Ratings based on 1,765 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loudoun County VA

Convenient and Quiet

Posted Dec 14, 2017
This relatively new hotel is located just north of the Liffey River and footsteps away from the Red Line light rail train (known as LUAS). It is a short walk to the Henry Strert shopping district which has a host of stores including Dublins largest department store - Arnotts. Also quite convenient is that the 747 Bus to Dublin Airport is only a block away. The hotel, itself, is modern and the morning breakfast Buffett is quite good. The 4th level balcony room offered a good view. I like the spacious bathroom with a full size tub. The hotel is adjacent to the Fresh Market, do I wentvthete for a healthy salad. The best fact is,that the hotel is,away from a noisy street and the more congested tourist streets, so great for getting a good night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Spacious room, easy walk into temple. Excellent food store next door
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Great close to all

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Friendly clean place to be well located, good breakfast, friendly, I will stay on it again,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

It was ok.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Beds were comfortable and the rooms are warm.
Cons: Communication and the restaurant.
Hotel did not have our reservation from Expedia and had to spend some time trying to find it. They apologised and upgraded us to a room with a balcony. Luckily the hotel wasn't fully booked! Restaurant had problems with their oven and we waited for 40 minutes for food which we had to cancel otherwise we would be late to where we were going. Day before I asked about checkout time. I was told 1pm. On my check out day a staff member banged on the door at 12:30pm saying we were over staying. I explained I was told 1pm and then she left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gillingham Kent UK

Reasonable Hotel in Reasonable Location

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Better customer service training for some of the staff.
Location: Jameson's Whisky tour is just around the corner and Guiness tour a 5 minute stroll away.Temple Bar is about a 15 minute stroll.
We booked a Junior Suite which was roomy and comfortable, but we had problems with the key card not working properly. You need to insert the card into a reader to use the lift. Our room was on the 6th floor, but on one occasion, the lift went to the 3rd floor and then immediately back down to the ground floor, immediately returning back up to the 3rd floor, then down again to the ground floor. Looking back it was rather comical, until the front desk manager, Norbert, told us in a condescending way, that if we "press the lift button correctly, the lift works perfectly". You also need to insert the card into a reader to get the lights to come on in the room, but on many occasions, the lights would automatically go out after about 30 seconds, which was rather annoying. Again, Norbert said there was nothing wrong with the key card, so it must be the way we are inserting into the reader. I did not appreciate Norbert's attitude and we ending up having a heated discussion at about 11.30 pm, when we just wanted to get some sleep before our 4.30 am departure. One day, we returned to our room at 5.00pm to find it had not been serviced. After a call to Front Desk, the Housekeeping girl came at 5.30pm and told us she run out of time to clean our room that day! All these events happened on the final day if our stay, which has left us with disappointing memories of what is a pretty good hotel in a convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great Staff Great Room

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Clean, bright, comfortable bed, big room, nice views, busy location, friendly staff, Luas rail one block away.
Cons: Directions for drivers would be helpful. It's a little tricky to access because of the one way streets and the car park is behind the hotel.
Location: Lighthouse Cinema, Sparks restaurant, Jameson Distillery; traditional music at The Cobblestone and M. Hughes.
I splurged on an Executive Room and it was totally worth it. Top floor, large balcony, sweeping views of the city, comfortable bed, spacious room. Felt like a penthouse. There was a minor issue with heating when I arrived but the staff resolved it immediately. Norbert and Elaine in particular were attentive and conscientious. The location is convenient to walking downtown but away from the crowds. There is no shortage of entertainment with several restaurants, a cinema and two traditional music pubs nearby. This was my third visit and I will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Norbert, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield and for taking the time to review us. We are very delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us. We care for our guests and we would like to make sure everybody leaves us with such great experiences. Thank you once again and we hope to have you back with us in the near future. Kind Regards, Norbert Nica Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Really nice hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2017
The Hotel was really nice in a decent location and very clean. There are lots of shops nearby and I would stay here next time I visit Dublin again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Norbert, Hotel Management
Dear Henry, We appreciate you taking the time to rate us and thank you for staying at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield. Our Guest's feedback is very important to us to learn where we can improve and to make sure we do our very best so that they have a great and enjoyable stay with us. Henry, once again thank you and we hope to have you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Norbert Nica Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Great hotel, perfect spot.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Clean hotel, helpful staff.
Location: Not too close to center, but very accessible
Lovely hotel, Jameson factory and Hop on Hop off stop opposite.. Lucas line 2 minute walk away. Hotel very clean, large rooms, tea and coffee making facilities in room. Lovely supermarket next door. We traveled with friends and received a free room upgrade as we were celebrating my husbands 60th birthday. Would recommend strongly
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Norbert, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, There is nothing more important to us hoteliers than to see a guest leaving with great memories after celebrating such a special day during their stay at our hotel. We will always try our very best and accommodate any reasonable requests such as upgrades if we have the availability. Thank you once again and we hope to have you back with us in the near future. Kind Regards, Norbert Nica Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tennessee..usa

Good hotel..location great..

Posted Oct 29, 2017
The staff was great..hotel great..only wish they would have had air condition..got hot at night
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Norbert, Hotel Management
Dear Desiree, Thank you for staying at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield and we appreciate you taking the time and send us your feedback. I will make sure I will pass your compliments to our staff and we hope to have you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Norbert Nica, Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hot Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Heat
Location: Cat Lounge, Fresh store
The heat could not be adjusted and the room was stifling the whole time we were there. The water temperature was so hot it scalded you when trying to shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Norbert, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield and for talking the time to review us. Please note our heating in the rooms are centralized however they can be individually adjusted with the handle located at the bottom of each radiators. We hope to have you with us in the near future again and if you experience any heating related issues please do not hesitate to contact our front desk and duty managers who are available 24/7 to help out our guests staying with us. Kind Regards, Norbert Nica Front Office Manager