Ratings based on 1,378 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Reasonably priced, helpful staff

Posted Jul 25, 2017
We'd give this hotel 3 and a half stars if we could. Overall, it was a good experience. The staff was especially helpful with transportation suggestions. Convenient quick-bite restaurants, convenience stores in area. Pros: Helpful staff Close to transit (Connolly Station and Bus) Short walk to Temple Bar, Trinity (10-15 minutes) Clean Nice Lobby with restaurant Easy access to airport Reasonably Priced Cons: No drop off area-tough if you have your own car Rooms are less updated than lobby, but adequate Street noise- we were in the back of the hotel. With windows open, post-pub noise and car noise (cobblestones made the road louder) Parking (Public)-Reasonably priced, but not very close to the hotel Overall, we would recommend the North Star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Very Central

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Excellent Hotel, will definitely recommend to all. Booked this for attending U2 concert at Croke Park and couldn't have made a better choice! 10 mins walk to the concern and 10 mins walk to Temple Bar. Airport bus drops and collects you within minutes of the hotel also. Staff extremely polite and helpful. Hotel is modern with all amenities including great restaurant/bar area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for trinity college and bars

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Very friendly and helful. Very comfortable. Continental breakfast was well done too. Very modern upscale tooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lobby area 4* but room 2*

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Our room was tatty, old fashioned and had the worse shower ever. Shame because the lobby area was lovely! Hope they do their rooms up soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Potential but facelift not complete

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Ground Floor was modern and my first room was very nice.
Cons: Upgrade the rest of the hotel as the more tired areas really lets the hotel down.
Location: The location is a little dodgy but close to my office, so in that regards handy.
Second time in a week I stayed at this hotel and very different experience both times. The first stay was very pleasant with a modern room with good facilities. The second time, the room was little more that a B&B type feel, and not a good one. Very tired part of the hotel which was not specified, or not clear when booking the room on Expedia. The communal areas like reception, bar and ground floor restaurant are good, however the breakfast room is very tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
It's right across from the train station. The room we were in was newly renovated and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Overall the hotel and room were nice, but the room was excessively hot and the provided fan was filthy. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning (in the room we were in), not sure if there are other rooms that have it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haywards Heath, England

Not four-star quality

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We had to change room because the first one was too noisy - this involved a battle with the man at reception, as he was at first reluctant to admit there were available rooms away from the street. The shower was terrible, the room was very basic and there were wires poking out of the wall next to the bed. It felt more like a two-star experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Up and Coming Location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The lobby and staff. The neighborhood is up and coming and will keep getting better. The courtyard is nice as well.
Cons: The rooms.
Location: Nightlife mostly.
The lobby and courtyard are very nice. The rooms however are well below average for a comparably priced hotel. Sticky floors, old sheets, etc. I wouldn't recommend this hotel until it upgrades the rooms to match the quality of the lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is not in the best area.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
I have mixed reviews. Hotel is not in the best area. Had to pay extra for my breakfast and they charged me twice! The only thing convenient is that it's across the street from the train station. Stay south of the river.