Ratings based on 1,091 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice hostel

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Location is a bit off the beaten path but overall a cool facility. The dorm rooms were clean and comfortable. Bathroom was a bit dirty and shower had a hard time draining. Overall the staff was pleasant and the breakfast wasn't too bad and for a fair price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are happy to hear that the staff was pleasant during your recent visit. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coventry

Basic but clean and good service

Posted Oct 12, 2017
One night only but in great location to make the most of it Good breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed a great location during your recent visit. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zimbabwe

Nice hotel close to the Tram

Posted Oct 4, 2017
This hotel is nice, however I think a more modern look for the foyer and bar areas would be good. and also perhaps install some air conditioning in that area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, but an extra bed on the floor is not what I

Posted Sep 24, 2017
8 bed dorm. 3 bunks which seem quiet good. Then a trundle bed crammed in a corner at the same price? No privacy, room to put anything, tiny bed (I'm not 6ft and only just fit...) Other than that it was quiet good, clean. Staff are nice. Good shower and bathroom. Would have been happier with a bunk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are sorry to hear about your recent visit. I have passed your info onto the relevant departments in regards to your comments. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hostel. Very lively.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Stayed here for a few nights. Was a very welcoming place. It had events right on the doorstep 2 of the 4 days I stayed. Will stay again next time I'm in Dublin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by maureen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and review of Generator Dublin. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed a very welcoming place during your recent visit. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Very good experience. Good location and clean. I recommand to everyone
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic and noisy

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
The doors are so heavy that they slam shut. It was very hard to get to sleep because of people coming and going through the night with the doors slamming. Also, even for a hostel the rooms were incredibly sparse. Not even a hook for a coat etc. We left booking accommodation late in Dublin so this was the only central option before it got very expensive. If you can stay somewhere else, do so!
5 out of 5
by Liam

Great stuff

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Good location.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
The room was very hot and the beds weren't the most comfortable either. The one positive was the clean toilets and bathrooms. Breakfast starts at 8 and is not included in your stay but has to be paid for separately. Grab something from nearby if you plan on leaving before 8am for the day. The staff was very matter of fact. The entire facility didn't exceed my expectations by any stretch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hip, convenient and inexpensive.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Cool atmosphere, great service and common areas.
Cons: It's a bit of a ways from the center of Dublin, but if you don't mind a walk over the River Liffy, you're golden.
Location: Dublin!
We had a room for 6 with a private bath. Lobby and downstairs amenities were terrific. Food was great. Stay inexpensive. Bohemian neighborhood, walkable to everything. Great place, especially for young and hip.