Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, Comfy room

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed in Riomaggiore for 3 nights. The room was updated and by far the most comfortable bed of all 4 hotels that we slept in for our 2 week trip. The shower did leak through the doors at times but a towel mopped up the floor. We informed the owner and new towels were brought the next day by the cleaning staff. A note to Americans, we found that Italian hotels do not provide small wash cloths, as we are used to, so you might want to bring some! The room was spacious for 2 people and the TV had one or two English channels. There were plenty of outlets that use Type C adapters as well. It was not a long walk from the train station. Basically, walk through the tunnel and up the hill 100 yards or so. Overall, we were quite pleased with the room. The owner, I believe his name was Ferdinand, was very nice and informative as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank's for your nice review! We hope to jost you again in the future:) Sincerely, Francesco (not Ferdinand:))
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient, clean, lots of hot water, great value

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
there is no service, and you need to check in when the office is open. but that is the nature of the 'hotels' in the town. so it all depends on your expectations. most travellers are there for the trails. I was there for three nights and the room was clean, comfortable and homey. the water pressure was great and the shower was big; water hot. all in all, a great value and I enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Lovely welcome and lots of good information given about the area. Great location, easy to walk to from the station, and right in the Main Street near all the bars & restaurants. Very good value for money, clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central basic hotel with everything I needed

Posted Sep 24, 2016
This hotel is central, which is very convenient after a long hot day. Close to the train without train noise. Close to bars, shops and trails. Best part of my stay was the welcome and help at any time from Francesco. He helped with information on the current state of the trails, train schedules and much more. Recommend this hotel highly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Francesco & Amy, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! Hope to see you again in the future:)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes, UK

Good location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
The location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the middle of the village. However, we had room facing the street, in the evening until midday it was very noisy. We travel with a child hence we are in bed by 10am. The noise from the street kept us awake until midnight. Then at 6am were awaken by the rubbish collection on the main street. The hotel was very clean and basic. They provided us with a very small travel size hair dryer, I could not dry my hair properly as I have long hair. The wifi in the room was excellent. The beds were basic, mattresses slight harder that UK standards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Francesco & Amy, Hotel Management
Ciao Sonia! Thanks for having time to write this review. Being our Guesthouse situated on the main street is quite normal that there is a "certain noise" until 11/12pm as Riomaggiore is a tourist town with Bars and Restaurants; It would be enough to close the windows (which are double pannel), turn on the air conditioning and you will not hear noise from the street. It is also the first time a customer tells me that she has not been able to dry her hair well because the hair dryer is "small"; about the "hardness" of mattresses, we certainly can not please all of the standards( UK, USA, etc) as it is a very subjective thing. Take care
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Had very nice stay, room clean , close to all activities , Francesco very helpful with info about area, definetly would book again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Francesco & Amy, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! Hope to see you again:)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good family run place nicely located

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Family-run place; hosts are very knowledgeable about the area who had excellent and detailed recommendations. Quite organized and gave directions in advanced. Slight negatives were that the host was a bit impatient if you asked a question more than once (it was hard to keep all 5 names of the Cinque Terre and trails and navigation straight in a 5 mins conversation!). Also need to bring your own shampoo, towels only changed every other day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I am very sorry if you have got the impression that I was looking"impatient", it certainly was not my intention. About changing towels, at check-in (as in the toom) is it clear mentioned that bath towels are changed every other day but you could easily ask if you needed extra. Take care, Francesco Colombo Guesthouse
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Super nice and helpful staff. Great location. Cable TV
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Francesco & Amy, Hotel Management
Thanks for that! Happy you had a nice stay:)
5 out of 5
by Emily

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay in Colombo guesthouse! Our room was lovely, in the perfect location in the center of town, near the train station. Francesco was extremely helpful and knowledgable. Highly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Amy, Hotel Management
Ciao Emily! Thanks for your lovely review:) It has been a pleasure to meet & host you. Hope to see you again in the future. Saluti, Francesco
3 out of 5
by Christopher from Phnom Penh.

Hostel Vibe

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
This guesthouse leans more towards the hostel feeling rather than hotel. It is clean, and in a good location, but very basic. The check-out is very early at 9-10 am and the check-in must be before 5 pm. So you will have to work around their hours. They do make an effort to provide information and suggestions on places to eat and see. Housekeeping was very basic and towels only changed every two days. If you want to swim in the ocean you will have to bring your own towel or buy one. We wanted to do laundry, but the only location in the village was down for renovation so there were no options. Expect little, but a basic room with no additional service and you won't be disappointed. You pay for location certainly not comfort or service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Amy, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I find both the title and the content of the review quite offensive; we are not a hotel (as mentioned several times) but not even a hostel. Our customers are always satisfied with the stay at our small family-run Guesthouse. Take care, Francesco & Amy