Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Tallinn review

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Only negative thing was that the room wasn't cleaned each day or bed made. In that respect it was pretty much like being at home! Staff very helpful with taxi booking and looking after my suitcase which eventually appeared from Amsterdam
3 out of 5
by Stephen

Basic, Few Amenities, But Good Price

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
My overnight stay at City Hotel Tallinn was fair to good. First the good points: All the staff I encountered in the hotel were helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. In addition, the breakfast the hotel serves is very nice; good, fresh selections with something to please everyone. Now for the not-so-good: The City Hotel is associated with the Stackelberg Hotel, which is just a few steps down the street, and all staff is located there and all business is conducted there. This arrangement did not pose a problem for me. I suspect, but cannot say for sure, that Stackelberg is a cut above the City Hotel and probably is nicer. City Hotel has kind of a hostel feel, with dorm like rooms. The rooms are very basic and could use an update. I believe my rooms was clean, though there was a mild smell of sewer gas in the bathroom (but no evidence of anything worse), which is a common problem in these old cities. My room was located about 10 feet (3 meters) from a street and the bus stop was just outside my window, which could have posed a problem for sleeping. Fortunately, I travel with ear-plugs, so I slept quite well. I will not say "don't stay at City Hotel" because it was alright and the price was reasonable. I'll say, if you don't mind a Spartan room and fewer amenities, then this place will be fine for you.
4 out of 5
by David

Clean, comfortable budget hotel close to Old Town.

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
This budget hotel is basic but very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had a garden view room which was very quiet. Excellent wifi connection too. We had breakfast at the Von Stackelburg which was excellent. Old Town Tallinn is 19 minutes walk up a slight hill. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy for all

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Handy, pleasant and central to get most locations, very handy for old town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
City hotel Tallinn is in a great location, as it's just a 5 min stroll to the old town. That said the hotel is located on an incredibly busy road and buses, trams and lorries roar past the windows. The noise & pollution meant that the window was only opened occasionally. The small room didn't have double glazing nor air-con so the room got hot and stuffy. When I arrived it quite frankly smelt and was in need of a good airing! It seems that all rooms are on the ground floor. Mine was right by the entrance door which meant that smokers congregated and chatted outside my window too. Walls are paper thin and I could hear the full goings on of the couple in the next room! The room was clean but the bathroom was far from modern. The shower flooded the bathroom. There was no house keeping / fresh towels unless you paid extra for the service. No safe. No mini bar. No hairdryer. This place really offered the basics of a hostel but at hotel prices. I think you could find a much better hotel in lovely Tallinn to stay in!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Noisy, shower room smelly

Posted Oct 22, 2015
My room was behind bus station: they told me Expedia asked for window. Big window, cars speeding near it all the time from early morning. Great breakfast not included, 10 eu The shower room WC no ventilation bad smell. They fixed it a bit but no desodorant, no soap. No boiler for water. Shower warmed very slow and gave not much water at once. I would recommend to no one. It is called Citi - not inside old city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Noisy, but convenient

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: location, price
Cons: sound insulation from busy street
Location: old town is walking distance from the hotel
This is a budget wing of the fancy Von Stackelberg hotel. In fact, you'll have to tell the taxi that you're going to the Von Stackelberg since he won't know where the "City Hotel" is. You need to check in there anyway. Then they send you down the block a couple of buildings to an unmanned hotel building. I had a street view room, which was literally 5 feet away from a bus stop, and it was incredibly noisy all day long. Late at night, I noticed the bus frequency either went down or stopped, and it wasn't an issue. Breakfast in the Von Stackelberg is 10 euros, or you can try to grab a bit to eat at the hotel across the street. Convenient walking distance to old town. Walk up the hill a couple of blocks for tremendous views over the city.
4 out of 5
by Lise from Edmonton

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
There was a bit of confusion finding the hotel next door to check in. My only real complaint would be that the windows didn't open (this is understandable given that we were at street level) and when someone was in the shower the room got very hot and humid and rather uncomfortable. Other than that the location was close to all the sites we wanted to see and the room was good.
3 out of 5
by Andrei

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel location was good. Easy to reache train staition and Old town.
4 out of 5
by Dia Sameh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels