Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Chester, PA

Beautiful boutique hotel, off the beaten path

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Quiet, pleasant environment, a few nice luxuries and friendly staff.
Cons: Storage space in the room.
Location: Walk to Dublin city center to visit a variety of famous landmarks, loads of walking tours around the city, and bus tours throughout the country.
We stayed at the Dylan Hotel for three nights during a recent stay in Dublin. The hotel is charming and a little quirky (a mix of modern and traditional). Finding your way through the maze of rooms can be challenging, but eventually you'll learn your way around because the hotel isn't that big. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room itself was very comfortable with lots of amenities like an espresso machine, a heated bathroom floor and heated towel bar, high quality linens and more. One of the downsides is that there were no drawers anywhere in the room so we were living out of suitcases on the floor. To be fair that was the case with all three of the hotels we stayed in in London and Ireland. We opted for a king size bed and the room, although small, was large enough for the two of us. We had the added luxury of a small balcony outside of our room (although it overlooked a not so pleasant parking lot). The neighborhood around the hotel is quiet - which was definitely a plus for us compared to the noise and bustle of the Dublin city center. However, be aware that to get to most of the landmarks in the city, it's a good 25-30 minute walk (or a short taxi ride). It takes even longer to get to Guiness, Jamesons and the Kilimainham Jail. There are plenty of restaurants near the hotel, so you don't need to go into the city center to get a good dinner. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel as long as you don't mind walking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Vermeer and Dylan

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Its people and its place.
Cons: Some of the interior colour schemes were a bit bright for me but I suspect that we were older than the average guest...
Location: Quiet street with everything you need nearby
Brilliant stay in a very, very good hotel. Walkable to more or less everything but in a quiet corner of Dublin and staffed by the nicest people imaginable - from top to bottom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East England

Great hotel and location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
1 day stay in Dublin. Hotel in very nice mixed business and residential area very close to some nice bars and restaurants but away from the main street thus avoiding noise. Staff very helpful small issue with safe in sons room was attended to immediately. Our room had a balcony. Bed very comfortable bathroom has separate bath and shower amenities very good quality. We didnt eat in hotel but had a drink in very nice bar on the evening. We walked into Dublin Centre from the hotel took about 25/30 mins but there were plenty of busses, 10 min walk to Merrion Square where there are some museums Our flight was late evening so they held our bags as we did the tourist thing but ordered us a taxi to airport and a extremely nice Mercedes pulled up, nice touch. We will return and would recommend the Hotel to anyone looking for a quality hotel near Dublin City Centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Vegas

Sexy getaway

Posted Aug 30, 2017
My wife and I love this jewel of the hotel in Dublin! Incredibly charming staff, beautifully appointed rooms and very comfortable beds! Great lighting, great food, a must!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Solid 3 star hotel but not 5.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Nice staff, good food, clean, nice bathrooms.
15 min walk to downtown attractions, but we liked both the walk and the "real neighbourhood " character. not your typical hotel experience, which has both positives and negatives. Although the staff is efficient and friendly, this is not a 5 star hotel by any standard. The facilities are minimal, with no gym on the premises, tiny lobby and generally nice but not luxurious decor and style expected of a five star establishment. There is an old part of the hotel and then there is a new addition, which has a big problem - it faces a back alley, with absolutely terrible view of messy garages, roofs and yes, even garbage cans. See photo attached. The noise from a pub is a big problem at night. While the bathrooms are nice, the room decor again is rather basic, at least for a North American traveler expecting the 5 star standard the hotel claims. Breakfast was really good and plentiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great place to stay in Dublin

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Hotel was spotlessly clean, brand new and modern. The staff couldn't do enough for you. I would definitely stay here again. We were impressed! The restaurant looked elegant and delicious. The bar was great and had an amazing unique drink menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Boutique hotel close to city centre

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Staff very obliging. A boutique hotel with good restaurant and patio for drinks, etc.
Cons: Lighting in my room was inadequate but perhaps I had a cheaper room. Also, use of the in-room telephone and television requires some instruction.
Location: Just off Baggot Road with plenty of restos, pubs, bakeries, etc. A good walking distance from the city centre.
Dylan is a small stylish hotel on a quiet byway just off busy Baggot Street. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable with up-to-date amenities. One drawback for some may be that some of the corridors change levels requiring a few steps up or down. Breakfast is not included and could be considered expensive. Dining at other times is good and in line with nearby restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny, ny

Posted Aug 14, 2017
The maids never cleaned my room. My mini bar was never re stocked. I was never even talked to unless I ordered room service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Conor Dillon, Director Of Rooms. , Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Jackie, I am really sorry that you seemed to have had a less than satisfactory stay with us at Dylan. Your feedback is very important and I would love the opportunity to speak with you about your experience in more detail. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss further, I apologise but there is not enough information available on the Expedia Site for me to contact you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Good, clean hotel away from the city center

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Super friendly and helpful staff were great and made our 1 night stay enjoyable. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great staff, very helpful. Quiet elegant hotel. Great food at the restaurant.