Ratings based on 1,618 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Oct 19, 2017
The Mespil hotel was in a great location just outside the chaos of downtown Dublin. The staff were very professional, helpful and went out if their way to help make our time in Dublin very pleasant and memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Easy walk into the center of Dublin.

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Complimentary parking. Easy walk to the museums, Grafton St, bridges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cork

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Clean and location
Cons: Swimming Pool??
Location: Really close to restaurants and bars
we stayed just for an overnight. the hotel was excellent. it is located near bars restaurants and very convenient to the center of town .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newry

Disappointing for a 4*

Posted Oct 17, 2017
I was disappointed with the hotel I bought this as a birthday gift for my other half and thinking because it was 4 star it would be nice the hotel entrance and all was nice but it was our room that was the problem our bathroom door handle was so ready to fall off we had to lock the door just to close it and the sink in the bathroom as soon as the water was on it wouldn't go down the drain! The plugs of the lamps were loose and the tea and coffee in the room we had one packet of coffee and piles of sugar and milk we hadn't got time to say anything as we were heading to a show. When we checked out we went for a bite to eat in the bar and we looked at the menu and then left as there was nothing simple just for lunch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Great room, got us in our room early which was great. Walking distance to the action.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Good Average Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: The lobby was nice.
Cons: Do not put international travelers in a "no view" room. By doing that you are destroying any hopes of return visits. Bad, bad idea.
Location: Temple Bar area is withing walking distance.
Like many hotels, their web site photos over enhance the actual environment. It is a good hotel and it was adequate for our needs. I was displease that I had to go an area of the hotel that seemed like a sub basement to get to my room. I had to go up some stairs, down a hallway, and then down some stairs to get to the room. The view from the room was terrible - it looked out at an office building and parking lot. When a hotel puts an international traveler in that type of room, they make a critical mistake. For that reason alone, I won't stay there again. This was my 2nd trip to Ireland and we are planning our next trip back in about 10 months.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

Nice hotel close to canal.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Close to shops if you don't mind 10 minutes walk nice canal in front .
Cons: Bathroom update.
Location: Nice restaurants and canals .
Hotel check-in very good room was ok not much of view.Room walls like paper we could here people's phone conversation next door and every noise outside went to make tea in room old tea bags in kettle never been cleaned bathroom would need updated shower was ridiculous for a four star hotel. Breakfast was ok not a smile from any of the staff another guest made same comment .It was a nice walk to shops and sites all in all loved Dublin but might stay in another hotel next time.😎
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

A Little Glitch, But a Terrific Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Nice location convenient to all that Dublin has to offer (and that is a lot!).
We booked 2 rooms through Expedia. When we got to the hotel they had no record of our reservation. The FANTASTIC front desk staff worked diligently to solve the problem. Turns out it was a back end error in transmitting the reservation from Expedia to the hotel. The reservation was honored, the rooms were sparkling clean with plenty of room. Nice location convenient to all that Dublin has to offer (and that is a lot!). I recommend adding breakfast when you book your room. The wait staff was great, the food plentiful and delicious. I would stay at the Mespil Hotel without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Great location - clean with friendly staff. However, guest has no control of temperature in the room. Window opens a little bit to let in fresh air - but then the road noise accompanies it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Great place to discover Dublin.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
This hotel is centrally located. It is walking distance to several top rated restaurants. It offers free parking. The staff is extremely accommodating, friendly and engaging. The room was very comfortable with a firm bed and offers the best shower pressure I've come across in a hotel.