Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reading pa usa

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We enjoy the grand hotel each time in Verona. Whether for business or pleasure. Good choice as it's close to train and city. You can easily walk everywhere you need to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in city centre

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Very handy to city centre. Staff.very obliging. Garage parking extra cost.but handy to hotel. Beds very hard only down side.Excelkent breakfast. Modern furnishings. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Verona

Unexpected beauty

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: The room and balcony the staff
Cons: there is maybe something about noise reduction from some rooms - this was not an issue more of an observation
Location: lots of beautiful places to eat fantastic sights to see lots of walks along the river to be had
Beautiful, friendly hotel in a central location. The Grand Hotel was a fantastic location in Verona - it was so central. The staff were very attentive, polite and efficient. All in all a great time in Verona was set off by this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Yorks UK

Very good hotel ,handy for the station

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Location and standard and value.
Cons: Proper fruit juice for breakfast.
Location: See above
The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially in reception.It was clean and comfortable and the breakfast choice was good though fruit juice was not very good quality. The location was very good for both the station and for sight-seeing and eating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Yorks UK

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Good quality, comfortable and good , helpful staff and good breakfast choice.
Location: A bit further out from the station and town centre than we expected.
Arrived early but no problem, we were given a room that was ready. We travelled by train to Bologna and some directions on how to get from the station would have been helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

close to train station

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Great location and nice design of interior.
Cons: A/C was loud in our room.
Location: the location is perfect to all buses and train station. Arena is 15 min walk.
The hotel is walking distance from train station and to Arena. We were enjoyed staying there even for one night. The breakfast was excellent in a pretty garden. The air conditioner was a little laud in our room. In general, it was a pleasant stay and it was a great location. I will come back to this hotel in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Gigliola, Hotel Management
Thank You Violetta for your review and sorry if you found the air conditioner too laud... We will let it check
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland, England

First trip to Venona and a good choice of hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The breakfast buffet was very good and the location to the Arena/plaza area and walking distance to the train/bus station was very convenient.
Location: We were there to see Ennio Morricone at the Arena and also took in all the usual tourist sightseeing We also took the train to Venice for the day.
The Hotel staff very welcoming and helpful Our room was lovely, clean, well appointed and very comfortable, although we had the room next to the lift shaft and so there was a faint whirring noise as the lift went up and down, but this did not spoil our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Gigliola, Hotel Management
Dear John, thank you for the feedback. We are pleased to read you loved everything about our Hotel and Verona
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Far from 4-star luxury

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Once you head beyond a pretty (but ageing) reception, the hotel rapidly descends into a bog-standard Holiday Inn, certainly not befitting of a four-star hotel. A modern refurbishment is cheap and tacky; the bathrooms have an odd mesh material on the shower walls, linoleum on the floor and bad ventilation. The rooms are very small. Remnants remain of the old grandeur (including the safety deposit box, strangely), but have largely been stripped of character. Breakfast saw a wide spread of food but was of a poor quality, too. The receptionists were pleasant but in keeping with the sense that this was a hotel that has had its day and is in need of a cash injection, they appeared very ready to push tours 'with whom they had partnerships'. While not disastrous, this was a heavy disappointment overall given our week in Italy at genuinely beautiful hotels. And at less cost. We will not stay again, nor will we recommend this to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Gigliola , Hotel Management
Thank You Nick for your feedback. Review sometimes are very good to improve!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Wonderful staff, excellent if attending the opera.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location. They have coffee, tea and water in the lobby which are welcome after a hot day in Verona.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Just down the road from the arena but the castle, the cathedrals and the roman theatre within walking distance. Station clo by for venturing farther.
Our stay there was a birthday treat for me. On arriving the staff noticed it was going to be my birthday during our stay and arranged for a bottle of Prosecco to be delivered to the room for us to enjoy before going to the opera. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Gigliola, Hotel Management
Thank you Vilma, the staff appreciate your review! We wait again for you in the future.. for another amazing birthday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The amenities, the friendliness of the staff, the rooms, and above all the breakfasts
Cons: The bathroom was a little compact but it seems churlish even to mention it
Location: Wonderful location - within easy reach of wonderful dining , the Arena, Juliets house, San Zeno Cathedral, Anastashia Church and SHOPPING
We loved being able to walk everywhere and the fact that it was so close to the Arena - Opera was our reason for visiting. The staff were soooo friendly and helpful and efficient, knew their hotel and their town. Breakfasts were some of the best we've ever had in hotels. We would recommend this hotel certainly to all our friends and can't wait to go back there ourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Gigliola, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We wait for you as soon as possible