Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location, charm, breakfast.
Location: Portovenere is gorgeous, perfect location to visit Cinque Terre by boat.
Perfect location, helpful staff, clean rooms, wonderful breakfast. Get a sea view. Parking available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Run-down hotel rooms

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The pool
Cons: The room desperatly need renovation. It is old and worn out
Location: The area is pretty, lots of nice views, good restaurants
This is an old hotel that has not been renovated for quite a while. The bed was old and uncomfortable, the bathroom is very small, had to open the shower door in order to be able to move my arms inside. It is kept clean, actually, the staff was vacuuming the corridors very early every the morning!!! They say there is WiFi but we could never get a signal, neither could other guests that were looking for a spot with signal all over the lobby. The breakfast was good and plenty and the swimming pool is nice and big. I really cannot understand how this hotel got the 4 star rating!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Good Italian hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Hotel is situated approximately 1km from center of town 15 min stroll. Great salt water pool, parking sea view rooms. Staff very helpful and speak good English . Rooms and furniture are tired, but very clean and nice balcony. Great breakfast. Restaurant v good but menu a bit limited. Service overall very good. Definitely return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is outdated. Rooms are clean, but they lack maintenance. It looks like you have entered a hotel from the 1970's. The location is great for travelling to 5 terrace. Only reason I give this hotel two out of 5 is because it has a great location and a pool-area. The breakfast was okay. I can not belive why this is a 4 star hotel, it reminds me more of a 2 star hotel based on its standards. WiFi was free of charge for 1 hour (you had to stay in the lobby to use it), but you had to pay around 5€ for more usage... In 2016???
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Stay

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Location was very convenient and accessible. Only takes about 10 minutes to go anywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria, UK

Very nice position on the bay in Portovenere

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Welcoming hotel with friendly staff situated about a lovely 15 min stroll along the waterfront from the small centre of Portovenere - we liked the location as nice to walk to and fro the promenade in the evening. Lovely swimming pool area (I think one of the only ones in the area at a hotel), although the beach club down below is not the hotel's - plenty of public beaches within a minutes walk though. The best bit was the view from the room's balcony - most rooms seem to have one, but ours was large enough for a sun lounger plus table and chairs - you could sit in the sun and look at the view of the bay all day! Overall, a lovely place to stay with my Dad while we were on a short tour of the Cinque Terre and surrounding area - recommended.
3 out of 5
by David from Sydney

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great position but hotel sadly needs an upgrade. Common areas were from the 1970s. Pool area good but closes early 7pm I think. Bathrooms recently renovated and good but bed is of creaky wire type with mattress, floor was tiled and I could see footprints from previous occupant. Wifi hopeless
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2016
The location was close to the beach and town. The room was large and clean but the beds and pillows were not very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice comfortable hotel in a great location

Posted May 22, 2016
My wife and I stayed at Royal Sporting Hotel for 3 nights (first week of May 2016, somewhat low tourist season) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's located around 10 min walking distance to all the restaurants, beach, the old town, and other attractions. It's a little bit away from the center/main dock, so it's slightly quieter and you don't have to face the crowds of tourists coming on daytrip boats from cinque-terre or La Spezia. Staff were friendly, and the facility was clean and organized. The pool facing the sea, the bar and included breakfast add to the value. We highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheyenne, WY

Fine location, great staff, dated room furnishings

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Great staff was the best thing about this hotel. Very attentive and accommodating. The location was 500 meters from heart of downtown area, where ferry to Cinque Terra departs. . Property, despite its age, was extremely well kept. Dated and Spartan furnishings in the room was only drawback.