Ratings based on 941 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

Lovely hotel overlooking the harbour

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Very welcoming , staff very friendly and helpful, ambiance comfortable and calming . Would highly reccomended to anyone looking for a hotel in Sydney, made our fist visit to Sydney perfect thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Couldn't be better

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Perfect location; charming comfy room with great facilities; overlooking the park next to Museum of Contemporary Art; surprisingly quiet; pleasant helpful staff - we'd stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel on the Rocks

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The Russell is a charming hotel with personality and a great location. We very much enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Fabulous Hotel close to Circular Quay- The rocks

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: As above. It's history, position, charm ,welcome ,food comfort delightful decor.
Cons: Nothing It's true value for money.
Location: Perfect- right near harbour ,bridge ,The Rocks ,railway station ,ferries ,city centre museum.
We loved the charm and feel of this hotel. The staff were a delight and made us feel very welcomed The position is perfect . We thought we were at a homely comfortable pub in Europe. The evening meal was very tasty and nicely presented and full breakfast a surprise . We expected a cup of tea and coffee and a packet of weetbix for the price. Instead a vast array of cereal fresh fruits eggs toast yogurt pastries and more. The bedroom was tastefully decorated with everything we needed. Bathroom clean and appealing. We definitely will recommend this to anyone who needs an economical hotel near where it all happens. We will be back every time we come to Sydney. We certainly felt part of the original city's history .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Great location

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Hotel is in great location, walking distance to Sydney Bridge a nd Opera House as well as the ferries that you can board to go in any direction. Hotel is warm and cosy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Excellent location, friendly, clean & comfortable

Posted Jul 19, 2017
5mns from circular quay, great walking around hotel, good restaurants closer by (ie: Willam Blue) Hotel staff is friendly, rooms are comfortable and clean. Good breakfast. Wifi (free) available throughout. Definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg, mb

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Needed a place to stay close to Harrington street. Very enjoyable, very close to major Sydney sights. Fantastic staff and great atmosphere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice place and great location

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Cons: Daily attention and clean towels for the bathroom.
We were in Sydney for a few days following a cruise and the Russell House worked out so well for us. It's a short walk from the cruise ship terminal, Sydney Opera House, Botanical Gardens, Sydney Bridge, and Circular Quay. Russell House is one street away from the busy area, so we weren't disturbed by street noise. We felt safe walking around the harbor area at night. Loads of great restaurants were in the immediate vicinity too. Russell House seemed like 3 different buildings joined together, so there were multiple levels. One afternoon we watched a large protest of "take the wall down" from the rooftop garden. Our room was nice with a small double bed and small bathroom. Breakfast was served in the 1st floor pub and we enjoyed a nice variety of breads, fruits, beverages, and hard eggs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend Russell House.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blue Mountains

Great location

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Such a quaint hotel in absolutely fantastic location, smack bang in The Rocks. Very cute bedroom, fresh flowers & chocolates on the pillow! Breakfast was simple yet satisfying. Only negative was mould in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

The Russell Hotel Sydney

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: The staff are very friendly and helpful it also has wifi
Cons: Cater more for Coeliac sufferers at breakfast buffet
Location: Location couldn't be better as you can easily walk to the main attractions in minutes
The hotel is situated centrally in the Rocks district of Sydney. The hotel is comfortable and clean, rooms are decorated tastefully and the buffet breakfast is limited as it does not cater for Coeliac sufferers, but you can get by on some fruit and yogurt. Walking to the Harbour Bridge and Opera house takes minutes. The district is full of restaurants and bars suited to all tastes.