most certainly is worth it. But if you're not all about those things and willing to sweat a little to get there, then you won't enjoy it to the fullest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville

Basic room at top of village

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Outstanding views of the sea and village. Cool sea breezes and the sound of the sea make the hike worth it! We could not hear any other sounds.
Location: Very high up at the top of the village near the Vernazza-Corniglia trail head. Difficult to get to and from the restaurants along the Main Street.
This room is very basic with no air conditioning and the tiny bathroom downstairs. However, we enjoyed the outstanding views of the sea and the village of Vernazza. We left the door open to take advantage of the cool sea breezes and to hear the waves. The outstanding view comes with a price: you must walk a good distance up hill to reach it. Not a good room for anyone not in good physical shape.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andrew from New York City

Room with a spectacular view

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Okay yes the room is small but if you have ever rented an apartment in New York City this is about the size of your bedroom. I have lived in a tenement apartment on the 5th floor for over 38 years. So this was like home with a better view. Arrive by train and bring just a backpack. This is a town clinging to the side of a hill. If you don't want to deal with steps and winding staircases stay in a room down on the Main Street. The views are spectacular and worth every penny. The owners could not have been nicer and basically they leave you alone. More like an airb&b than an hotel and that was just fine with us. Also you should bring cash as no one in town took any credit cards from paying for the room to dinner and even many of the stores. Vernazza is gorgeous and this room allowed us to be reminded of its beauty over and over again. If you are up for an adventure and don't care about hotel amenities this is the place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Die Aussicht ist den Preis wert

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Man zahlt Definitiv die Aussicht, das Zimmer ist nicht wirklich empfehlenswert. Aber es ist zumindestens sauber und alles vorhanden.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just like camping!

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: It isn't too far of an uphill hike from the town and has a huge balcony with a great view.
Cons: Using cheap, perfumed laundry detergent that smells up the entire room and made it unbearable to sleep in.
This isn't a hotel. It's a shed that has been converted into a "bedroom". The room only is two feet wider and six inches longer than the bed and fills with heat that can't escape. There is no hot water and the mosquitoes comes in through the old windows that are missing screens. And to top it off, the sheets were stained with blood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Many, many steps up but view is most spectacular!

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Great view (see website), privacy (you have key to outer gate that leads onto your own terrace as well as key to door of rooms), space, friendly host.
Cons: Air conditioning might be added. Very large number of steps (equivalent of 7 or 8 flights) so very elderly people should stay elsewhere.
Location: Vernazza has great restaurants & spectacular views of its 3 ancient stone watchtowers, hillside homes & churches, & protected harbor, & great hikes.
We had the highest room in Vernazza, so it's many, many steps up, but the view is spectacular. This suite that sleeps 4 has two rooms and a large private terrace with 4 lounge chairs and an unsurpassed view. There are no hotels in Vernazza - just rooms that families rent out, but these rooms were clean, comfortable, relatively spacious. No air conditioning, but the fans kept things cool during an unusual hot spell. Large refrigerator & sink, small but modern bathroom, ample storage space inside and clothes drying rack outside, tight kitchen table & chairs, spiral interior staircase connecting the two rooms. Host Andrea was extremely nice (met us and helped carry bags then served us lunch at restaurant). The restaurant run by the same owners was another two flights higher up on the trail to Corniglia and had an even more spectacular view, and the drinks & food (e.g., steamed mussels & pesto lasagna) were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

A high climb but worth it for the view!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The terrace and the view of the city. Unmatched by any of the other rooms in town.
Cons: Rooms could be updated - the top one anyway. The second room we stayed in was not as high up and it was more modernized with an adorable bathroom.
Location: Vernazza, one of the 5 cities in Cinque Terre has lots of activites. this hotel is located on the start of the trail to Corniglia.
We stayed here for two nights in June 2015. We were to stay at house number 64. We got there but the host was upstairs "2 minutes" if we wanted to stop at his bar to see him. He did leave a number to call him but we decided to go to his bar anyway. 2 minutes up the stairs is very different for a fit young Italian who does it everyday and North Americans who do not. took us at least ten to fifteen minutes. Sat at the rather unfriendly bar until we asked for our host. He was very lovely. Takes cash only for the room rate, fyi. Our room was another four flights of stairs up. 260 stairs in total from the bottom. The terrace was amazing. View of the entire city and start of the hiking trail. The room was very small, cold water (understandably, it is on a mountain) only, but you aren't there for the room. Do not bring anything other than a backpack. Check your luggage at Le Spezia station. Second night we had to change rooms, it was a bit nicer, more modern but the terrace was not as private. Beautiful view, just be ready for 260 stairs! And to pay in cash! Bring your supplies with you as you do not want to climb those stairs many times!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandra A, from Southaven

Never again

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
The balcony we had was used as owners laundry for the rented rooms so that was part of your view. Room had double bed and the head of bed was against wall the foot of bed had 8" between bed and wall. Side of bed was pushed against wall the other side had less than 3' to wall and door with mini fridge using that space also. They gave us a key to an outside storage unit to put our luggage in! Ants in restroom, dirty cups, restroom was 4x8', the climb to the room was expected but tough uneven steps. No ac but a nasty small fan was in the room. If you leave the window open anyone can look in bc it was just a screen if open. Great view but not worth it.