Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by priscilla from Texas

lets go again

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
great and friendly service. good breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, but disappointing

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
There's nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, but nothing really right with it either, and I couldn't say I enjoyed my stay. It's a long walk uphill from the train station, which was a problem with luggage and I had to get a taxi back when I left, so if you're staying on a budget, factor that in. I was staying here as a cheapish base to explore the Cinque Terre, but that also meant it was quite a long walk to the station in the morning and back again. When I arrived the check in was very curt and unfriendly almost the the point of rudeness. I really didn't feel welcome. The hotel feels very claustrophobic and sparse, a bit like being in a hospital. The rooms were fine, fairly modern and clean, but there was a lack of power points and the shower wouldn't stay at a set temperature and kept jumping from burning hot to freezing cold. The rooms are noisy - the walls are paper thin. The breakfast was good though, great selection and good coffee, but no early breakfast available if you want to make an early start. I wouldn't stay here again and it wasn't worth the amount I paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear customer, we are sorry if we were unfriendly. You haven't written your name and we can't know if you are arriving after the check -in time, or something has happened. In any case we are sorry to have given that impression. We are always friendly and helpful in giving information. Breakfast time is from 7:30 to 10. on request we prepare the boxes. How to reach us by train: From La Spezia Centrale rail station take the stairs in front of the exit leading to Via Fiume, cross the street and get on the bus n.13 to San Rocco-Sarbia. The bus stop is opposite the hotel. Otherwise you can catch any bus that stops in Piazza Europa n. 6 – n.3 – n. S – n. SC – n. 18 – n. 22 – n.23 – n. A – n. SA ecc.. if you like you can walk 20min through the village center and shopping street.
5 out of 5
by Kim from Turlock, Californis

Integrity plus!

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was awesome. They let us keep our bags there for the day. I forgot my envelope with my credit cards and passport in the room, and it was all there with my things when I came back for our bags. Now that's integrity!
5 out of 5
by Kelly from Sydney

Nice place!

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff, clean rooms, wifi worked everywhere including room which is always a plus.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2016
Clean, simple and close to town centre. Good spot for a solo traveler.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A steal. Great location, service, sea views

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great staff, very helpful, polite, and responsive. Fresh towels and sheets every day, an amazing view of the port of La Spezia and the Gulf of Poets. For only $40 a night, this was a steal. Five minute walking distance to the Old City and all the culture, food, and personality therein. And an awesome spread for breakfast, included in the price of the room.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento, ca

Historic hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2015
This hotel was just okay..for the price we paid it was decent, but there were a lot of cons. Some of the pros though, was that it was cheap and included free breakfast. The girl at the reception desk was nice and very helpful, so we felt taken care of at that point. However, the place was really hard to find. It's at the very top of a hill, and since we did not know the area, we took flights of stairs that seemed never ending. Once we arrived, the area it was by was very sketchy. There were homeless people all around the stairs, as well as young kids just drinking and breaking bottles. It was a place that I would not feel comfortable walking alone at night. The rooms looked nice upon arrival, but the beds were not comfortable at all. They just put two twin beds together just to make a double bed. It was quite uncomfortable, because I kept falling into the crevice of the two beds. Also the walls are paper thin. We had a neighbor, who I believed lived here, who would blare the tv or talk extreme loud through late hours (2am). People come in at these hours and even later, drunk and very loud. There is no courtesy with the people staying here. So it's hard for me to appreciate this hotel. It's also a 20 minute walk from the train station. So for the price we paid, we probably could have had a better hotel, closer to where we wanted to be.
5 out of 5
by Teresa from Kerry Ireland

very Nice Stay

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here for two nights, Lovely room, girl at reception was very nice and informative of the area, of where to go and what to do. Only down side i would consider it a B and B more than a Hotel as there is no bar or lobby area.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Great staff, nice location, need gps as lots of one way streets. Beautiful scenery nice hotel