Ratings based on 801 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful hotel in The Rocks

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Location, atmosphere
Cons: Nothing comes to mind. We were only there one night and wished I was staying longer.
Location: Shops & restaurants, Contemporary Art Museum, Overseas Cruise Terminal, Circular Quay.
Great location to walk to restaurants or shop in The Rocks or Circular Quay. Hotel is a historic building so lots of character. Staff was helpful and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Pinar Aydogan Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for your great score! We really appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Heart of The Rocks

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: The quality and comfort of the bed needs serious attention.
Location: Sydney's icons all within a quick walk ... Harbour Bridge, Opera House, Circular Quay ferries erc.
Small hotel in heritage building, with a unique entry, in the heart of The Rocks. Staff were very welcoming. Tiny bathroom. The comfort of the bed was terrible .. like sleeping on a rock in the Rocks. Terrible pillows (flat / lumpy / awful) and linen needs an upgrade. At $400 a night the standard of the bed is really poor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Pinar Aydogan Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that our staff were helpful and you enjoyed the location. We are sorry you had some issues with the bed and pillows. We do have a pillow menu where you can choose your favorite pillow and there are rooms with larger bathrooms in different room categories. We hope we will get another chance in welcoming you to our hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Relations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Ideal location to the best part of Sydney

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The uniqueness and location
Cons: A larger, more clearly marked sign for the hotel.
Location: Ideal location in the most beautiful and interesting part of Sydney, within walking distance to the Sydney Opera House, ferries, and train.
This is an ideal location to stay in the most beautiful and interesting part of Sydney. It is within walking distance to the Sydney Opera House, ferries, wonderful restaurants, the lively harbor, music, the weekend markets, etc. It is also within easy walking distance (with one piece of luggage on wheels) from the train station, if you take the 20 minute train ride from the airport. The hotel is interesting and unique, as an historic part of Sydney. Two cautions: 1) The hotel does not contain an elevator, but the staff, thankfully, handles the luggage for you. 2) Although it is easy to walk to from the train station, it is not well marked with a clear sign, so be sure you get clear directions to the hotel if you don't come by cab.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Pinar Aydogan Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Connie, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by brian

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017
Dear Brian, Thank you for your feedback. Its great to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again. Best Regards. Pinar Aydogan. Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautiful hotel, great location

Posted May 2, 2017 on Lastminute
Exceptional accommodation and staff, particularly Moss. An absolute gentleman. Will definitely be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Pinar, Hotel Management
Dear Jackie, amazing score!! We really appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments off to Moss. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Pinar Aydogan Guest Relations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Location, locatio

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Lastminute
Quick, last minute stay. Very nice. Comfy. Staff were excellent. Didnt dine as we were booked into a restaurant. Only downer was that we had a view of a brick wall but not really an issue as there was so much else to do. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by laurenj, Hotel Management
Dear Clair, Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards Lauren Job General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Wotif
Cons: My only grizzle was that the room was a bit stuffy, could not seem to open the window but did not want to turn on air conditioning.
Nice and comfortable accommodation with good facilities and in good location. I particularly liked how the reception area smelt, which I was not sure was due to products on display or numerous candles alight above reception desk!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Pinar/Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Wendy, we really appreciate your feedback. Its nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay wit hus. We hope to see you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central with character

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Lastminute
Stayed here a couple of times now, really like it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Pinar/Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, wow!! Thank you for your score and feedback and hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bris

Dont try room 211

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: The location is very good.
Cons: Better noise control. Maybe better maintenance . One of the bed lamps was nonfunctional though it was fixed the day after i pointed it out.
Location: The Rocks is a great area. It's close to all the usual tourist attractions in Sydney and away from the disruption in the CBD caused by big roadworks.
It's a nice hotel with a good location. We were very tired when we checked in on Saturday afternoon between 3pm & 4pm. Stayed for 3 nights. Our room, quite small with no occasional table, just a desk, was right above a pretty courtyard. There was a rowdy function happening below. It was music and carousing which we sadly became part of. There was no rest for us. Other rooms were probably completely oblivious. Just don't stay near the courtyard on function days. Room cost was high for the facilities but that is to be expected in The Rocks area. As an after thought: there is no guest lift. There is possibly a baggage one but we lugged our own bag down the naeeow stairs
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Pinar, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Its great to hear that our hotel's location was convenient for you. Our hotel does have a luggage lift which our porters use to take bags up or bring them down for guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for the the disturbance by the function. We do have rooms on away from the courtyard and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Pretty place yet we were disappointed

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Orbitz
While the hotel staff were pretty accommodating, kind, helpful, etc.. we couldn't help but feel a little disappointed with our stay. We upgraded to the studio suite, but it wasn't worth the payment. Our A/C dripped and was never really fixed, the movies on demand were pixilated and not working well (they refunded us our pay per view money thankfully), the shower door was jammed and wouldn't open enough to take a shower (the fixed this later in the day as well), the baby cot linens were old and yucky, the pillows were awful (although they gave you the option to order others- I didn't want the hassle), the wifi cost like $20! and the bathroom was tiny. It may be because we loved our stay in the hotel we were in days prior, or because this was the most expensive place we stayed at during our holiday (our of 3 spots) but we were disappointed with the facilities. I would like to note- they offered us a room change and looked into an upgrade after night 1, because of the tv and a/c issues.. but there was no upgrade because the room we were in was already the "upgrade". They gave us a complimentary drink at the bar instead, which was a nice gesture, just unfortunately didn't cover the disappointments. But- the staff was sweet and tried to accommodate as best as the could, they also diffuse the most amazing fragrance in the lobby, which is nice to come home to! Decor was nice throughout, Location was solid as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Pinar, Hotel Management
Hi Billy, Thanks for your feedback. Its great to hear that our staff members were helpful in general and sorry to hear that you have had a number of issues during your stay. We have informed all relevant departments and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.