Ratings based on 2,064 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dublin

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Excellent location, easy access to all main attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Close but not too close

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Great location, great staff, great food
Cons: The faucet situation on our bathroom - shower/tub - was kinda odd. And the hallways could use a little updating.
Location: Easy walking distance to shopping, pubs, attractions, restaurants, bus stops. Easy to get to all the major tourist attractions from the hotel.
Great location, right off a busy street, so not noisy. Easy walking to pubs, restaurants, shopping, all the major tourist attractions. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had supper both nights in the Vault - food was great, and real Irish musicians entertained! I guess the walls between rooms are pretty thin, because the morning we were getting ready to leave our wall-mate banged on the walls - apparently we were talking too loud!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: You can walk to most places of interest in 20-30 minutes
This actually turned out to be a nice hotel. The room we had was a bit overcrowded with furniture and they needed to paint the wall that was repaired but overall the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was remodeled. The breakfast was ok, the restaurant and bar downstairs was nice and the bartenders and servers were really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Great Location

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, great selection of eating areas and location in respect of the main town is perfect
Cons: Everything suited me fine
Location: Perfect location for using the DoDublin bus and the Airport Link buses
Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Great selection of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Great location for the centre of town
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Yvonne, Hotel Management
Dear AnneF Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you found the hotel friendly and in an ideal location for your visit to Dublin. I hope you will visit us again someday. Kindest Regards Yvonne O'Keeffe General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Donegal

Old fashioned Irish hotel, good Northside location

Posted Nov 1, 2017
We stayed at the Castle for 4 nights in October 2017. It is vast & rambling & full of antiques & artefacts. Warm Irish welcome & good location right next to the Writers’ Museum & the Hugh Lane Gallery. The good - it’s great value, breakfast is included, staff friendly & obliging. Not so good - it’s a bit basic if you go for one of the value rooms & it’s noisy if you’re facing the road. If you want an authentic Irish experience in Dublin & want to stay somewhere that isn’t a soulless chain then give it a try.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Yvonne, Hotel Management
Dear Mary Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the hotel well located and friendly. We are located in the city centre so some rooms to the front of the hotel can be affected by city noises but we have plenty of rooms to the rear of the hotel for those not used to such hustle and bustle. I am really delighted that you found that the Castle Hotel offer a truly authentic Irish experience and I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back again someday. Kindest Regards Yvonne O'Keeffe General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Functional hotel with plenty of character

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Clean room, polite and helpful staff, reasonable food and drink - my 3 nights in Dublin were enjoyed here. It’s an old building, but in a way that makes for much more more character than a budget business hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Yvonne, Hotel Management
DearAlex Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you found the hotel clean and reasonably priced and enjoyed your experience in the Castle Vaults where we have live music 7 nights a week. The Castle Hotel is actually one of Dublin's oldest hotels established in 1809. I am glad you enjoyed the unique character of the hotel which as you say makes the Castle Hotel an ideal choice for those guests looking for an alternative to chain hotels. Kindest Regards Yvonne O'Keeffe General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, Ontario Canada

Perfect spot to rest in Dublin

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Great hotel in a great location. Staff could not be more helpful and attentive. Breakfast (included) was full of great choices to start days of sightseeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good but loud

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: staff, breakfast, Castle Vault was nice place to have a beer in the evening
Cons: pillows
Location: Easy to get to from the airport; 5 minutes from aircoach and airlink buses
Great staff, very good breakfast, interesting older hotel. Great location, bus stop for airport buses just 5 minutes away. Overall great stay except for 2 things - really uncomfortable pillows, and my room faced O'Connell street and the noise from the street made it very hard to sleep. I would be glad to stay here again but I would ask for a room that doesn't face O'Connell street
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Really nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Everything was there, breakfast bar, also a restaurant and bar.Even had music in the evening
Cons: Only one thing, had to wait a while before our dinner order was taken
Location: Good location. Public transport right outside the door. Shopping, restaurants in waling distance
Very impressed with this hotel, staff very friendly, rooms clean and comfortable and hotel breakfast amazing. Would definitely recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Yvonne, Hotel Management
Dear Sylvia Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and entertainment and found the staff friendly and rooms comfortable. I will pass your comments regarding service in our restaurant on to our F&B team it is with feedback such as yours that we can learn where we are doing a good job and meeting our customers expectations and where we can make some improvements. Thank you for your recommendation and I hope we will have a chance to welcome you back to Dublin someday. Kindest Regards Yvonne O'Keeffe General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Castle hotel was perfect place for our family of 4. The room was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. The downstairs pub was fun and with good food. Castle Hotel was a great choice for our 3 nights in Dublin!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Yvonne, Hotel Management
Dear Augusta Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you had fun in the Castle Vaults and found the food good and the staff friendly and helpful. I hope we will see you again sometime. Kindest Regards Yvonne O'Keeffe General Manager