Ratings based on 1,434 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great facilities, good location for price

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Location good, facilities great, clean and functional room
Cons: Warm friendly welcome. Drinking water in the room Vegetarian options at breakfast buffet.
Location: Shops, bars, restaurants, transport all within walking distance. Lots of choice of day trips and excursions with pickups local and at the hotel.
Location is good for transport, shops, restaurants, bars etc, only 20 mins walk to Temple Bar, good for nightlife, not far from Three Arena. The lobby and facilities are great, big gym and a sauna. Bit disappointed by lack of warm Irish welcome (never been to Ireland before so that's what I hoped for), staff ok but certainly not overly friendly, felt more like a functional business hotel than leisure stay. Nice restaurant, cafe and breakfast room although, be prepared, full Irish breakfast buffet is 16.50 euro, lovely food would be better with vegetarian options to replace meat. Our room was in an old part of the hotel, it was clean and pleasant, wallpaper peeling a little in the corner, very warm though even with both windows fully open. The view would be great if you are a train spotter, want a train as an alarm clock and don't mind noise and room shake, the train line was literally 20ft from the window and it faced the back of buildings so not pleasant but as we were out most of the time it was ok. Good facility of being able to leave cases there in a locked room after check-out until ready to leave meant we could enjoy last few hours before leaving for the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Hartford CT, USA

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Impressive! Room was very comfortable and high tech. Sound proofing was very good give a railway was literally feet from our room. Good walkable location. If ant drawback, it would be a lack of parking but not unusual for an urban hotel. Would return!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The staff were very helpful. The room was very average.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but rooms small and dated

Posted Sep 18, 2017
In general hotel, facilities and staff were good. It's just the rooms were small and dated. For the price we paid we were hoping for better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

Beautiful interior

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Very clean and unusual inside.
Cons: The hair dryer going through the top draw
Location: Lots of things to do within a short distance. And the train station just opposite was ideal.
Stayed at the North Star Hotel for 5 nights, with friends. Not so impressive from the outside right on the main road, but the inside was beautiful. The reception area ..the bar..the restaurant ...the parlour were all very clean and unique. Buffet breakfast was expensive but plenty of choice. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Our rooms were very good, but my biggest problem was the hair dryer !!!! The electric cable, from the plug, to the hair dryer went through the top draw ( to stop it being stolen ?) but this meant you had to sit on the floor, or bend down, to dry your hair. I'm sure this idea did not come from a female !!!! Clean towels every day, even though we put them back on the rails. Very nice hotel, and would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We were celebrating my sister's birthday. She received a birthday card and chocolates signed by the staff. I would highly recommend the North Star Hotel as it's central location made it easy to access the tour buses and attractions We will certainly be staying at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Ok but over priced for what it is. Location okik

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Check in good buts little disappointed with room Not what is depicted on the internet .. Location is a little iffy at night
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

North Star Visit

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Update rooms. Lots of noise from outside, below windows. Across from train tracks.
Location: The last block walk down Tabolt is a little shady, but close enough to to everything.
Staff was friendly and knowledgable. Rooms were old and worn. Bathrooms, mattresses and decor outdated and old. To be fair, they do a good job with what they have. Kind of place, lobby looks great, rooms are like.....what the heck? I thought this hotel was WAY overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, Arizona

Very Nice

Posted Sep 8, 2017
A wonderful boutique hotel with great amenities. Centrally located and within walking distance. I loved the ambience and recommend this hotel as a wonderful value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from british columbia

near Connelly station

Posted Sep 1, 2017
hotel is central to bus and train transportation. appears that more money is spent on lobby than rooms. our room was extremely noisy at all hours from the street with the window open. room was clean but carpets needed to be cleaned. ok for a night if you are travelling by train or bus because of location. would give this an average rating.