Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C. Canada

Posted Oct 25, 2016
The woman at the desk when we checked in was very helpful. We were planning to go to Cinque Terre the next day. She gave us all the information for the train schedule and the hotel's shuttle service to the train station which we used.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
This hotel was a little far out of the way for my liking. Although it was an OK hotel it just didn't have much around it to offer. We had to bus or taxi into the city and the train station. The room was alright, but I think I'd recommend staying elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We spent two nights here as a base for exploring the Cinque Terre. Rooms are simple but clean, comfortable and spacious. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful, with advice on what to see, train tickets, dinner recommendations (we drove into Portovenere both nights), etc. The hotel has a useful shuttle to take you to the train station (from where it's just a few minutes to Riomaggiore and a little longer to the other towns) but you need to make a reservation at the front desk first. Breakfast is in a nice, sunny room beyond the lobby with lots of choice. Have to mention how hard-working all the staff are at this hotel and especially in the breakfast room -- constantly re-setting tables, replacing dishes and food, refilling the coffee and bringing in new cups, and all with a smile. Very impressive! The location of the hotel is handy if youre driving -- easy to get to from autostrada and plenty of parking -- although it's off a busy street with an industrial feel. There's more of a neighbourhood feel if you walk left out of the driveway and down the alley to the next main street where there are a few restaurants, Tabacchi, etc. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the staff

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The room seemed a little dated, but the staff went out of their way to help us out. I wouldn't hesitate to book again for myself, or to recommend to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Isalnd

Good hotel for access to Cinque Terra.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Took the bus to the train station to get to Cinque Terra. For the money the hotel was a good deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bit far from train station; top-notch staff

Posted Nov 10, 2014
We, like most of their guests, were looking to spend time in Cinque Terre. We did not realize this hotel was a 10-minute drive from the train station that would get us to Cinque Terre. It's not really walkable, though the hotel does offer a helpful shuttle service to its La Spezia location. The staff were very, very polite, and undoubtedly the best we encountered on our Italy trip. However, the room and the furniture are a bit outdated. It is not a four-star hotel, at least by North American standards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rough area,dirty hotel. Would not recommend

Posted Aug 6, 2014
This was a big let down. It is in a really rough neighbourhood (middle of an italian council estate) next to the commercial docks. Didnt feel safe at all, room was filthy with hairs everywhere,didnt loom like it had been cleaned for weeks.Would NOT recommend, waste of money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little out but do have transfer to train station

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Nice big room friendly staff very helpful little bit away from the town but did have transfer bus plus ok with own car ok for a short stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gordon from southport Merseyside

Convenient for the Cinque Terre

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly Clean
Cons: Larger bar
Location: Boat and train trips to Cinque terra
Nice hotel shuttle bus was really appreciated with friendly driver. We had to get a taxi back from restaurant one night and the charge was 17.50 euros for 5 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Far away from terminal

Posted Oct 22, 2013
La spezia is more of a gateway place, the hotel is not near any of the major transport hubs which is the main downside. But luckily has a shuttle available for use. The hotel was great, spacious and very clean. The staff were friendly courteous and totally on point.