Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Terryl from California

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. There was a simple breakfast and the people were friendly. The walls were a bit thin and wifi went in and out, but it's more like a rented room in an old building than an actual hotel. As a homebase in the Cinque Terra, it's just fine, as long as you can climb the steep steps.
2 out of 5
by Stewart from Las Vegas

Inexpensive room and met that standard

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was spread over several buildings. It was a 3 story walk up to get to my room. It was a single. The bed was okay but the pillows very uncomfortable. It was difficult to take a shower without spraying the room. The wifi didnMt reach my room and the TV was inconsistent. Not really happy with the room. The staff however did everything they could to accommodate me and were outstanding. I also thought the included breakfast was quite adequate. A guess, for the money, my stay was okay. This was the least expensive room I could find.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer from New York

Friendly budget hotel in good location

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean and spacious but the walls were thin. I could hear the vibrating iphone next door each time it received a message. The location is good, it's an uphill climb from the train station but no stairs and quite easy to find. Breakfast is continental and included from 8 to 10am. The employees were friendly and allowed you to keep your luggage there after check out. Wifi was good too. The hotel is next to a church which had bells ring until 1am and then starts up again at 7am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Superior WI

Such an interesting place. Like a hidden gem.

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: The location was great. Markets and cafes close by.
Cons: Signage to entrance.
Location: We stayed in Riomaggiore and hiked to the next village, and had lunch there. Then we trained to the last village and hiked around. The views!!
We couldn't find the hotel. It wasn't the first time we marched right past the entrance looking for a hotel. Problem with this one if you go too far you are marching uphill! But once we realized our mistake we were thrilled to get checked in speedily. We booked two rooms for our group and both rooms were very nice. Our stay in Riomaggiore was perfect.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buffalo, ny

Meh - look elsewhere for a room!

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Hot water and decent water pressure. Great location.
Cons: Most everything. Especially pricing policy. I don't mind paying extra for reserving a room 1 month out and having that certainty but more than double?
We booked a month out. Upon arrival, we asked if there were smaller rooms available and were told yes. We asked to chase to a smaller, less expensive room as we didn't need a triple room and were refused. The clerk said we had to take what was reserved. Also, the room was marginally clean. The soap dispenser was empty and nasty dirty. Breakfast the next morning was a disappointment. Highlight was the shower itself - plenty of hot water and nice water pressure. Would not stay there again because we feel we were overcharged by double. A quick check showed triple rooms available for the same day less than half what we paid.
4 out of 5
by kristina from usa

Riomaggiore

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful Riomagggiore. This hotel is up the hill. Not for the older or disabled person. Alot of stairs but the location was awesome. First of the villages. The Hotel was comfortable and clean. This was our 2nd time here and we'll be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Locanda Ca' ei Duxi accomodations

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Breakfast staff
Cons: Attitude of staff, cleaner bathroom
Location: Trails are closed to northern towns for past two years. Train main option for traveling north. Horrendous experenice!
No view - I don't know where they took the picture of hotel! Staff definitely did not provide pleasant attitude, except for breakfast staff - very nice. Almost afraid to ask reception staff for any information of area. Shower liquid soap dispenser was moldy. Any rooms in Riomaggerio would probably be similar in convenience to train.
2 out of 5
by Gayatri from New York City

Dump!!

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
My expectations were not high, and it did not disappoint. We booked it last minute (because we were let down by Airbnb), so I was not expecting luxury. The bathrooms were so awful it was almost comical. After traveling around Italy, we know bathrooms tend to be tiny, but these bathrooms were just special. The water pressure was also a trickle. The towels were very well bleached, so well, that they had holes in them. The hand towels were dinner napkins and not towels at all. The service was apathetic at best, and no one can accuse the front desk of being friendly. The breakfast room was actually quite nice. The coffee was great, and the girl working there was incredibly--and surprisingly-- pleasant. It's a dump, but we couldn't do better at short notice. They're lucky that Cinque Terre has a hotel shortage.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice staff -- only.

Posted Sep 2, 2015
I wanted to be in the 5Terre, so I stayed here and paid for the location. The bed wasn't comfortable, the TV didn't work even after I reported it, and the aircon stopped working my final day (during July -- and a heatwave!) The internet was poor -- it's stronger on the main hotel lobby side of the street, and there is a hotspot on the ground level of where I stayed. That was manageable, but annoying. I was more concerned with the aircon, the TV, and how the shower water flowed straight into the bedroom, to the bed. The staff were all nice, and very helpful with any questions and recommendations on restaurants and trails. The breakfast was fine. The stairs weren't an issue -- it was Italy, and it's a hilly location. I wouldn't stay there again, to be honest, because of the facilities and comfort not being worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA, USA

OK. Not spending a lot of time in the room anyway

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: location, breakfast, staff
Cons: The wifi would be more useful if you could actually get it in the room instead of having to go out on the street and sit on the steps.
Location: Close to the rail station (but then, it's a small town, so everything is). Lots of places to explore. Great hikes.
It could use some updating, but it's clean and they have a really excellent continental breakfast. Great friendly and helpful staff.