Ratings based on 2,109 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice central location.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Location was so central for getting the tour bus.The people and staff at the hitel was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kerry

The Gresham

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Breakfast .....mmmmmmmmm
Cons: Reception staff
Location: Temple Bar area for eating and drinking Grafton/Henry street for shopping
Beautiful hotel, large reception area. Works ongoing at the moment but did not effect stay. Did not find reception staff welcoming. There was no Hello or Welcome, just the words checking in and whats your name. Check in time is 15.00hrs, we were there at 14.30 approx, check in was completed at the time but we were told that the room wouldn't be ready for a while. We were fine with that. Bag was taken to a room for storage, which left us free to explore the city. The hotel is on O Connell Street and includes many bars, restaurants and shops. The main shopping areas of Henry Street, Earl Street, Grafton Street are a pleasant short walk away. The famous Temple Bar area is also close enough. We had a beautiful room on the 4th floor. I had requested a quiet area of the hotel, not near lifts. My request was honoured. The room was spacious and included a fridge, iron, a/c, tea making facilities. The decor was old style but classy. As the mentioned at the start, I didn't find the receptionist very welcoming/friendly, but the rest of the staff from the bar to the breakfast room to the cleaners more than made up for her. The breakfast was self service except for tea/coffee. There was a huge variety of foods available from fruit to pancakes to full Irish which was constantly been replenished. Didn't have main meal at the hotel, as the City has so many different restaurants to choose from. Taxis, buses lined up outside hotel. The luas stop another short stroll Well worth visiting
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lisburn Northern Ireland.

Nice hotel, but needs an upgrade.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Most of the staff were very nice, and very helpful, girl who checked us in was extremely nice. Its in a great location, very nice breakfast.
Cons: I can only go by the room that I was in, and it was not great, needs a revamp.
Location: Great location, tour buses stop right outside, close to shopping, lots of bars and resturants nearby, not far from Croke Park Stadium.
Hotel is very nice, but could be better. most of the staff were very nice and helpful, its in a great location. Its very expensive, car parking is expensive, breakfast was very good, but again expensive. Room service was good. The hotel seems to be in general very dark, bedroom was very small, with poor lighting, shower was in the bath with a large rain drop head, which looked great, but you can't stand under it as the hand held shower head and bath taps get in the way so you end up stretching under it to get wet. TV was so small, it looked like a tablet stuck on the wall, entry door from the inside looked like it could be replaced and when the lights in the room were put out you could see light from the corridor outside all the way round the door. Also had a terrible view from the window which looked out to where the bins were located.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Argyll, Scotland

DISAPPOINTING!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Everything, be more friendly, acknowledge guests.
Great location and clean. Unfriendly, cold atmosphere. Breakfast staff poor service. Food average. Would recommend for location only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017
very satsifactory. helpful staff excellent car parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good location and very helpful staff.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
A bit of a walk to old part of town but close to restaurants and shops. Remodelling underway made lobby too noisy to enjoy but never heard noise in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
The only good thing about this hotel is it's location. The room was small and dingy, the lobby is under construction, I had to walk up and down three times before the key card would work, the clicker did not work and the gym was out of service. They do offer passes to the very nice gym down the street but they couldn't tell me where it was or what time it opened.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belfast

Posted Aug 2, 2017
All in all a very enjoyable stay. Staff very friendly and helpful and room very clean abc comfortable. Would definitely go back again and can recommend it. Airbus leaves you just outside the hotel which is great as it's very central.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location but hotel was being refurbished.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Centrally located.
Cons: A very expensive stay for reduced facilities.
Location: Right in the centre of Dublin so an easy walk to anywhere.
Facilities which should have been free were offered in another hotel at a cost. Also, lost of roadworks were going on outside of the hotel during the night - very noisy! The location was in the centre and the bus from the airport stopped straight outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Online Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your positive comments about the hotel’s location. On the other hand, we regret to read you felt your room was too noisy. We would have liked to have been informed about all your inconveniences during your stay so we could have helped you to enjoy a pleasant holiday. We hope you will choose to visit us again, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our resorts. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin Online Reputation Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Lovely hotel, clean and very pleasant staff. Currently undergoing some upgrades but didn't detract from overall stay. Would book again.