Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay near 5 Terre

Posted Sep 16, 2016
We had stayed here 21 years ago and loved it. Still a wonderful place. Restaurant & breakfast service is good but not as unforgettable as we remember.
5 out of 5
by Euan from Reporoa New Zealand

A great hotel in a beautiful area.

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
We spent 3 nights at Hotel Paradiso with family and friends. We found all the staff very welcoming and helpful. All our rooms had good views over the harbour and were clean and tidy.There are a couple of bars / restaurants next to the hotel and it is only a 5 minute easy walk to the town centre. We would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

Midnight room swap

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Staff are wonderful and responsive, even at midnight. There was smoking coming into our window from a nearby room and made it impossible to sleep. Windows needed to be open because A/C was not available yet this season. The night manager moved us into another room at midnight. Other staff helped us arrange our travel during the day. We recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Lovely hotel, close to everything.

Posted Nov 1, 2015
My communication with the hotel prior to arriving, usually with Desiree, was always prompt, professional, and clearly answered. Our hotel room had a magnificent sea view, which altered with the light so there was always something to look at and enjoy. Stefania greeted us, parked our car for us, and gave us helpful information about Portovenere, restaurants, and locations. The room was simply furnished, but with lots of space for our belongings, especially in the bathroom, which wasn't huge, but had lots of space for toiletries and towels. It also had a bathtub, which I loved and a very good shower (in the bathtub). The only concern was that the bathtub was very deep, so getting into it to shower could be q problem for some people. Breakfast is taken in a room with huge windows all facing the sea and there was lots of choice, cereal, yogurt, fruit, breads, pastries, cheese, meat, eggs, bacon, juices, milk, anything one could want, ad delicious cappuccino delivered to the table. We enjoyed our stay very much and will recommend it to anyone we know who is visiting Portovenere.
4 out of 5
by celia from Milton Keynes

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, a lovely room with lovely view overlooking the marina, the staff were very nice & extremely helpful, parking was limited at extra cost. The food and service were fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire, UK

Good hotel in a good location

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Portovenere is a small town and it is popular. Checking in was quick and easy even if parking in the town was not. There is only limited space to stop near the hotel doors so unloading lots of bags could be problematic. Also, don't confuse 'Gran Hotel' Paradiso with 'Grand Hotel' which has it own underground carpark. Hotel is in a good location as it doesn't overlook the main harbour area which can be noisy at night. You still get a seaview from most (if not all) rooms. Room was clean and had good facilities. Breakfast was good too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rodrigo

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Good location, very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Framingham,Ma.

Love, love, love.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Arrived late. Just in time to drop our bags and have a great dinner in the dining room overlooking the water. Got a second floor room and woke up to a view overlooking the marina, the bay and the mountains. Million dollar vista. Great location. Easy parking underneath. Great value. Nice staff. Definitely returning.
5 out of 5
by Orlando from CoMo

Don't miss it.

Posted Jul 3, 2015 on Hotels
Love it! Portovenere is way nicer than the Cinque Terre. Less tourists, more authentic, excellent food. (The beaches are gravel, not sand. Bring water shoes)