Ratings based on 1,108 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Room was tiny, bed uncomfortable

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Person checking us in was abrupt. Later, we asked him about restaurants and he was much friendlier and helpful. Worst room we had in 10 nights/7 hotels in Ireland.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Exeter, England

Comfortable hotel in convenient location for work

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Food and location
Cons: Parking arrangements
Location: Well located centrally for work and entertainment
The hotel looks impressive from the outside and communal areas but the bedroom I was given was not roomy. The bed was comfortable and breakfast food was good but parking was not troublefree.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Pleasant hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Cons: Breakfast and room furniture needs updating
Location: Excellent location.
Located right as you get off the 757 airport bus, this hotel is very conveniently located, well staffed and comfortable. My only negative comment would be on the breakfast experience. Breakfast reminded me of something from the 1960's in the Ireland I remember as a child; watery scrambled eggs, sweet syrupy fruit and overdone bacon with pots of acrid coffee, with sad looking pastries available further down the table. With a wonderful selection of all sorts of coffee and pastry shops around the corner on Nassau street the hotel should catch up with the breakfast scene.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guangzhou, China

Great location, comfortable, simple

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Basic, clean, comfortable and pleasant. Not luxury. Don't get a -00 room, the "window" opens onto the atrium not to outside. Breakfast was delicious and included. Extremely convenient neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunstable, England

Excellent hotel in central location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Old style quality and service from a lovely hotel ideally placed to explore Dublin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Excellent experience as we enjoyed the sights of Dublin. O'Callaghan-Davenport was situated well for our purposes and was close to transportation around the city. It is a stately facility with a delightful staff who were always available and friendly in assisting us. Rooms were spacious ( we had a junior suite), comfy and clean. You will enjoy your time spent at this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Adequate hotel with a very convenient location.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Location; decent accommodations
O'Callaghan's Davenport is in a very convenient location to the centre of the city, walking to many of the attractions and restaurants. The hotel itself is dated and the room I was in was showing its age, needing a fresh coat of paint and updating. The bed and bedding was comfortable however there was not a top sheet, just a duvet, which made for a too warm night, despite the AC on cold. The hot water was VERY hot and comes out of a separate facet from the cold, so was dangerously hot - something to be mindful of. The price of the room was high given the condition, so I guess I was paying for the location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Find Another Hotel!

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Only a full rehab would help this hotel
Absolute dump in a bad location. Stained ceiling tile, stained and peeling wallpaper, dirty moldings, garbage on floor in the lobby, furniture broken or with peeling veneers, worn fixtures in the bath, broken ironing board in the room. Poor staff in the bar that could barely speak English. Seems to be an obvious example of management that is more interested in taking money out of the property than reinvesting it in maintenance and upkeep. Run, do not walk, to another property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location, room and staff.
Cons: Bathrooms.
Very nice hotel, centrally located. The staff is very nice and helpful. The room was nice and clean. Nice bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Overpriced but good location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: see above
Location: Merrion Square Grafton Street Temple Bar
Hotel is in good location on Merrion Square and walking distance to Grafton Street, Temple Bar etc. Bus stops for Hop On Hop Off and Airport Airlink are seconds away. The breakfast experience is not good. Disorganised, food not of the quality expected of a 4 star hotel. To run out of certain things at 9am when breakfast is open until 11am is unacceptable. We upgraded to a suite which was spacious but in need of an upgrade, especially for the price paid. We feel this hotel depends on coach parties and this has been detrimental to independent stays. We wouldn't stay here again unless standards significantly improved.