Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern Ireland

A very good comfortable Hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Nice Dining room, good breakfast, friendly staff, close to old town
Cons: possibly Coffee/Tea facility in Rooms
Location: Good location close to Old Town , Close to some interesting museums, especially the Occupation Museum , the City Walls, The Viewpoints . Station .
I last stayed in the hotel early December 2015 , and enjoyed the stay . It was a hotel used by CitiesDirect .com and a good choice . Very nice rooms, some with a good view toward Tallinn Old Town. The breakfast was vey nice in a lovely Arched Dining Room. In early December 2017 I booked a room for an Estonian friend but unfortunately she took ill and was unable to stay for the one night booked . But certainly I would recommend the hotel and would consider staying there again myself .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

Terrible Experience

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: Nil
Cons: Staff attitude
The room sound proof is seriously terrible and we just couldnt able to sleep well during the stay.It an awful experience.The most important issue with hotel is the staff attitude regardless of morning shift staff or night shift, the only word i can describe all the staff attitude is racist, although i am an Asian but dont be so racist in the way they treat Asian people.Please help to forward my feedback to the hotel general manager or maybe the hotel owner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: Location is good 5 min walk from old town. Decent clean rooms.
Cons: Restaurant service - food was excellent.
Location: Great! Old town close by and only 10 mins to airport by taxi.
The hotel was nice and decent for the money. The hotel restaurant however needs work on service. Not sure if it is the same as the hotel or separate but the staff do not really serve and are a bit rude. We ordered and it took about an hour for food to arrive, and people who came in a good half an hour after us got theirs before us. Not good at all They were also quite cold didn't say hello or the basic hospitality expected. The hotel was good, we were surprised with champagne due to Expedia so thanks! Only one thing that would be good is a kettle with tea/ coffee as after being in the cold it would be nice. Also our mini bar was removed from he room yet there was a price list which was odd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value!

Posted Dec 12, 2017
A very nice place, well located with good rooms. The bar and restaurant is very good also. The staff are very helpful. We come back every year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Cons: Staff training
The location is excellent, a few minutes walk to the old town, nearby tram/bus stops and the big Solaris shopping centre. My room on the third floor was spacious and quiet, the only noise was from the people talking in the corridors. There is a mini bar but no price list, you can use the fridge to store you drinks but you need to ask for a key from reception.The only issue I had in the room was controlling the heating in the room, I was not able to get it to the temperature I wanted. Breakfast was excellent a good variety, there were pancakes, potatoes, croissants, frankfurters, danish pastry,fruit juices, coffee machine, cereal, bread, toaster, soft and hard boiled egg, porridge, scrambled eggs, salad,meat slices. I enjoyed the food at the German Baieri Kelder restarant in the basment, you are suppose to get 10% discount for the duration of your stay and 15% discount on the day you check out. There wasnt an issue getting the 10% discount but on the day I checked out I asked if there was a discount for the restaurant, the reception didnt know about this and looked confused, she said she had already given me the discount a few days ago. Then another receptionist came over and said I can have it, but it was 10% not the 15% stated in the hotel room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Hotel St.Barbara, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your feedback and pointing out the discounts difference. It will help us to improve our services. We have made corrections in hotel discount system for our in-house guests, so there should not be any misunderstandings in the future. Thank you and we hope to see you with us again. Sincerely Yours, Joel Bezzaborkin Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, reasonable rates.
Conveniently-located hotel a couple of minutes walk from Freedom Square and the Old Town. Comfortable, with a good breakfast and a German restaurant downstairs that serves very good food and drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Rooms, restaurant and staff all excellent. The food and drink in the restaurant are German-style.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield UK

Well placed, would use again.

Posted Nov 18, 2017
The hotel is in a great position right near Freedom Square and the Old Town. The hotel is also close to many Bus routes and also Tram routes 3 & 4 tram route 4 been the direct link to the airport. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly the only little issues i'd like to point out is there was no aircon in the room it was cold outside but very warm inside my room and had to open the window for some air, the second little issue was that hot breakfast items were not refilled that much. Overall a great stay and I would consider another stay at this hotel if I return to Tallinn in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk - UK

Good hotel and location close to central Tallinn

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Nice and quiet at night. Breakfast was good with a plenty of choice. Under floor heating in the bathroom was a nice surprise.
Cons: No lift access from street entrance to reception on 1st floor, so could be an issue for disabled.
Location: Very good location with easy walking access to city centre and old town with restaurants, etc. Tallinn is an interesting place to see.
Liked the hotel and the benefit of having a restaurant and bar. Staff were very helpful. Well positioned for access to the Old Town, and tram stop close by with direct access to and from the airport (Tram 4) About 20 minute walk to ferry for crossing to Helsinki which makes a good day out to see a different city. Found the old and new Tallinn had blended in well together, and felt relaxed there.
5 out of 5
by scott

Fantastic stay

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel just off the main tourist area of Tallinn , very good breakfast , and bar at night